skip navigation
The Gay Sisters

The Gay Sisters(1942)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

Shop tcm.com

The Gay Sisters - NOT AVAILABLE

Crying Boy

VOTE FOR THIS TITLE:
Our records indicate this title is not available on Home Video. Vote below for it to be released on DVD.

  1. Total votes: vote now!
  2. Rank: (why vote?)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • wonderful!

    • Lizzy
    • 5/22/14

    I've never understood why this film doesn't have more appreciation. It's not perfect, but it's a cute film that is sweet.I sincerely hope it comes to DVD in the very near future!!

  • Disappointingly sexist cop-out ending

    • rosebette
    • 1/26/13

    This movie had me until the last half-hour. Frankly, what Barclay (Brent) did was marital rape (although such a thing probably wasn't legally possible then), so it explains Fiona's (Stanwyck's) hatred of him. However, when the movie ends and he says he never stopped loving her, and she melts into his arms, "happily ever after", it's too much to believe, especially after how cruel he was throughout the movie. If he were a real gentleman and truly loved her, he would have just given her the child. After all, he already had the house.

  • The Gay Sisters

    • I_Fortuna
    • 1/25/13

    This is another one of the films that Leonard and I disagree about in stars and it looks as though others agree with me. I love George Brent in just about everything he has done. Barbara and the supporting cast was ideal. I found this film nearly perfect in so many ways from actors to screeplay. This film really gives insight to the conduct and mores common to the period. Men had rights of marital relations in the bedroom and financially. It is a great example of a liberated woman acting like the son her father treated her as. Her father even called her his son. In some ways we have to adjust our thinking to think of her as a man because of her often "unladylike" behavior. That makes the film work and I noticed that some men, even today, dislike this type of role given to some of their favorite actresses and call them names because of it. Strong women are nothing new just few.

  • Great Ensemble Cast

    • Muriel
    • 1/21/13

    Someone commented that the title has nothing to do with the story. SIGH... Well, the three Gaylord sisters were nicknamed the Gay sisters. (Ironically no doubt.) Is that such a stretch? Don't people realize that not so long ago, gay was just a word?Also, someone else asked why the actor Gig Young had the same name as the character. It is distracting, but it was not unusual then for an actor to take the name of the first character he played in a movie, or the name of a character than propelled one to stardom. Anne Shirley is another example.It seems distracting now, but back then a movie would play for a couple months then it would be shelved for a long time, it might be re-released later, but often just shelved. The naming novelty was not so noticeable or distracting to the viewer.Of all the Stanwyck movies that one could compare, I think this story is rather weak, but there is a great ensemble cast of real pros and they manage to pull the story together. The relationship between Stanwyck and the little boy is very well done in how she's alternately kind then feels she must keep him at a distance.

  • barbara stanwyck in the gay sisters 1942

    • cheryl
    • 8/1/12

    i absolutely loved this movie. the scenes between ms. stanwyck and larry simms (austin) are just precious, I hope this movie becomes available on dvd. it would be great if more of ms. stanwyck's movies were made available for viewing. she was a wonderful actress and her roles were so varied. The music score was wonderful too.

  • PRESUME EXCELLENT

    • EILO LONG
    • 5/11/12

    I HAVE NEVER SEEN THE MOVIE--THRU MARRIAGE BARB WAS RELATED TO ME --ROBERT WAS MY COUSIN AND I SPENT MANY WEEKS OF THE SUMMER ON THE RANCH--I WOULD LOVE TO SEE THE MOVIEI CAN IMAGINE HOW WELL SHE PROTRAYED A SON

  • Entertaining and Modest

    • Aisha Donaldson
    • 4/20/12

    If I could, I would give this movie twenty stars. In today's time, it is a pleasure to view such an innocent movie that is also entertaining. This is the perfect movie for the entire family. If it is possible, could you please put this movie on DVD?

  • The Gay Sisters

    • Ann Brooks
    • 11/27/11

    I loved this movie and would like to buy it also. Please play it again on TCM...

  • WHERE CAN I BUY THIS ?????

