skip navigation
Gentleman's Agreement

Gentleman's Agreement(1948)

  • Tuesday, September 23 @ 10:00 PM (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
Up
Down

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Gentleman's Agreement A reporter pretends to be... MORE > $39.98 Regularly $39.98 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Wow--Make U Think!

    • F. Parker
    • 6/23/14

    Gregory Peck is outstanding! He's so tall, handsome and commanding. His passion and sincerity is felt through out this entire movie. His willingness to "fake" play a Jewish person, to pull out the evils of this time is to be marveled. I'm so glad that Dorothy McGuire, his love interest finally gets it in the end, that's all he wanted was for the non-affected good, Christians to make a stand against this evil. Great movie now and for years to come. TCM great pick for the audience.

  • Guilt Complex

    • Jack The Hat
    • 6/22/14

    Year after year the liberal film industry keeps the guilt complex going. One would have to believe that Hollywood is without prejudice. They love everybody, well not everybody. Christians and conservatives and--well you know. Want to know if your prejudice? Answer this question, If your doctor set up an appointment for you and he had an office in a Jewish neighborhood and an office in a black neighborhood---which office would you choose to visit and why?

  • Thoughtfully-Made, Insightful Film - A Classic

    • Raymond Shaw
    • 6/21/14

    I'm a young person who watched this film for the first time not too long ago, and I must say I find it extremely relevant even in today's times. The subtlety of Kathy's (Dorothy McGuire) prejudice that lies at the plot's heart is presented so effectively, showing the often-ignored, neglected, and ultimately more damaging and pervading side of bigotry. As Edmund Burke so eloquently put it, "All that is necessary for the triumph of evil is that good men do nothing." I whole-heartedly recommend this film to all of today's youth (and also our elders!), and consider it a classic for the ages.

  • Consider the Times this Film Was Made

    • Kathleen O'Brien
    • 2/13/14

    Consider the times in which this film was made. Anti-Semitism was completely accepted. Even in the 80's when we bought a home in a Darien-type New England town, agents screened out Jewish people (which we didn't know until we moved in. Very repressive place.) Actually I read the studio considered not releasing it because of the reaction.I too wonder why this film is so rarely if ever shown on TCM and why it's not featured in the pre-Oscar lineup, particularly given some of the ghastly films being shown in that regard (last night's with Elizabeth Hartman and Geraldine Page was one of the worst films I have ever seen, although I admit I didn't get through it) "Gentlemen's Agreement" won Best Picture and Celeste Holm won Best Supporting Actress. This film was written by Moss Hart, one of the finest. It should be shown and often. WHY NOT?Finally, I read the book and this film is totally true to the story. Loaded with talent and reality. The film's focus was to take on bigotry among the "nice" people. It couldn't do everything, but it's focus was very well-done.Kathleen

    • 8/22/13

  • Gentleman's Agreement

    • Carol Parise
    • 8/12/12

    One of Gregory Peck's best... I don't know why it doesn't get scheduled for more air time than it rarely does.

  • Gentleman's Agreement

    • Dashiell Barnes
    • 2/6/12

    This is an essential film for the fans of Elia Kazan. The story is more tamed today, but it still explores the major issues of anti- semitism & responding to prejudice. The entire cast give sincere performances, although I thought Garfield gave too brief a performance. All in all, a good film. I give it a 3.5/5.

  • Jews are people too, but we still hate blacks

    • Erik Wagner
    • 1/6/12

    Having won over "Miracle on 34th Street", "The Bishop's Wife" and "Great Expectations" is just dumb. Any of those would have been better picks; "Miracle" would be mine, 'cause I love Maureen O'Hara and believing in Santa. ("Crossfire" was nominated too, but I haven't seen that). It won, not because it was a great film but because it was touching on important social issues, racism and bigotry. Audiences of the day must have felt this was groundbreaking; it was shocking how Jews couldn't get into country clubs. Thank god we've come so far. It really is amazing how, in 20 years, it went from dribble like this to "Raisin in the Sun" and "In the Heat of the Night". We are just two years after WWII, so perhaps the horror of the Holocaust made Jewish culture the Africa of today in some weird way. And you feel that they really are trying, though with the heaviest hammer they could find. But in the background is constant repression of women and blacks; it's hard to focus on what's in the foreground. There are some real nice moments, basically all the scenes between Gregory Peck and Dorothy McGuire, two kick-ass actors, but the script is so expected and contrived today. You feel the attempt, but it would never actually move anyone in the right direction today.

  • Grandioso

    • Daniele
    • 11/8/10

    Um filme sensacional que trata do preconceito e da intolerncia e vai nas profundezas da ignorncia humana. Um excelente filme que deveria ser exibido mais vezes no TCM.

  • Good intentions

    • Steve Brook
    • 2/22/10

    A well-intentioned movie which makes some good points. It was made just two years after the Holocaust ended, BUT there was not even a hint in the movie that around six million Jews had recently been murdered. And one of the key characters, John Garfield, played a Jewish GI!

  • Gregory Peck Takes on Anti-Semitism

    • Kyrstal74
    • 6/20/09

    Gregory Peck plays a reporter assigned to do a story on anti-semitism in the US. At first he's reluctant to do it since has can't think of a new angle to broach the subject. But, then, he decides to pretend to be Jewish, like an anthropologist doing participant-observer ethnography, only he's doing it as an investigative journalist. He's stunned to find out that his own finacee's upper class family lives by what's called a "gentleman's agreement" to keep people of the Jewish faith out of spaces where the dominant Christian people work, play and live. As a journalist who's undercover as Jewish, he experiences first hand Christian supremacism, most especially by people in the upper classes of US society. One of his friends is Jewish (John Garfield). He helps him comprehend the fuller impact of what it is to live as a Jew in the US being oppressed individually, socially and institionally by anti-semites who are in denile that they are prejudice or practicing discrimination. In fact, they are clueless.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.