skip navigation
Goodbye, Mr. Chips

Goodbye, Mr. Chips(1969)

  • Friday, March 13 @ 01:30 AM (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
Up
Down
share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Goodbye, Mr. Chips In this musical remake, a... MORE > $5.99 Regularly $19.98 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • !939, need I say more???

    • Brian
    • 11/19/12

    The 1939 version is incredibly better than this 1969 "musical" edition even though Peter O'Toole (marvelous actor in the right movie) plays Mr. Chips. Greer Garson vs. Petula Clark?????????????? That's laughable!!

  • Goodbye Mr. Chips

    • Brian
    • 6/15/12

    The 1969 version of Goodbye Mr. Chips is very good. Peter O'Toole is a tremendous actor but give Greer Garson and the 1939 version anytime.

  • No Awards?

    • Bruce Reber
    • 2/17/11

    In the TCM Movie Database I have noticed that in the overview for "Goodbye Mr. Chips" (1969), the musical remake of James Hilton's novel starring Peter O'Toole, there is no link for Awards. I think this must be an error, since TCM wouldn't be showing it as part of its 31 Days Of Oscar festival if it didn't win any awards. Anyway, MGM kept up its tradition of remaking some of its greatest dramatic and comedic films into musicals, some of them great and some of them mediocre. But by the late 1960's the studio was experiencing great upheaval, both managerially and financially, and the quality of a majority of their films during this time also suffered, not coming close to MGM's heyday which lasted from the 30's through the early 50's.

  • Forgetable musical remake of Hilton's classic.

    • Kevin4Butler
    • 7/4/10

    This 1969 movie musical remake tries to add songs and a different approach to the Hilton story.The songs are ok but hardly memorable and the casting is also forgetable..since Mr.O'Toole and Ms.Clark are unconvincing as"Mr.Chips" and his wife"Katie".Even the plot has none of the charm or the warmth of the 1939 screen version.

  • Goodbye Mr. Chips (1969)

    • Geri Zona
    • 11/2/08

    I am ecstatic that Goodbye Mr. Chips (1969) is FINALLY coming out on DVD. I have nearly worn out my second VHS tape!

  • Goodbye, Mr. Chips (1969)

    • Michael F Bruck
    • 9/12/08

    Why is this wonderful film not available on DVD? Such top calibre performances from Peter O'Toole (Oscar nominated for this role) and co-star Petula Clark and it's not available on DVD? Something is wrong here! I believe Ted Turner owns the MGM catalogue, so I ask you, Mr. Turner...what is the hold up?

  • Promises Broken.

    • addisondewitt
    • 6/8/08

    I have been told that MGM was set to release this wonderful film on DVD for years, but those promises have obviously been broken. Here is O'Toole giving one of his best performances, along with a wonderful one by Clark, not to mention delightful turns by Sian Philips and Michael Redgrave. The score is a delight, the direction right on target and the production flawless. Come on, powers that be, release GOOBYE, MR.CHIPS in all its widescreen glory on DVD!

  • WHO OWNS THE RIGHTS

    • barry
    • 9/25/07

    Where the hell is the DVD!!We've waited long enough.

  • A wonderful movie!

    • Richard
    • 8/2/07

    This movie was my "first date" with my future wife (now of 35 years!) and we both fell in love with the characters. It has warmth, love, passion, tragedy -- and all backed with a VERY attractive score. We often sing the songs and quote the screenplay. I've been desparately searching for this on CD for YEARS. I can't understand why it's not being done so far. It's a great movie, even if it's not fully understood by an American audience (I'm a Brit). Bure surely there are enough people in the U.K. who would snap this up.

  • Info you asked for

    • Emily L. Steele
    • 1/12/07

    My User name--Klown80

  • Hip Hip for Chips!!!

    • Jim Niederkorn
    • 8/31/06

    I grew up in England during the 50's and 60's so this movie really bringd back the memories. "Pet" Clark was trememdous. She has been a favorite of the English since her career started in the early 60's. What can you say about "Chips"? He reminds me os school masters that I had. I hope they put this movie on sooner than later as it is one of my favorites,Happy watching, Jim Niederkorn

  • LOVED THIS REMAKE

    • DUANE
    • 8/18/06

    I WAS SKEPTICAL OF THE CASTING OF PETULACLARK IN THIS REMAKE, BUT SHE WAS SODELIGHTFUL AS WAS PETER 0'TOOLE. I LOVED THIS FROM BEGINNING TO END.WELL WORTH PRODUCING ON CD.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.