skip navigation
Good Sam

Good Sam(1948)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

Shop tcm.com

Good Sam - NOT AVAILABLE

Crying Boy

VOTE FOR THIS TITLE:
Our records indicate this title is not available on Home Video. Vote below for it to be released on DVD.

  1. Total votes: vote now!
  2. Rank: (why vote?)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Good Sam

    • Henry S.
    • 12/24/13

    I watch this every time it comes on. Great Movie!!! Can't believe it's so underrated. I hope someday to buy it.

  • Sheridan worth watching

    • tharold
    • 12/16/13

    Ann Sheridan is tremendous and the best thing about the picture. A fun movie, but could have been a lot better with this cast.

  • A REAL GEM !

    • Jane C
    • 5/23/13

    This is a wonderful movie anytime of year, but especially at Christmas. I'm so surprised that this Gary Cooper movie isn't on DVD as it is just as good as "Mr Deeds Goes to Town". It's a wonderful story of a generous man who is concerned for the well fare of others. It's such a good story! This movie should be included in a DVD set of Gary Cooper's best movies.

  • Can't believe it's SO Underrated!

    • Ronnie
    • 12/24/12

    This movie is by far my favorite Christmas film. Apparently it was not well-received when released, but neither was "It's a Wonderful Life"! Sam has a giving heart which is definitely taken advantage of, but there is enough humor and light-heartedness to keep the film from being gloomy. Gary Cooper & Ann Sheridan make a great couple too--something else others seem not to see. I saw this for the first time when I was just a child--I loved it then, and I love it now!

  • Yes, the worst, I agree with Spaghetti

    • Ms.Bon
    • 2/12/12

    It was downright depressing, hardly romantic, and unbelievable for an older, serious-looking man like Gary Cooper (& a VP of a company!) to be so continually dumb and a willing victim. There were very funny scenes with the other actors/characters and it would have worked as a comedy if a younger, more believably naive-looking and humorous actor had the leading role...maybe Red Skelton, Eddie Bracken, Alan Young, even Jack Carson, who was very good in the film, "The Good Humor Man." Also, Ann Sheridan was wrong for the wife-part, because she looks too "film-noir" and is un-funny sexy. Jean Hagen, Betty Hutton, Janet Leigh, Lucille Ball, Betsy Drake, Janet Blair, and so many others too numerous to mention would have been a better choice. Then I could have suspended disbelief and enjoyed the film as a straight comedy instead of being annoyed by hypocritical sermonizing and pretend-seriousness about supposed goodness and values.

  • gary Cooper

    • pat
    • 12/21/11

    Gary Cooper is awesome.I have always liked him, and was disappointed to learn that this movie was not well received back when it was released.

  • Loved it!

    • cindy
    • 12/21/11

    The acting was so down to earth and not over the top which made you believe things like this do happen in everyday life. Gary Cooper, perfect for the character. Love the plot and the script. My new favorite movie.

  • "Good Sam"

    • JM Dempsey
    • 12/21/11

    I saw this once more than 30 years ago, and always remembered it. I often wondered why it hasn't been seen before on TCM. Robert Osborne commented that Ann Sheridan said she and Coop didn't have any chemistry, but I thought the scene in which they think they're alone and then keep getting interrupted was excellent; I thought there was a lot of sexual tension there. I'm surprised by the relatively poor reviews. Hope to see "Good Sam" again.

  • The worst movie I've ever seen!

    • Spaghetti
    • 12/21/11

    And I've seen a lot of movies. I've got a soft spot for corny movies, so it's not just the NYC cynic in me who couldn't believe anything with this cast and crew could be eye-poppingly bad. Every situation, every scene is false. I could barely look at Gary Cooper's mugging and grinning, which seemed so right in Mr. Deeds, but here is pretentious and false. I listen to Robert Osborne, who always has an interesting back story about even the most mediocre movie that makes me find something to enjoy about it. This is the first time I should have listened to Leonard Maltin, whose negative capsule reviews usually turn me off. This left me scratching my head, trying to come up with a movie I disliked more. Nope, couldn't do it. This is officially the worst movie I've ever seen.

  • Good Sam

    • Paul Klinefelter
    • 12/21/11

    Great movie. Warm story. Wonderful cast. When will it be on again.

  • Good Sam

    • Jeri
    • 12/18/11

    One of my all time favorites, still waiting for it to be released on DVD.

  • Uns dos melhores filmes de Gary cooper

    • Sonia
    • 12/25/10

    Este um dos melhores filmes de Gary Cooper que tem uma mensagem muito bonita de ajuda ao prximo. Dirigido por Leo Mc Carey o filme um clssico. Ento TCM se ainda no estiver disponvel em DVD apresente o filme em VHS, . Para os fs o importante ver o filme. Um verdadeiro clssico.

  • Best Christmas Movie You Never Get to View

    • Dottie ONeil
    • 12/1/09

    No good deed goes unpunished in this dark comedy with Gary Cooper and Ann Sheridan. My absolute favorite movie, I watched it so much the tape broke and now we no longer have a vcr...it needs to be made into a dvd and to take it's rightful place as the perfect Christmas movie...right up there with It's a Wonderful Life.

  • One of my favorite Gary Cooper movies

    • Laurel Lesniak
    • 10/7/08

    Loved Good Sam. Couldn't get over Ann Sheridan's great laugh and Gary Cooper fit the role perfectly.Had it on VCR tape but played it so much it finally broke.Hoping it will come to DVD soon so I can once again own it and play it as much as I want.

  • GOOD SAM GARY COOPER AND ANN SHERIDAN

    • RENEE SMITH
    • 12/4/06

    I WANT YOU TO KNOW I THINK THAT MOVIE IS A PRIME EXAMPLE OF THE COMMON MAN AND HOW HE USED TO BE. BACK WHEN THERE WERE MORE GOOD PEOPLE IN THIS WORLD; AND IN AMERICA. IT WAS COMICAL, SWEET LOVING, KIND, CARING, AND SHOWED THE TRUE MEANING OF CHRISTMAS SPIRIT. IT ALSO SHOWED WHAT CAN HAPPEN IF YOU BELIEVE. AND I HOPE THAT IF YOU WON'T SHOW THIS MOVIE THAT, AMC WILL! I LOVED THIS MOVIE AND WOULD RECOMMEND IT TO ANYBODY AND EVERYBODY!

  • GREAT FEEL GOOD MOVIE

    • TEDDY LEE SZABO
    • 7/13/06

    I LOVED THIS MOVIE. GARY COOPER AND ANN SHERIDAN WERE WONDERFUL TOGETHER. YOU COULD FEEL THEIR LOVE FOR EACH OTHER. I LOVED THE WAY IT ENDED. AFTER ALL LOVE IS ALL THAT MATTERS.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.