skip navigation
God's Little Acre

God's Little Acre(1958)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

God's Little Acre A dirt-farmer lets his family... MORE > $19.95 Regularly $19.95 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • ATTENTION DIVERTED

    • william gauslow
    • 11/3/13

    Tina Louise sure can divert your attention from the plot in this movie.

  • Tina Louise is great!

    • Kate
    • 11/2/13

    Overall, I think this movie unwittingly became a parody of itself. It's too much, over the top and seems over acted by everyone except Tina Louise. I think she is great in it and I wish she hadn't become a sex symbol because of her role in this film. The film seems like a Tennessee Williams wannabe...tries too hard and doesn't make it.

  • I really like this production.

    • RedDawg
    • 6/1/12

    Considering the censorship (movie code) this production follows the author's story as closely as possible. Remember the novel is an American literary classic. The cast portrays the characters as well as possible, to allow it to shown in theaters. Robert 'Bob' Ryan shows what a consummate actor he is in his portrayal of Ty Ty. Although the story had to be softened to allow it to get by censorship, it plays true to the author's intent. The entire cast portrayed the characters well, showing the various obsessions of each character.

  • God's Little Acre

    • Bruce
    • 6/15/11

    God's Little Acre is a mesmerizing film. I've never seen Robert "Bob" Ryan insuch a role. You knew at any moment something could happen the way the plotgoes along. Albino Dave's character, Buck's jealously, Griselda's obvious allure,even Darlin Jill - taking a bath outside in the tub. How could Ty Ty keep all of this together - then comes Rosamund and Will. Right when the climax of Will's death comes, the film takes another turn. Out of the word work come Jim Leslie. the longlost son, who also wants Griselda. The movie has it all, greed, lust and desire. Addin Buddy Hacket and Pluto in a more serious role and it is simply - mesmerizing. A great flick. An all star cast. I give it 5 stars. Thank you TCM.

  • Could Be Your Thing

    • Boyer
    • 5/5/11

    God's Little Acre got me from the beginning with the opening credits and music. I liked the way the first ten seconds of music made me think it was a serious drama, but then it went into a quite upbeat and entertaining tune (I'm sure the director intended this). The flick requires a bit of patience, but you are always rewarded when it gets slow. Peformances are great. Dialogue is great. The sex appeal factor of the women is INCREDIBLE. Female actors today could should take lessons from the gals in this movie. Few actresses today compare to the sultry, sexiness you'll see in this flick.Even if you don't watch the entire movie, you gotta see the part about the "Albino."One of my fave movies is Tin Cup. This is nothing like Tin Cup, but it IS one of those movies that, when you are in the right mood for it, will just take you along.That said, five people on the couch on a Saturday night can all enjoy Tin Cup. This movie, is best watched alone, or with a fellow movie lover.The history of the novel, God's Little Acre, fascinating. It sold ten million copies. The author was taken to court on charges of pornogrpahy. The novel was a mile-stone with regards to First Amendment rights.I watched it over three nights, but am glad saw it all.

  • criticism

    • anne
    • 3/17/10

    this movie ... how can anyone say this is a good movie??? the title should be "We are all hot for Griselda"

  • God's Little Acre

    • Herman Mays
    • 3/15/10

    After seeing the trailer, Friday, March 12th, the music caught my attention. Being in my 40's, I'd never heard of the movie, the book or the associated drama caused by both in the 1950's. The cast seemed outstanding and after watching Sunday night(3-14-10), WOW, what a picture!I'm thrilled that TCM has it available for purchase, and at a very reasonable rate!Does anyone know where you could purchase the soundtrack??

  • A Very Good Film

    • Bruce Reber
    • 3/15/10

    I never read Erskine Caldwell's book "God's Little Acre", but I watched the 1958 film version on TCM Sunday night 3/14/10 in it's entirety. I saw about 2 minutes of it when it aired in January, but I turned it off, because it didn't look very interesting to me. I saw a promo for it on TCM and decided to give it another look. "God's Little Acre" is a powerful story of a Georgia farmer (very well played by Robert Ryan) and his obsession with finding the gold that his grandfather told him was buried on his farm and how it nearly destroys his family. Instead of growing crops and making some money, he has dug his farm full of holes and reduced him and his family to near poverty with his futile search for gold. Although he he professes himself to be religious, he even digs on the land that he promised himself he would set aside for God, and moves the cross marking it because if he did find any gold he would have to decide whether or not to share his wealth with God, which he apparently doesn't want to do. Finally he realizes how his search for gold has negatively affected his farm and family, and he vows to make a better life for them and returns to growing crops. Early film appearences by 4 future TV stars - Tina Louise (Ginger on "Gilligan's Island), Jack Lord (Steve McGarrett on "Hawaii Five-O"), Vic Morrow on "Combat", and Michael Landon on "Bonanza", "Little House On The Prairie" and "Highway To Heaven".

  • Remember, this is a Mann's favorite film.

    • robert kawasaki
    • 11/1/09

    For a longest time, I've wanted to see this film. When my dream came true, I was, of course, quite impressed with it. The original tone of Caldwell's book had been soften for the screen, though it tranfered well enough for the motion picture to feel southern heat and passionate lives of a Georgia farmer. Robert Ryan plays Ty Ty, an obsessed gold digging patriarch who almost led his family members to a tragedy. Here, Ryan proves himself as an effective stage actor (He really was an active stage actor also.) by demonstrating a powerful, almost caricature like portrait. He diffuses character's laughter, anger, sorrow and regret with a perfect balance through out the film. Some thought that the role of Ty Ty was not for Ryan who used to play more serious dark characters, but probably nobody could it better than him, because from many prospects, Ty Ty is quite complex figure. It is so unfair to think that Ryan was never nominated for the Oscar for his great performances from THE SET-UP, INFERNO, ODDS AGAINST TOMORROW, THE ICEMAN COMETH or this. Neither director Anthony Mann got no reputation for directing GOD'S LITTLE ACRE. Many sees him as a Western director, but he was more than that. He respected F.W. Murnau and loved Greek mythology. His sense of scenery and dramatic way of expressions are no comparison to others. He saw an action was prominent way for effective story telling. He put every creativities of his to GOD'S LITTLE ACRE that the film actually possesses a pictorial beauty of the southern land, a sensitive tragicomedy taste, full of actions with symbolism, and an intelligent observation of mankind. No wonder Mann considered this as one of his best works. We really have to remember that fact.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.