skip navigation
The Gay Divorcee

The Gay Divorcee(1934)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • The Best of Excitement via Music and Dance

    • johnny o
    • 9/8/14

    A wonderful production within the movie The Gay Divorcee has certainly stood the test of time. It is delightfully done and excites the heart. The Continental qualifies as one of the best productions the entertainment industry offers and it came on the scene over eighty years ago.

  • The Gay Divorcee

    • Goetan
    • 7/23/13

    The film that proved that Astaire & Rogers could carry a film as the leads. Rogers is an unhappily married woman who thinks Astaire is a correspondent hired to get Rogers' husband to divorce her. Thus begins the duo's usual "mistaken identity" plot, but here, Astaire & Rogers show the sophisticated dance style associated with them, especially when dancing to "The Continental," winner of the first Oscar for Best Song. An always-entertaining adaptation of the play "The Gay Divorce," which starred Astaire. I give it a 4/5.

  • Fred & Ginger begin their reign!

    • Kathy
    • 2/4/12

    I recorded the handpuppet dancers because that part was a hoot! This movie, made when it was, as so many others of the era was loaded with double entendre & I ALWAYS love that. People who don't bother to watch these classics miss SO much of the brilliant writing done then in order to get around censorship, & they have no idea that many of the current movies take pieces of the classics & incorporate them into new movies. Of course, other than a few, big dance movies are not even made anymore-so there is hardly a comparison.Fred said a line to his dinner companion near the start of the movie after Egbert said "I don't know, probably still be a lawyer." I swear I heard Fred use the "N" word in his response. Did anyone else catch that? If SO, I would love to know what the actual line was, because if I'm wrong-I need a hearing aid! I know I am in for a treat when the credits include "Gowns by" because the wardrobe will be spectacular, & the majority of TCM movies I love have that opening credit. Which is just one of the reasons I love TCM. I sure wish I could attend the Hollywood venue, to be among the greats & to see the restored movies. Maybe someday. In the meantime-TCM will always be my companion taking me to different places & times.Thank you TCM!KathyP.S. {Will you EVER run the Jack Lemmon movie Good Neighbor Sam???}

  • Add Ginger

    • Mike
    • 11/7/11

    Was Ginger the best ever? She certainly had that Michael Jordan gene; add her to the mix and voila! She was very much the one in "Night and Day" and what a way with the lyrics of "the Continental". What is basically a well crafted musical comedy contains some of Hollywood's most treasured moments.

  • The Gay Divorcee

    • Mark Sutch
    • 4/12/11

    ***1/2

  • You cannot go wrong with Fred and Ginger

    • Mister D
    • 2/13/11

    This 1934 film is a black & white delight, as is any movie with the elegant & athletic Fred Astaire and the extraordinary Ginger Rogers. A featured song is Cole Porter's Night & Day, beautifully rendered by Fred - as anyone who has seen De-Lovely knows, it is a difficult melody with a tremendous range. And there is the 15 plus minute extravaganza of The Continental. The comedy turns on a series of misunderstandings, all resolved just in time. My only quibble is that this movie could have done with a little less of the continual hemmings & hawings of Edward Everett Horton.

  • Brilhante

    • Sonia
    • 11/13/10

    Este filme brilhante com musicas que fazem voc flutuar e ainda mais vendo Fred e Ginger danarem. Quanta perfeio e disciplina eles tiveram. Eles danavam com tanta elegncia. Um filme nota 10.

  • The first and the best!

    • Susan De Leon
    • 3/10/10

    This being their first starring film together, they really are very charming and especially energetic. Their supporting cast is delectable and seeing Betty Grable in a minor role is a blast to watch. Of all their films together, this is my favorite. It seems especially on though I do love all their films together. We are all so very lucky to have them on film!

  • Love it!

    • rodney
    • 4/21/09

    Fred and Ginger were the best of all the dance teams ever. Flawless and beautiful to watch. The dance sequence to night and day is one of the best. Simply marvelous. What I like most about them as a team is that Fred is my very favaorite dancer of all time but Ginger, I love just as much because of her impeccable motion and fluidness. Her gracefullness is quite remakeable. During her time I truly think she was one of the most beautiful actresses out there. So unassuming but she had great charm. My favorite part in the movie is when they are on the balcony and she finds out for the first time that he is not the correspondent. Her eyes water up and you can feel her. She was a very underrated actress.

  • My Favorite!

    • SarahBear
    • 1/19/08

    Out of all the Fred Astaire & Ginger Roger movies, this has to be my favorite- this and Top Hat. I'm only 15, but I absolutely love this movie. I liked it so much that I taught myself to play the melody of "The Continental" in my piano. :P

  • Lovely!

    • Susan Brainerd
    • 1/2/08

    A simply charming and delightful movie, with humor in all the right places! I saw Ginger's "Piccolino" gown at the Smithsonian -- beautiful champaign color, and oh! how tiny she was... The storyline is romantic, funny, and innocent -- definately a favorite!!!

  • Great old movie!

    • Kim
    • 12/31/07

    Even my 16 yr old daughter was laughing at this one!

  • Classic Fred & Ginger genius

    • Judi Paparozzi
    • 5/23/06

    Of all of the ten films Fred Astaire and Ginger Rogers made together, this is the finest in my opinion. It lacks nothing. It possesses a great score, clever dialogue in a screwball script, the best group of supporting comedy players any star ever worked with (especially Alice Brady and Erik Rhodes), genius choreography and dancing, and Fred and Ginger at their most glorious in Night and Day, arguably one of the loveliest songs ever composed. Their dance to Night and Day still gives me chills 45+ years after I first saw it as a child. If you haven't ever watched a Fred and Ginger vehicle, start with this one. You'll be hooked.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.