    • Linda
    • 11/13/11

    THIS MOVIE WAS SOOOO GOOD! BARBARA WAS BETTER THAN EVER IN THIS ROLE AND SHOWED A REAL DIFFERENT SIDE TO HER OPPOSITE THE LITTLE BOY THAT ENDED UP BEING HER OWN SON .I LOVED WHEN SHE WOULD TRY TO ACT TOUGH AND SHOO HIM BY STOMPING HER FEET AT HIM THEN SHE'D GET THAT WARM GRIN AND HER CHARACTER WOULD SHOW HER AFFECTION FOR HIM . PRICELESS ! AND THE WHOLE COURT THING REALLY WAS SUCH FUN AND WAS A GREAT BEGINNING WITH HER AND HER SISTER MARCHING INTO COURT THROUGH THRONGS OF REPORTERS BUT THEY WOULD NOT DENIED. I COULD GO ON AND ON BECAUSE THIS WAS A THOROUGHLY WONDERFUL COMEDY DRAMA AND I LOVE IT . FIRST TIME EVER TO SEE IT AND FOUND OUT I MIGHT NEVER SEE AGAIN UNLESS THE ITS FINALLY PUT TO PRINT OR SOMETHING, PLEASE !!! WHY WOULD DUMB MOVIES BE PRINTED AND CRAMMED DOWN OUR THROATS WHILE GREAT WORKS OF CINEMATOGRAPHY ARE NOT PRINTED AND AVAILABLE FOR PEOPLE THAT WANT TO WATCH GOOD AND SMART MOVIES, IF ANYONE WITH THE POWER TO FIX THIS IS READING THIS PLEASE HELP!

  • ???????

    • Diana
    • 10/17/11

    Have seen this movie many times and always love it. I also love The Uninvited. Why aren't these movies on DVD ??

  • The Gay Sisters 1942/ Stanwyck & Brent

    • Norma Barrant
    • 10/8/11

    Saw this movie for the first time 10/6/11 and loved it so much. Want very much to see movie again but cannot buy dvd anywhere. Told it is not scheduled to be aired anytime soon. This is seriously sad!!!!!!! My request to the powers that be. PLEASE SCHEDULE THIS MOVIE FOR AIR TIME AND SHOW IT MORE OFTEN. I am sure there are many more who feel as I do.

  • The Gay Sisters

    • Amy Fujimori
    • 10/7/11

    I ended up really enjoying the movie. Barbara Stanwyck was great, especially in the scenes where she explains how she and George Brent meet and marry. I wish I had paid more attention to the film when it first started. I did have a problem with the fact that George Brent's character basically rapes her, but I think in those days that wasn't illegal for a husband to have his way with his wife. I guess that explains the anger she had towards him.

  • Gig Young as "Gig Young" ??

    • Delving Eye
    • 10/7/11

    Gig Young in the role of "Gig Young"?? What the??? Anybody out there have a clue how this happened? Is this how Gig Young got his stage name? Or did the stage name come from his real name? Curious movie-lover wants to know.

  • Gay sisters

    • Jeff
    • 10/6/11

    just saw it for the first time, WOW....what a Wonderful and Amazing movie....Barbara as always gave a Super powerful performance...I love Stella Dallas as well....I Love TCM !!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • The Gay Sisters

    • kimmieanne
    • 5/1/11

    I have always enjoyed this movie, I guess you can't go wrong with Barbara Stanwyck and George Brent....

  • great movie!

    • c jenkins
    • 4/18/11

    This is a good movie. Barbara Stanwyck/ George Brent are great. Love the story and its characters.

  • George and Barbara

    • diva d
    • 4/16/11

    this is the second movie that i seen with them i like them together.My favorite part of this movie is when Brent told her she could leave but not until the morning ,He played a stong and sexy guy in this movie.

  • A Gem of a performance by Stanwyck

    • Lisa Fane
    • 11/18/09

    Barbara Stanwyck is one of my favorite actresses and she had such a prolific career that I've been a fan for 30 years but never even heard of this movie before. It was a joy to discover. Stany is at the top of her form.

  • The title and the film itself

    • Jarrod McDonald
    • 11/4/09

    I am going to disagree with the previous poster. I don't think we should start going through film catalogues and changing titles. If we started doing that, it would be like the controversy that surrounded colorizing old black and white movies. And this title is not that bad. There are plenty of titles that do nothing to advance the great movies that they identify...but audiences still watch those movies. And the reverse is also true: there are some movies with very interesting titles, and the films are dull and do not live up to what seems to be promised. Therefore, we must realize that a final opinion rests on the laurel of the film itself and its performances, not its title. In the case of 1942's 'The Gay Sisters,' the performances are top-notch. This reminds me of the type of material Bette Davis did at Warners around this time. We also have Davis' frequent costar George Brent, who did several other films with Stanwyck, in fact. The mansion set and the very epic-like nature of the sisters' storylines make it a top-grade project from the studio. Stanwyck, as the older sister, Fiona Gaylord, seems to be particularly tough this time around. She's never really a soft-touch, except in those moments where she undergoes a severe script-sanctioned transformation. But I think she's tougher in this film, and it is more true to her off-screen character. She was also orphaned in real-life and had one son, so in many ways, this project is tailor-made for her. It's a treat watching her, and if you can get over the title, you will discover a gem.

