skip navigation
The Gazebo

The Gazebo(1960)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

The Gazebo A suburban couple tries to... MORE > $19.99 Regularly $19.99 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • missing theis great move

    • maise
    • 6/16/12

    I saw this move many years ago and am dying to see it again, and share it with my husband and friends. Please place it on your tcm schedule and release it on dvd. It's an outstanding movie that should not be missed by your many viewers. Please release this before I die, I'm 60. We enjoy your station very much. it's our go to station.

  • FUNNY! PERFECT CAST!!!

    • maristar
    • 1/1/12

    I've seen this movie several times and I can't wait to see it again!

  • Great Movie needs to be available on DVD!

    • Ken Sturmer
    • 8/2/11

    I remember seeing this movie as a kid. I thought it was hilarious. I still remember John McGiver saying " The Gizbo". We thought that was very funny as kids. I later got to know some of McGivers children, when they moved to Middleburgh NY. I used to spend summers there.Please release this movie on DVD, or at least show it on TCM!

  • Longing To See Again

    • DStacey old film fan
    • 5/1/11

    This is one of those movies that I recall a scene, alone in my car, and laugh out loud. I sure would love to see it again on the TCM chanel. Glenn Ford and Debbie Reynolds were at their comedy best. I don't remember the housekeeper's name, but her deadpan (pardon the pun) was excellent. I rate it right up there with "The trouble with Harry"

  • The Gazebo

    • Vicki
    • 6/3/10

    I saw this movie many years ago and thought it was hilarious. I have been waiting and waiting to add it to my film collection or at the very least see it on TCM. It's very underrated for its genre. Please, please put it out on DVD or show it in prime time. Glenn Ford is a hoot and Debbie is as cute as ever.VSF

  • Great Comedy regardless of actors

    • lental
    • 9/18/09

    This is a superb comedy with Glenn Ford and Debbies Reynolds. It has a great plot, exploits Reynold's musical and dancing talents and exposes Ford's outstanding comedic talents. I haven't seen it on TCM and it ought to be shown , at the very least, a couple of times a year.

  • Ford was best in comedy

    • Jan
    • 8/20/09

    I have always thought Glenn Ford was at his best in comedy and he has appeared in quite a number of them, especially directed by George Marshall, who directed 'The Gazebo'. There is 'It Started with a Kiss',' Imitation General', 'Advance to the Rear',and a big favourite of mine ,'The Sheepman'. Before these, he appeared in 'Teahouse of the August Moon', in which he was brilliant and then 'Don't go near the Water', another very good comedy. Way back in the 40s he appeared in 'The Mating of Millie' and 'Return of October' and in the latter gave a good early Cary Grant -like turn. There are plenty good comedy performances by Ford if you look for them.

  • The Gazebo (1959)

    • Jay Higgins
    • 8/16/09

    Very underrated comedy. Glenn Ford gives one of his best performances and he shows a surprising talent for comedy. It makes me wonder why he didn't make more of them. The story is marvelous, offbeat and very very funny. John McGiver is excellent in a supporting role, but it's Ford's performance that makes the film work.

  • PLEASE RELEASE THIS MOVIE TO DVD!!!!!!!!

    • Donald S. Bertram
    • 6/25/09

    This by far one of the best comedies that I have seen. I tell everyone I meet that if it ever comes on TCM or any other channel to watch it. I have been waiting for a very, very long time. Please MR. Turner, put this splendid movie out on DVD. Or at least show it more often. Thank you very much, your friend Don.

  • Gotta have this movie!

    • Patti
    • 7/15/08

    I've seen this movie only once and couldn't stop laughing. This is a great comedy classic. You can't beat Glenn Ford.

  • Nice entertainment with Reynolds & Ford

    • Vera Mallard
    • 3/17/06

    Glenn Ford & Debbie Reynolds in a mistery comedy with good jokes and good laughs. Debbie has a good musical number.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.