skip navigation
The Gift of Love

The Gift of Love(1958)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

Shop tcm.com

The Gift of Love - NOT AVAILABLE

Crying Boy

VOTE FOR THIS TITLE:
Our records indicate this title is not available on Home Video. Vote below for it to be released on DVD.

  1. Total votes: vote now!
  2. Rank: (why vote?)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Blind Date

    • phyllis duncan
    • 6/4/14

    I met my husband on a blind date in 1959... We went to the drive-in and The Gift Of Love was playing. Yes we are still together 54 years. I've not seen this movie anywhere since. I'd love to buy this. It is quite special to me. The Gift Of Love is what we still have. I voted for this movie to be put on Home Video. Crossing my fingers it will become available

  • quality

    • dana marlena grant
    • 9/29/12

    just a superb, wonderful love story with fantastic acting. One of my best.

  • quality

    • dana marlena grant
    • 9/29/12

    Just a superb, wonderful love story with fantastic acting.

  • Nice effort but problems

    • Jarrod McDonald
    • 9/27/12

    SPOILERS AHEAD: In this film, Lauren Bacall dies around the 70-minute mark. One would think we would see her as a ghost, but they just keep mention talking to her spirit (off-camera mostly). The little girl was not good enough to handle such a huge part; she was no Natalie Wood. The last thirty minutes where the narrative relies on her and Robert Stack was difficult to watch, because he was trying to get her to bring some depth to the role, especially in those dramatic scenes but her line deliveries were so monotone and emotionless that all the hard work Bacall had done earlier in the picture was compromised. The scene where she calls the orphanage and tells them to come back and get her had no real feeling to it at all. She should have been borderline hysterical, or at least very bereft, at that point. Lorne Greene also seemed miscast here (a year before he started his famous TV role).

  • Great movie, loved the music as well

    • Angelica Reyna
    • 9/27/12

    I loved The Gift of Love, I love the spectacular images from TCM and the actors are some of my favorites. The music was beautiful. Could anyone tell me what is the name of the Spanish song that was sung where they show the mountains' view? This song is not on soundtrack.

  • THANK YOU TCM

    • Paula Rae
    • 9/27/12

    So much to say....... The Gift of Love has it all.....for me. Thank you TCM for playing the movie I so adore on Wednesday Sept. 26th 2012. A day that will never be forgotten as long as I live. I saw this movie on TV when I was (know don't for sure about) 7 or 8. Way way back in the '60's. I have not seen it since. My husband and I have been married for nearly 33 years and every year I say to him " Honey maybe this will be the year I will see the Gift of Love" and for 33 years plus I have been waiting.....I thank God for directing me. I was so overcome with delight and memories I nearly fell to the ground! I would love to buy this DVD. I saw it on one site for $110.00. WOW I understand Lauren Bacall was not crazy about the movie but loved the actors! I loved every performance no matter how sappy. After seeing the movie for the first time as a young girl...I felt like Hitty. I would play like a horse myself and run all over. My Grandma made me a dress that matched the dress Hitty wore when Bill returned from the Cemetery, she jumped on the bed to help remove his coat. i have two grown children....I want them to see it too!

  • THE GIFT OF LOVE

    • jeannine cogliano
    • 9/16/12

    Never saw "Gift of Love" which was remade; plan to see it because I loved "Sentimental Journey" which I hope will be aired for viewing sometime in the future. I truly believe "Gift of Love" will not live up to the "Sentimental Journey" version with Maureen O'Hara and John Payne.

  • THE GIFT OF LOVE

    • DENNIS CANNON
    • 8/6/12

    I saw this movie in the 1950"s i liked very much and the music was the first soundtrack i bought.

  • I have been looking for this movie

    • Sharon
    • 12/12/11

    I watched this with my mother .. she hads passed & I would love to own it ... I just remember some .. but is this the one where she runs away in a snow storm ? There is a swing on a tree where she saw Julie & talked to her ... please let me know where I can get this movie

  • A Gift Of Love

    • Marilyn Austin
    • 11/3/11

    I saw this movie when I was very young. And I've been looking for it to purchase for years. Can anyone tell me if it's available on DVD or VHS!

  • The Gift of Love

    • jannette
    • 9/1/11

    Oh my gosh, I have been looking for anything about this movie! I too, was very young when I saw this movie, and it touched me since then. Amazing-I thought for some time, I was the only one, Hurray! I want to see this movie-when, where, how can I make this happen? Is TCM able to play this movie for us or am I able to purchase through TCM? TCM please HELP! Any suggestions? I have been searching for this movie for YEARS!Thank You,

  • The gift of love (1958)

    • Francesca Franklin
    • 4/16/11

    I have seen this movie when I was a teenager, and enjoyed and cried my eyes out. When will this movie be for sale. I have looked for it every where. I wish they would show this on the TCM channel, and if it does, I hope someone will inform me. I would love to cry my eyes out again.

  • The Gift of Love

    • Zaida Malave
    • 2/28/11

    I loved this movie. The last time I watched it was when I was a young girl. Would love to see it again and it to be released on VHS or DVD.

  • childhood tears

    • annhasse
    • 7/2/10

    I remember this movie from when I was a young girl back in the 60's. I saw it several times on the Saturday movie spot. I loved it so much that when the sound went out on my parents black & white TV, I was found watching the picture only by my mother, because I knew the movie that well that I could watch the screen & hear the words in my head. I looked for a copy of this movie thru Critic's choice video search line @ least 15 years ago, & it sounds like it still is not available. Such a shame! I could use a good cry right now.

  • Mum told me about this movie

    • Julie
    • 10/1/09

    I love old movies and the great actors that star in them as when groving up as a little girl I would watch them with my Mum. She always told me about this sad movie "The gift of Love". I've been wanting to see this movie for years and wished that it could be released as a dvd movie.

  • Very good movie.

    • Ruby
    • 2/9/09

    I remember viewing this moving aobut 10 years ago. Very touching and moving drama.Robert Stack and Lauren Becall were fit for this role. Would love to see it again.

  • Watched this movie as a child

    • SB
    • 9/24/08

    Love old movies. I was very sick at the age of 10. I remember watching this movie around that time. I loved it and could not remember the name. I've tried searching for it before only remembering bits and pieces. This is my second attempt. How cool that I decided to search under adoption and picked it out first choice/stab in the dark at the title. I hope it comes out on DVD or is shown on TCM someday soon.

  • Bring The Movie The Gift Of Love TO DVD

    • Victor Martinez Jr
    • 1/23/08

    My Mother Who Loves This Movie Wishes She Could Have On DVD.She Keeps Asking Me To Let Her Know When Or How I Can Buy It For Her

  • Wonderful Movie

    • Ruby O'Quinn
    • 10/12/06

    This movie stars two great actors, Lauren Becall and Robert Stack. Togeather they provide a nice chemistry just as they have in previous movies. Very moving drama for all to enjoy.

  • The Gift of Love (1958)

    • Linda Saggs
    • 1/23/06

    Remember seeing this movie so many years ago when I was a child. I always loved it and had quite a time trying to remember the title and then finding any records of it at all. I would love to see it again and wish that it was made available on DVD. Lauren Bacall, Robert Wagner, Lorne Greene, Scatman Crothers...such great entertainers in this movie.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.