  • Change the Title

    • Don Springer
    • 11/4/09

    Just finished watching "The Gay Sisters" and am very disappointed that it is not available on DVD! I believe, as other reviewers have stated the title is the reason this movie hasn't been released on video. So... change the title... there must be something that can be done to make the movie audience aware of this great performance.

  • The title

    • Jarrod McDonald
    • 8/11/09

    I haven't seen the film yet, and I am looking forward to seeing it when it is rebroadcast in a few months. (I always look ahead to see which of Stanwyck's more obscure titles get shown.) I read some of the other comments about the title. The word gay also did mean homosexual as far back as the 1930s. People 'in the know' used the phrase with a second meaning, in addition to it being a synonym for happy. I would bet the author of the story chose the title on purpose and named the women Gaylord for a reason. I don't think people should automatically assume that because something is gay that it is shameful or meant in a derogatory context. There is such a thing as gay pride, and I'm sure there was a form of gay pride among the artistic community and intelligentsia back in 1942 when the film was produced.

  • The Gay Sisters

    • Phyllis Mark
    • 3/8/09

    Good acting - different plot - haven't seen it in years and am still also checking to see if finally it gets put on a DVD. It's a mystery to me why some very very poor movies get released and a good one gets ignored.

  • Why I love The Gay Sisters

    • Rosalyn Gatling
    • 10/2/08

    I simply love this movie. If there was a movie in which its title has absolutely nothing to do with its content this is it. The plot is surprising considering the year in which this movie was made. I love romance and this movie with its sweet ending fit the bill.

  • Great Cast!!

    • Sherry
    • 6/16/08

    I have watched this movie every time I had a chance. It has a wonderful cast and a fun story line. Barbara Stanwyck is at her best, and the rest of the sisters play well off her. Gig Young is a new player and shows his future in films. Please suggest this on DVD.

  • Great Comedy to watch!!

    • Aleida
    • 5/2/08

    I pay cable just to be able to watch TCM's old movies. This is one of my favorites. If, as the other reviewer said, TCM has a problem scheduling this movie because of the title, Big mistake!!!. They are depriving viewers of watching a wonderful, well acted movie.

  • The Gay Sisters

    • helen
    • 2/1/08

    I agree this was a great movie. I also say it a long time ago when I was a young girl on a station in the city I grew up in that showed only the old movies.

  • The Gay Sisters

    • Jackie Franzman
    • 1/20/08

    A terrific movie. Loved it as a child and still love it. Saw it once on TCM, but for some reason it hasn't been on since that one time. Please play it more often. Such an enjoyable movie with such wonderful actors should not be forgotten. Play it often and also see that it gets on DVD

  • The Gay Sisters

    • Kim
    • 10/6/07

    I love this movie. I remember as a kid sitting up til Midnight just to watch these classic black and white movies. I wish they (TCM) would show more Barbara Stanwyck movies. She was great actress.

  • Gay Sisters

    • Elaine
    • 9/19/07

    Is is because the title of the movie, The GAY sisters is the reason TCM is not showing this movie. This is what GAY means in the true sense of the word. This movie is filled with brilliant actors and many have written to request it and I second the motion!

  • showing

    • joan
    • 6/4/07

    I would like to know why TCM doesn't ever run The Gay Sisters movie. I would enjoy seeing this movie again and feel it is much better than many you run of the 40's.

  • The Gay Sisters a wonderful family portrayal

    • Jaye
    • 8/7/06

    The Gya sisters is a lovely portrait of three sisters fighting for what is their inheritance. For years since htey were just small children when their Father die till they are grown in to ladys. I love the cinemotography. The director is outstanding. Barbara Stanwyck is wonderufl as the eldest siter. The supporting cast is sensational. The music is fabulous. I suggest that if you are a fan of Barbara Stanwyck you must see this movie.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.