skip navigation
The Fugitive Kind

The Fugitive Kind(1960)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

The Fugitive Kind A drifter ignites passions... MORE > $39.95 Regularly $39.95 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • The Fugitive Kind

    • Dashiell B.
    • 3/13/13

    A good film from director Lumet adapted from on of Williams' lesser-works. Brando, Magnani & Woodward each give compelling performances, creating a tense-filled love triangle. Williams' storytelling is restrained and compelling, but isn't one of his most intellectually-stimulating works. A good film, but one that didn't need to be filmed. I give it a 3.5/5.

  • The Fugiitive Kind

    • Mark
    • 3/13/13

    A ROMANTIC TRIANGLE, Brando,ANNA MAGNANI,and JoANNE Woodward..SMOKING ,I THINK, for 1960...

  • Amazing

    • Reets Meszaros
    • 1/11/13

    I only feel this was an amazing movie because it was filmed in my home town in Milton, NY. My brother and sister actually met Anna Magnani.. Being first generation born of Italian Immigrants, they spoke Italian with her very well and she was so happy to speak with them. Also, Marlon Brando went to my dads restaurant in Newburgh, NY to eat supper many times while filming. Would i purchase this movie.. probably only becuase of the sentimental value. I can see where the different buildings were that are still standing. Otherwise it was quite a depressing , very down movie. The actors were brilliant.. but i really didnt like the story line.

  • The Fugitive Kind

    • Cheryl
    • 4/3/12

    I had the pleasure of watching this movie today. From the start, knowing nothing about the movie, I noticed quite an impressive cast, people I recognized, not to mention Marlon Brando, Joanne Woodward and Ms. Magnini (I think,) but it is full of what happened in the south in those days...prejudice...not only for race but Brando's past as a "convict." I even wondered if it was a Tennessee Williams (play or writings, etc) within the first 15 minutes of the movie. I had never heard of this one, which surprised me, as I am a TCM big time fan, and love these old movies. So much to learn from what ISN'T said as opposed to what IS.....I highly recommend it.. but be prepared to sit and watch and listen...I couldn't concentrate on anything else!!!

  • Intensely deep.

    • Noel
    • 8/23/11

    This film gripped me from the moment it started and I did not move out of my seat until the end of the credits. Anna Magnani was stellar in her portrayal of the immigrant store keep living in the deep south full of white supremists. Brando, out of prison, total womanizer and con is a border in the shop. The black and white imagery and cinematography makes it that much more deep and Tennesse Williams screenplay is brilliant with the cast performing it. A young, bleach blonde "flusey" Joanne Woodward and Maurenn Stapleton give amazing dynamics with their characters as well. Not dumb, not boring. Brilliant, disturbing, sad and one of my favourite films. I loved this film and have recommended it to many cinephiles.

  • this is to bill, the moron

    • movie master
    • 2/3/10

    this movie has more depth in it than you can imagine. read between the lines. the man "snakeskin'' is in the process of changing his life and for the good. for the first time in his life he has integrity and actually feeling compassion for another human, he and lady fall in love and lookin forward to the future when they, who both have been used and abused treated like animals finally can have a real and meeningful life , true love. but that crazy husband who killed lady's father with the "orders of the kkk" see's that neither she nor val will ever see a moments peace. so he kills both of them and lady was with child. bill you need to stick to cartoons because it's a no brainer you have no "smarts" for a movie so far over your head. i feel sorry for you. because by not liking this movie you have missed out on a lot. loser. signed jeff. oh yea TENNESSEE WILLIAMS DOES NOT WRITE BAD , YOU POOR,POOR GUY

  • cerebral .. not for idiots...

    • hacksaw
    • 6/29/09

    nuance

  • Dumb

    • Bill
    • 7/18/08

    Really dumb and boring. Just a bunch of Yacking. Nothing that anyone not on drugs could enjoy.

  • Passionate & Powerful

    • Bob Galvin-Oliphant
    • 2/12/06

    What a superb cast! Brando, Magnani and Jory are especially memorable. A passionate and powerful film.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.