skip navigation
The Four Horsemen of the Apocalypse

The Four Horsemen of the Apocalypse(1962)

Contribute

FOR The Four Horsemen of the Apocalypse (1962) YOU CAN

UPLOAD AN IMAGE SUBMIT A VIDEO OR MOVIE CLIP ADD ADDITIONAL INFORMATION WRITE YOUR OWN REVIEW

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

The Four Horsemen of the Apocalypse Members of an Argentinian... MORE > $17.99 Regularly $17.99 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • 4 h men

    • kevin sellers
    • 8/19/15

    I think I remember reading somewhere that when we first see the 4 horsemen riding in the storm it's like a Rolaids stomach acid commercial.

  • The Worst Minnelli film

    • Mike McCrann
    • 8/18/15

    I love Vincente Minnelli and he made a number of great films but The Four Horsemen is quite easily the worst film in his long and venerable career. In his defense Minnelli wanted to cast Alain Delon as Julio but MGM made him accept Glenn Ford. At 46 Ford was ludicrous casting. He was about as dashing and Argentinian as I am. But he is only part of the problem. Hiring Ingrid Thulin (from her Ingmar Bergman films) was equally disastrous. Her entire performance had to be dubbed by Angela Lansbury as no one could understand her accent. And Yvette Mimieux as Chi Chi. Glen's younger sister? (about 25 years younger) is terrible too. There is nobody to care about in this fiasco. The Ingrid Thulin character is shallow and boring. War is about to strike and she can only think of bidding on a French painting. (Probably from some poor Jewish citizen trying to escape France.) She then begins an affair with Glenn Ford without a backward glance at her husband played by poor Paul Henried. The war seems to only interrupt her pleasure. She happily demands to go out dancing in her finery with only the Germans and collaborating women present. She and Glenn have no time for anything but their selfish adultery. And there is no chemistry at all between them. Glenn Ford seems to be acting underwater. He is so out of it. Not a bit of fire and romance from someone who is supposed to be a great playboy. In the meantime poor Chi Chi has taken up with the French underground and is later killed by the Gestapo. This finally riles up Ford to do some himself. Ugh. So bad. Only Charles Boyer and Paul Lukas are any good. They are at least professional and their talent makes them at least watchable. Like most Minnelli late films this turkey goes on for over 2 1/2 hours and very little happens. The hammy performance of Lee J. Cobb (as the "old one") at the beginning is pretty amusing. Lee J. Cobb and Rod Steiger should have had an "over acting" competition. This film is truly dreadful.

  • What I Saw of It...

    • Alice
    • 8/17/15

    Oh, I hate to ask. But I must. By the time I realized this great film was playing, there was only about 1hr. and 15 min. left of the film. I watched most of it. Did not want to see the end. But I did. Would you please show this film again? It looks so good. The reviews are mostly quite good. It looks like you do not show it often enough. It's been a while since you last aired it. It is true someone else might have been more exciting in the role he played. However, Glenn Ford has his own quiet strength style about him. I like him in most of his movies. Please show it again soon. Thank you.

  • Available on DVD at last!

    • claire
    • 3/22/09

    This film is being released through Warner Bros Archive Collection on 22 March 2009.

  • Motion picture excellence

    • Kevin L. Bennett
    • 5/5/08

    Being an avid motion picture buff and collector, it is rare to miss a pricelessgem when you have covered the territory many times over. This was one such occasion for me. somehow this diamond passed me by, or I passed it, many times and never met. A dynamic title sequence and score, almost perfect casting, an enthalling story of war, love and family, and for me and most noteworthy, an incomparable and unforgetable music love theme. I hope that it makes it to DVD very soon so that lovers of fine motion picture art and music can share it. I certainly would love to have my own copy of it on Blu-Ray DVD as it should be remastered and re-released as soon as possilbe for the true movie classic fan. At leat for now, I was lucky to capture it on DVR, on a whim that it just might be pretty good.- It was simply, fantastic.

  • An Interesting Failure

    • Adman
    • 5/3/08

    Much better than remembered with a score that ranks high in the annals of film music.The acting styles vary, but the setpieces keep you engrossed. I like Ford and Thulin. They do the best one can with the script.The scence in the garden scores high in all departments.If the studio trusted the talents of Minnelli, this film could have been a masterpiece.

  • Marlon Brando instead of Glenn Ford, Interesting!!

    • gabe
    • 5/3/08

    I think that Glenn Ford is a very good actor, & I like him alot. But I think that Marlon Brando would have been a better choice in the role of Julio. I think that Brando's younger looks would have worked better. Remember the original had Rudolf Valentino as Julio. Like I said before, this is NOT a knock against Glenn Ford. As far as being on DVD, there is a Chinese company (WHAT ELSE!!) that has a copy of this movie out for sale. I happen to buy one thru Barnes & Noble (YES), but I was not satisfied with the quality. It was of bootleg quality. I think the powers at MGM should issue a remastered version of this film, to do it justice. Thanks, Gabe

  • Flawed maybe but also compelling and well acted

    • janig
    • 8/2/07

    Much was made of the supposed mis casting of Glenn Ford here. I admit I'm a fan but I think it's one of his best performances unlike any other he has given. He perfectly captures the elegant carefree playboy and his scenes with the also excellent Thulin are moving and poignant. If Delon had been cast he would have been younger than Thulin which would not have been in keeping with the plot and Ford was at least younger than Heinreid as the husband. Other cast members particularly Charles Boyer were also superb. I have the vhs and have watched it several times and cannot understand why it was panned on release.

  • Flawed movie with some great moments.

    • Ben Peeples
    • 1/7/07

    This film has a lot going for it: a strong cast, some stunning design on the 'apocalypse' sequences, good action scenes, but like "Grand Prix" (another MGM film from around the same time), it gets bogged down in overly-talky scenes. I'd reccomend watching it, but if you're so inclined, have your fast-forward button ready. For all it's flaws, I'd still love to see it on DVD in the U.S. For people with region-free DVD players, it's avalible from amazon.fr.

  • WWII THRILLER OF A FAMILYON BOTH SIDES OF THE WAR

    • Dottie
    • 9/10/06

    MEMORABLE, I HAVE NOT SEEN THIS MOVIE IN 30 YEARS WOULD LOVE TO SEE IT AGAIN

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.