skip navigation
49th Parallel

49th Parallel(1941)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

49th Parallel The crew of a stranded German... MORE > $39.95 Regularly $39.95 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • 49th Parallel

    • Dashiell Barnes
    • 8/1/12

    The first successful propaganda film from Powell & Pressburger. Fine supporting work from Howard, Massey, Olivier & Walbrock; Portman is chilling leading a cast if Nazi's. Pressburger won an Oscar for writing, although some scenarios are too abstract & by today's standards, portray Canadians as one-dimensional stereotypes. A thrilling cross-country tour of Canada overall. I give it a 4/5.

  • Good Film

    • Leslie
    • 7/31/12

    Been played more fairly recently.May have been propaganda,but it's still good film.

  • 49th Parallel

    • Greg Williams
    • 2/2/12

    Excellent movie. Just proves the strangeness of Canadians. So easy going, but when pushed unstoppable and stubborn as hell. Man I love this country.Does a decent job of conveying the shear size of the country as well. Those Germans had to spend a LOT of time travelling to get anywhere.

  • 49th Parallel

    • Tom Nicholson
    • 7/8/11

    Fantastic film. All the reasons to love Canada and hate Hitler.

  • Technical/timing question.

    • Ltdano
    • 7/8/11

    If the release date of the 49th parallel is 1941, how come the first reported activity of U Boats in the St. Lawrence river is May/October 1942? Were the writers that good?Great Movie.

  • 49th Parrell

    • Bruce
    • 7/8/11

    I am glad TCM chose today to air this wonderful film. I had saw it only one time before - hereat TCM and fell in love with it immediately. Wonderfully played out as it unfolds from one stageto the next. I particularly liked Leslie Howard's character immensely as Phillip Armstrong Scott.Seeing a very young Lawrence Olivier adds to its encapsulated intrigue. Seeing the world of theHutterite Farmers is mindful of the Mennonites - (where I love to eat). If your into a well acted film, a history buff, or a WWII romanticist, then this film was tailor made for you.

  • Music songs

    • Craig
    • 2/26/07

    John if you see this I wrote to tcm on another subject . They are help ful.

  • This movie shows the Evil of terrorism in WW II.

    • craig brewster
    • 10/18/06

    It shows the evil we had to endure the brain washing and evil of Hitler.

  • Music

    • John Dandie
    • 6/14/06

    Hi, Was wondering if you could help me, In the 1941 Film 49 Parallel, there was a French Canadian Trapper, Johnny, singing in the cabin , playing his Accordion, It was a French Canadian song, my wife's Grandfather used to sing it to her, but in French, and she doesn't know the words, Is there any way I can find the name of this tune, and then is it possible that it is still available ?? Regards John Dandie

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.