skip navigation
The Four Poster

The Four Poster(1953)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

Shop tcm.com

The Four Poster - NOT AVAILABLE

Crying Boy

VOTE FOR THIS TITLE:
Our records indicate this title is not available on Home Video. Vote below for it to be released on DVD.

  1. Total votes: vote now!
  2. Rank: (why vote?)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • An unforgettable film

    • Carol
    • 2/1/13

    Like one of the previous reviewers , I saw this movie over 30 yrs. ago . It so impressed me , I couldn't get it off my mind for days afterward . The storyline and the acting are superb ! Following this young couples marriage from their wedding to old age , and it all takes place in the confines of their bedroom ! Unlike today's bedroom scenes , this movie is all about the warmth , the heartbreak , and struggles that take place in married life . All I know is , I was totally captivated with this film ! I've been anxious to see it again for so many years ! Please ,TCM your channel is the only place I could ever hope to see Four Poster , again !

  • The Four Poster is now available on DVD

    • Marc Capralis
    • 4/14/12

    I haven't seen this movie since I was about 19 years old and that was on the late, late show. I became nostalgic for it again some years ago and was disappointed to see that is was never put on to video or DVD. Apparently the 35 mm print is lost or unavailable. But a 16 mm version of the film was found and put on to DVD and is available on Ebay. I just ordered it. It is an incredibly good movie if you are of the sentimental type.

  • The Four Poster

    • Sue Dobson
    • 3/1/12

    I saw this movie when I was very young. Great movie,wish they would put it on DVD. Waiting for TCM to air this, Ihope soon!

  • The Four Poster starring Rex Harrison

    • Glenn Taras
    • 3/31/11

    Excellent and sentimental movie about love and marriage. Please try to exhibit this movie and TCM.

  • The Four Poster

    • Marcie
    • 1/18/11

    I have been waiting years for this movie to be on TCM. What a wonderful film to show for this upcoming St. Valentine's Day. Please make it available for home video or DVD.

  • Great movie

    • Bob Siegmann
    • 6/23/10

    Yes, by all means, get this on home video! It would be a great Valentine's Day movie!

  • The Four Poster

    • Mary
    • 12/19/09

    This is definitely a classic that deserves to be available to movie collectors and Rex Harrison fans. Seeing it 45 years ago and remembering it all this time is a testament to it's quality. I'm hoping to see it become available on DVD to be enjoyed again.

  • I agree

    • Kris
    • 7/12/09

    I also saw this movie about 30 yrs ago...asked my mom if it was good so I watched it on a Saturday afternoon. What an excellent movie! And it must have had impact for me to remember it over the years. I remember it being "neat" because it was filmed in one room. Would love to see it again please put it on DVD or convince Turner to play it.

  • The Four Poster

    • Debbie
    • 4/29/09

    I saw this movie on tv about 30 years ago. And for 30 years I have looked in the tv guide almost every Sunday to see if it will be playing during the week.Please get this movie to video!!!!!!!!!!

  • please

    • chris
    • 5/22/08

    please get this wonderful movie on to a dvd ,, I loved it then and would def,., buy it for my dvd collection, in a heartbeat,,, please,,

  • PLEASE GET THS MOVIE!

    • Lori
    • 3/23/08

    WHAT DO WE HAVE TO DO TO GET THIS MOVIE BACK ON TV AGAIN? IT IS WONDERFUL, AND HASN'T BEEN ON FOR DECADES! PLEASE BRING BACK SOME OF THESE GREAT CLASSICS FOR US TO ENJOY AGAIN!

  • lovely movie

    • Brian
    • 2/23/08

    It is a shame that TCM doesn't show this movie...or has it and I just missed it....

  • wonderful film

    • Chris
    • 12/25/07

    I would love to own a copy of this movie with Rex Harrison,It is truly a classic and needs to be put out there for the new generation to view,, I would certainly buy a copy of this treasure.,,,

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.