skip navigation
Gallant Bess

Gallant Bess(1947)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Gallant Bess A soldier takes the Army horse... MORE > $19.99 Regularly $19.99 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Bess

    • kirby
    • 9/14/14

    Another miss for Mr.M Bess is a great feel good movie one to enjoy with kids of any age. None of the smut they make now.

  • Maltin's review doesn't match movie

    • Savoirfaire
    • 9/9/14

    Maltin's review does not describe the events in this movie in a crucial way so I don't think he really saw this movie. He compares it to " The Yearling " in which the boy is compelled to murder his sweet pet that he raised from a baby by his hideous parents. Ugh how could anyone ever conceive of such cruelty. Gallant Bess has no one remotely so cruel in her life - and it's set in WAR time. This movie is heartbreaking and made me emotional because it didn't shirk from showing the full depths of suffering and boyant joy of a pet lover.

  • Maltin didn't see the movie

    • Savoirfaire
    • 9/9/14

    Maltin's review does not describe the events in this movie in a crucial way so I don't think he really saw this movie. He compares it to " The Yearling " in which the boy is compelled to murder his sweet pet that he raised from a baby by his hideous parents. Ugh how could anyone ever conceive of such cruelty. Gallant Bess has no one remotely so cruel in her life - and it's set in WAR time. This movie is heartbreaking and made me emotional because it didn't shirk from showing the full depths of suffering and boyant joy of a pet lover.

  • Gallant Bess

    • Melanie
    • 5/17/11

    I first saw this movie at my Grandma's house when I was a little girl - she had taped it off tv for my step-grandfather. I watched that movie almost everytime I went to visit, and I still have that old vhs in my cupboard. As a horse-crazy little girl I loved that movie, and wished I had a horse that smart. I was thrilled to see it play on TCM, and I would love to be able to own a copy - will this ever be released on DVD?

  • Great movie

    • Phyllis
    • 12/27/09

    When my Dad was a Marine in WWII he was on Guam, Iowa Jima, Pelleliu, and various islands in the Pacific. Like this film, he found a horse and used it to carry water for the soldiers on one of these islands. He was stationed with a movie star at the time, can't think of his name but he played the bad cop in the GOdfather. When I see this movie it brings back fond memories of Dad and I watching this movie together and him telling me about his horse. I always pretend this movie was about him and would love to have a copy. Thank you for the memories.

  • My Favorite Horse Movie!

    • Janice
    • 1/15/09

    I've seen the movie only twice on TV, when I was around 10-14 years old. I have always been in love with horses and have seen all the movies in this genre, but this was the best! I remember crying at the beginning and end and still cry to this day remembering it (and I'm now 60 years old!). Although it's a "tear jerker" it has such a happy and wonderful ending. The best relationship between someone and horses.

  • Childhood Favorite

    • Mary Elyn
    • 5/24/08

    The 1947 movie Gallant Bess was one of my favorite. The first time I saw the movie, I ran from the theater before the end because I thought the horse was going to drown. I returned to see the movie the next day praying for a different ending. To my surprise, the horse boarded the ship home. I LOVE THIS MOVIE>

  • GALLANT THE BESS T

    • Debbie H.
    • 12/30/07

    I have watched this movie since i was a very little girl and have loved and watched for it to come on.i will always love my Gallant Bess. It is a part of my childhood i can look back on and just smile. love it, love it, love it!

  • BRILLANT!!

    • maureen bland
    • 11/28/07

    I cant exactly remember when I saw this film but I have never forgot it. I have been wanting to add this to my collection for the past 30 years. Its an absolutely wonderful film and that makes you cry. Once seen never forgotten.

  • gallantbess

    • cornelia
    • 4/11/07

    I recently saw Gallant Bess on TCM. I was 9 yrs.old when I first saw it,LOVED IT!!! and have tried many times to find it for purchase. Please tell me how to get it PLEASE SHOW IT AGAIN!! Thank You, Cornelia Lokey 612 Oakdale Dr. Statesville,N.C. 28677

  • A must have

    • Diana
    • 4/10/07

    Good, clean family entertainment that refects a by gone era in American film making. A must see for animal lovers everywhere. When will it air again and where can I purchase a copy for my film library?

  • RE: Gallant Bess

    • Evelyn
    • 4/10/07

    I recently saw Gallant Bess for the veryfirst time on TMC and was REALLY TOUCHED!It's nice to finally see a meaningfulmovie that's heartfelt. I would like toorder it for my father's 75th birthdaycoming up in May of 2007. Where can I obtain a copy of either DVD/VIDEO? Also, When will you run the movie again?

  • Finally found it!

    • Fred
    • 4/10/07

    Like several other viewers, I saw this movie as a very young boy with my parents ... and remember one special scene with a horse and an LST. My father died many years ago and I have been searching for this film for >50 yrs but could never find it since I did not know the name. However, tonight I was channel surfing, stopped at TCM where on screen was a WWII scene with a horse, an island setting, and a wounded soldier being taken into an LST. He had to leave his horse and ... well, you all know the rest. However, I flashed back decades to the movie theater, setting next to my dad, and hoped this was the movie. It was! I am going to order it as a DVD from the information posted by another viewer.

  • Gallant Bess on Video

    • Cher
    • 1/25/07

    For those of you who love this movie as much as I do, it IS available on DVD from Maymead. I ordered it and rec'd today - great recording quality & excellent price ($18).I'm watching it now....sure brings back memories of the first & only time I've ever seen it (with my Mother when I was a little girl). I have been searching for it since that time and finally found it.Enjoy!

  • Gallant Bess

    • Jean Rhea
    • 8/5/06

    I was very young the first time I saw this movie and have always remember it. Having been raised during the War years, and with a father in the US Navy, I have always admired Seabees and LST's WW II veterans and their exploits. Everytime this movie is on TCM I'm usually working or for some reason miss the showing. This is one film I'd love to own. My grandchildren think it is great and are always asking me about it. Jean

  • Make DVD

    • Jack Cohen
    • 6/25/06

    Being a member of the national LST orginazation which is comprised of LST former sailors, I think you could sell a lot of DVDs of Gallant Bess in their newspaper called the Scuttlbutt. The sailors and families would like to see an LST in and out especially in a story line.

  • LST

    • Connie
    • 6/22/06

    My grandfather served in the navy on the 72 LST and wanted to tape this movie while it played on TV but was unable to. This is the only known movie featuring the LST. He would really like to have this movie and our family has tried to track it down, and is unable to. It would be nice to have it for him.

  • LST Sailors

    • Dale Schmidt
    • 5/12/06

    A lot of old Landing Ship Tank (LST) sailors who spent many hours on them would appreciate having a DVD to relive the past.

  • Gallant Bess

    • Connie
    • 5/11/06

    My dad was in the nave on a lst and I would like to get theis movie for him If their are anyother lst movies I would like to see them thank you for your time connie

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.