skip navigation
The Foxes of Harrow

The Foxes of Harrow(1947)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

The Foxes of Harrow An Irish rascal and inveterate... MORE > $14.99 Regularly $19.98 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • The Foxes of Harrow

    • P. Adler
    • 11/29/13

    I think this is one of the best movies ever made. The talent of Rex Harrison is stunning, the story is engaging and unusual, the music is beautiful, the supporting cast excellent - this movie has everything! Please show it again!!

  • Best movies i ever saw,

    • Susie sterbenz
    • 9/1/13

    So much like Gone WithThe Wind but better. I need to look up when Gone With The Wind was first shown. Did one copy the other. even the name of the Plantation was almost the same. I Have to do my homework unless someone can give me a quick answer. I also can not believe how wondereful Rex Harrison looked.

  • First-rate "Foxes of Harrow"

    • David Shapiro
    • 8/30/13

    I first saw "The Foxes of Harrow" on TV years ago when I was a youngster, and I remember how it left a lasting impression on me. No, it was not a classic, in the sense of "Gone With the Wind" or "Casablanca." But it was a dramatic story of two very different strong-willed individuals who, despite the forces around them, are drawn to each other. Rex Harrison and Maureen O'Hara bring smoldering passion to their roles, as their romance plays out against the background of slavery and plantation life in 1840's New Orleans. Adapted from the Frank Yerby novel, "The Foxes of Harrow" is a compelling story from start to finish. The historical period is beautifully re-created, something that 20th Century-Fox did so well with its historical spectacles. I've always felt that O'Hara and Harrison were perfectly cast for their roles, bringing great believability to the story; this despite O'Hara's contention in her autobiography, that relations between the two of them was deccidedly frosty during the filming! More credit to their performancers!

  • Foxes of Harrow

    • s. w. allen
    • 6/5/12

    I saw this movie when I was 12 years old and never forgot it. It was right up there with Gone With The Wind.Recently began taping it. My husband didn't realize how much I wanted to see it and clicked to regular T. V.Please, please show it again.

  • The Foxes of Harrow

    • Irene
    • 5/7/12

    I am 89 yrs of age and my daughter and I watch all the old movies on TCM and I cant for the life of me figure out why you NEVER play The Foxes of Harrow. My daughter has never seen it and I talk about how wonderful this movie is, all the time. I wish you would show this movie and stop showing so many of the others that play over and over again. PLEASE SHOW THE FOXES OF HARROW!!!!!!!

  • The Foxes Of Harrow

    • Susan Eggert
    • 2/4/12

    PLEASE show this movie on tv again. I look for it every month. I only saw it once before but have never forgotten it. Will it ever be released on DVD ? Please say it will and tell me when.

  • The Foxes of Harrow

    • yvonne
    • 9/2/11

    Great pairing of Maureen O'Hara and Rex Harrison! Please, please make it available to see or buy!

  • The Foxes of Harrow

    • Corinne
    • 2/28/11

    This is an excellent movie. Why can't TCM show it.

  • The Foxes of Harrow

    • amy martin
    • 12/8/10

    I saw this movie years ago, I was about 13. I can still remember the wild scene of Rex Harrison in a terrible storm trying to harvest the (I think) sugar cane...and his devastation when he lost everything including beautiful Maureen OHara. This is a really turbulent love story and an action packed film.

  • ANOTHER GONE WITH THE WIND

    • Pat Clark
    • 9/8/09

    I have always looked for this move to see if it was ever going to be available to the public other than in a movie theater. It is right up there with Gone With the Wind, has some of the same ideas in it - therefore it should have been made into a video/DVD or at the very least into color and re-released in movie houses.

  • Foxes of Harrown

    • Sylvia
    • 8/24/09

    Please bring Foxes of Harrow, to TCM. It is a great move!

  • Harrison + O'Hara = dynamic duo

    • Sandy L
    • 5/29/09

    I just can't understand why this terrific movie with a great cast featuring a young Rex Harrison and Maureen O'Hara is not yet on DVD. It was based on a great novel written by Frank Yerby. Please join me in voting for this outstanding movie released in 1947, to be made available on DVD. I saw this movie once a long time ago and it's been hidden in a vault ever since.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.