skip navigation
The Garden of Allah

The Garden of Allah(1936)

  • Monday, September 1 @ 08:00 AM (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
Up
Down

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

Shop tcm.com

The Garden of... - NOT AVAILABLE

Crying Boy

VOTE FOR THIS TITLE:
Our records indicate this title is not available on Home Video. Vote below for it to be released on DVD.

  1. Total votes: vote now!
  2. Rank: (why vote?)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Awesome....

    • Louisa
    • 6/13/13

    The physical setting of this movie, the beauty of the desert, the magnificent color and the people of the region...unmatched for its time in movie history, 1936, the script typical of the era. I felt the movie was well cast...Boyer's tragic face was perfect as the lost monk...Marlene beautiful...As I lived in Cairo to attend college for a year, it brought back many memories, sights and smells and yes horseback rides across the desert sands at daybreak. I have already emailed a friend to watch it as she visited Egypt 2 years ago...and still speaks of the desert's spell.

  • Baz Belonged With Dietrich In Film

    • BazMarlene
    • 6/12/13

    My fav scenes with The Baz.Still like this film even if panned.Great cast,should've been better flick,but still a guilty pleasure.The Baz in bolero jacket,HOT!

  • Behind My Camel

    • TeaInTheSaharaWithYou
    • 6/5/13

    This film deserves to be treated as mere camel dung.Basil should be Boris,but is the best performance in an okay script of far better novel.He rules as Count Anteoni,too bad he only has Brit accent.Oh,how Boyer's toupee suffered in the AZ heat,but at least everyone partied hearty.Must've put away a few bottles of Boris brew.

  • I Still Love This Film,Believable Or Not

    • 4starsforthestars
    • 6/5/13

    This is a guilty pleasure for me,a hunky Rathbone and hammy Schildkraut,gorgeous Brandon.Why does Carradine steal his scene?To me,he was little distinction,like cabaret patrons.It should've been so much more,but can see why cast suffered until production moved back to Hollyweird.Baz and Marlene look more like a couple than she & Chaz

  • Drink,Drink and Be Marry in the desert

    • Tillie
    • 5/13/13

    Basil makes this an attraction for me,sorry I see him as Boris,but love the Count.Schildkraut fun.Heard the leads partied hearty and ticked off his Highness in Hollywood.Also heard they all suffered in Yuma heat,poisoned water supply.And fair effort at a script.

  • Gorgeous film!

    • RedRain
    • 2/15/13

    It is so easy to see why this film won the Academy Award for Cinematography! The desert scenes, the people and, most of all, the photography of Marlene Dietrich in her role are breathtaking. My husband walked in while I was viewing this film for the umpteenth time and exclaimed "Marlene never looked so beautiful!" The story is a bit much in the believability area but, nonetheless, it holds your interest. The great Charles Boyer is given a lead role that doesn't demand much of him other than a lot of hand-wringing but he is worth watching in any film he is in. Pay particular attention to the acting of the Sand Diviner. That's John Carradine and he eats up the screen!

  • I Watch Only For The Baz and Marlene Scenes

    • Baz Fan
    • 1/6/13

    Baz rules

  • "The Garden of Allah" 1936

    • Beverly C.
    • 12/9/09

    Great movie, great look, great music & great cast. I became a Boyer fan after watching this movie. Very sexy! This film has been in my collection since the first time I saw it om TCM and ordered it. I watched it over & over again. In fact...see ya!

  • Incredible Experience...

    • Ed Boyle
    • 5/31/09

    The acting, magnicent color photography, music score all make up for any simplicity in the plot.. The plot and story is a good one none the less.. Can be enjoyed for so many reasons.. Well worth seeing, over and over again...

  • The Garden Of Allah

    • Jon
    • 7/1/08

    Believe it or not, I just saw this movie for the first time the other day on TCM. Where have I been for 72 years? I was really impressed on how good the technicolor, landscapes & genral filming was, considering it was the mid 30's. Some of the scenery was as good as Gone With The Wind or Lawrence of Arabia. I think that's what I noticed the most & that Marlene Dietrich was lighted in a way to highlight the megastar that she was. She didnt seem to have to do much but give blank facial stares, few words & an occasional walk through the sand. Again, the movie has an amazing look to it, however I found the story line completely boring. I know in the 30's many films relied on stiff dialogue to carry the movie along & not so much the action. So, I would have this one in my collection simply for the visuals of Marlene, the scenery & good color.

  • The Garden of Atah

    • Bartley Folan
    • 4/26/07

    The Garden of Allah probably would be better with someone other than Boyer,who I thought was a drawback.Rathbone,Schildkraut,Dietrich,and the other actors were good,but I found Boris,or at least Boyer miscast.Maybe Selznick needed to listen to some of his actors,who probably knew better so far as this movie is concerned.Too many important details missing from the book

  • Song of the free slaves from "Garden of Allah"

    • Sandi
    • 2/20/07

    Where would I find a recording of the sad song, that is in hebrew or arabic that the man-servent said was the song of the freed slaves?

  • Horrible movie

    • kimbutgar
    • 2/1/07

    Don't get me wrong Marlene Dietrich was a great actress but she was woefully miscast in this movie. I just couldn't buy her as an girl who left the convent to go on a mission. I think Merle Oberon would have been more believeable in the role of Domini. This movie was so horrible I had to turn it off after 30 minutes. I liked the premise of the movie but Marlene overacted and was wooden in her role. You would think that the character of Domini was someone who spent their prior life cloistered would have more warmth and shy. Marlene played the role as cold and brittle with an air of sexual mysteriousness, something a girl with a convent upbringing would not have.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.