skip navigation
Frenchman's Creek

Frenchman's Creek(1944)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

Shop tcm.com

Frenchman's... - NOT AVAILABLE

Crying Boy

VOTE FOR THIS TITLE:
Our records indicate this title is not available on Home Video. Vote below for it to be released on DVD.

  1. Total votes: vote now!
  2. Rank: (why vote?)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Frenchman's Creek-Visual Delight! Love this Movie

    • Alana
    • 7/15/14

    I first saw this movie when I was a teen and fell in love with the story, the costumes and scenery and of course Joan Fontaine! Wonderful story of a swashbuckling pirate who sweeps an unhappy,unfulfilled Joan Fontaine off her feet while she's seeking time away from her unpleasant husband (Basil Rathbone).Joan gets swept away in the romance, mystery and excitement of this other life and is left with a difficult choice.

  • Frenchman's Creek

    • Nancy Z
    • 6/26/13

    One of the most dreamy romantic movies I've ever seen. Joan Fontaine is wonderful. I treasure my video. Please release on DVD.

  • Colourful adventure romance

    • Susan
    • 8/6/12

    Definitely a chick flick but such a great romantic adventure! The acting is a bit overdone, but that was the style of the day. The costumes are exquisite and the story is very well presented. The 1998 remake is dreadful, without any of the charm of the original. But my VHS tape is starting to give out. Please put this onto DVD!

  • One of the Best

    • AWycoff
    • 6/27/12

    One of the best book to movie adaptations. My VHS tape no longer plays. Need this on DVD or Blu-Ray. Basil Rathbone at his most dastardly. Joan at her most beautiful and strong. Great story. Beautiful landscape.

  • Frenchman's Creek 1944 Version

    • Brenda Gray
    • 2/26/12

    Please Release this wonderful movie on DVD! Thank You Brenda Gray

  • PERFECTION !!

    • el debbo
    • 1/23/12

    The Cornwall setting and the costumes are just wonderful, if you're only in it for the eye candy. For me, I enjoy a movie where the woman is strong... male/female balanced... and with Dona becoming a pirate, this made a great story. I loved the immediacy of her relationship with Arturo de Cordova's fantastic captain. Who wouldn't fall for a guy like that? Like all other reviewers, I think this one needs to go to DVD.

  • Frenchman's Creek

    • Lee
    • 1/6/12

    This is one of my favorite Daphne DuMaurier books. The 1944 movie translation brings the fun and romance to the screen. Basil Rathbone is as always the perfect villan/the man you love to hate. Joan Fontaine brings Dona St. Columb to life. And Arturo De Cordova is lively as the French pirate. Add stunning Technicolor and the haunting Debussy's 'Claire de Lune' and prepare to sail away on the French ship 'La Mouette'. Super romance. If it can't be released on dvd, PLEASE air it sometime on TCM......my VHS version is sinking slowly from age and too much play.

  • Frenchmans creek 1944

    • Darlene Eaton
    • 10/20/11

    Would love to see this on dvd

  • Frenchman's creek 1944 version

    • Brenda Gray
    • 4/16/11

    Would like it rereleased on DVD it is an exceptional pirate Love Story!Thank you Mrs Gray

  • Love it Please offer it on Video

    • bigmike
    • 4/30/10

    A wonderful romance\pirate movie. would love to see it on the Big Screen sometime!But for now Please Release it on Video!

  • Frenchman's Creek (1944)

    • Meg Ross
    • 3/8/10

    One of the best book to movie adaptations ever. Based on Daphne du Maurier's novel. I saw this film once two years ago and have been driving everyone around me crazy trying to find a copy ever since. One of the most enjoyable swashbuckling/love stories I have ever seen. If you ever have an opportunity to see it DO! You won't be dissapointed.

  • Frenchman's Creek

    • Gordon Brown
    • 2/11/10

    This is a beautiful movie about the secret romance between a titled English woman and a French pirate, superbly acted by Joan Fontaine. I saw it many years ago, it became one of my late wife's favorite movies and now is one of my favorites. I can't believe that so-called experts have seen it and not recognized how great it would be to make it available as DVD

  • Romance! Adventure!

    • Christine Harrison
    • 8/27/09

    Beautiful, colour film with romance, adventure and asense of humour. Arturo de Cordova is handsome and dashing, Basil Rathbone villanous and Joan Fontaine lovely in techicolour. I have been waiting for this to come out on DVD for years...Fairly faithful to the book, it is fun entertainment, and rarely shown, even on TCM!

  • Fabulous Film

    • Catherine
    • 11/11/08

    I highly recommend this film. It has everything. There is Joan Fontaine, looking so stunningly beautiful in Technicolor, Basil Rathbone, bad to the bone, and a brilliant supporting cast. The scenery and the art and set direction are Oscar worthy. The use of the haunting Clair de Lune makes this an unforgettable and highly entertaining romance-adventure film. This film needs to be on DVD.

  • Basil Rathbone at his most villainous

    • ALarkin
    • 1/2/08

    Lovely romantic adventure although it does stretch credibility, but Daphne DuMaurier seems to be good at that. The final scene between Joan Fontaine and Basil RAthbone is great.

  • A wonderful, entertaining movie.

    • A.M.K.
    • 10/8/06

    Highly recommended. An enchanting adaptation of the Daphne DuMaurier's 1941 novel brimming with intrigue, adventure, pirates, secret rendevous and a forbidden romance. Joan Fontaine is well cast as the restless Lady Dona wed to a clueless bore who yearns for excitement. The versatile Basil Rathbone aptly portrays Lord Rockingham, the treacherous rogue lusting after her, and relatively unknown Arturo de Cordova is the carefree and charismatic French pirate, Jean Benoit, who reinvigorates Lady Dona's lackluster life and steals her heart but whom the English vow to capture and hang. Actors Nigel Bruce and Cecil Kellaway are perfect compliments to a fine ensemble, and Victor Young's movie score is hauntingly exquisite.A classic swashbucker the likes of which are no longer made.

  • excellent movie

    • andre' turner
    • 4/9/06

    i enjoyed this film very much when i saw it a few years back. i would really like to see it again

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.