skip navigation
Forever Amber

Forever Amber(1947)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

Shop tcm.com

Forever Amber - NOT AVAILABLE

Crying Boy

VOTE FOR THIS TITLE:
Our records indicate this title is not available on Home Video. Vote below for it to be released on DVD.

  1. Total votes: vote now!
  2. Rank: (why vote?)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Forever Amber

    • DesertBlu
    • 9/20/12

    I fell in love with this very emotional movie as a child.

  • Forever Amber

    • Jackie
    • 9/14/11

    I remember seeing this movie as a child and I'm now in my sixties. I have waited all these years hoping it would be on TV or DVD. I also thought I would be the only person in this world who remembered Amber but I see that I am not and having read the other glowing reviews, I wholeheartedly agree with all of them. It is a magnificent movie, with fantastic actors producing superb performances. I wish and truly hope to see it again soon. Please, oh please press a DVD version of it and if there is not enough of us to have it printed, please show it on TCM.

  • Forever Amber

    • Linda
    • 4/4/11

    Great story, and anyone who enjoys love stories written by Kathleen Winsor will love this movie based on her novel, which takes place in 17th century England.

  • Forever Amber

    • Toni
    • 9/22/10

    I loved this movie, I wore out a VHS I had of this.......Cornel Wilde and Linda Darnell....Great!

  • Forever Amber

    • joan
    • 6/23/10

    This movie is a wonderful film with a great story. The stars are exceptional and the color is extremely good. It is a great story with lots of interesting film about the fire of London and the plague and how Amber deals with it. As well as intrigue involving the king and Amber. The gowns are fabulous - none like them in today's films. It is sad that it is not shown on today's TV.

  • Forever Amber

    • LoriLee
    • 6/5/10

    Please TCM, stop torturing me. I love this movie and can't find it anywhere. Its been on tv before and I could rent it at the non-existant video stores. But Netflix doesn't have it, you don't have it...does anyone out there have it?Great movie, great color, great costumes, pretty people, my personal interest is King Charles II, an interesting guy....Please play my movie and press it on dvd...Please Please Please

  • Best book && movie of all time.

    • Jenna Fordham
    • 4/1/10

    During my 11th year of highschool I found an old, yellow, battered copy of Forever Amber on my History teachers shelf. I borrowed it and instantly fell in love. I loved it so much that my teacher let me keep it. I read it over and over again. When I found out there was a movie, I was thrilled and was able to find a VHS copy on ebay. I love it. For it to be a movie based on a book, they did a really amazing job. Linda Darnell and Cornel Wilde's performances were breathtaking. I really wish I could find it on dvd or see it on tv, just show I can share this amazing movie with everyone. If you've seen it, you should read it as well. You won't be disappointed.

  • Forever Amber

    • kathy
    • 2/8/10

    I remember seeing this movie years ago. This is were I first noticed Cornel Wilde. Been a fan ever since. This is such a good movie!!

  • Come on Bob get us this movie!!

    • Jan
    • 2/8/10

    You finally got Kitty, now get us Forever Amber. This is such a great movie! And it is in COLOR too. I bought it for my sister years ago on VHS and she still pulls it out to watch and it worried the tape is not going to last. It is her favorite. Linda Darnell is wonderful in this epic film. Please, please, please get this one too!

  • PLEASE!!! PLAY THIS MOVIE..

    • Jan
    • 7/5/09

    Such a great movie, Linda Darnell and Cornel Wilde are so great, this is one of those classics you will never forget once you see it, and you will want to see again and again. Such an important movie. It was a big deal when it came out. Where is it????

  • waitng for the DVD

    • Suz
    • 5/2/09

    I remember watching this movie on TV as a teenager. As an adult, I read the book. I want to see the movie again. It is a great love story with excellent actors & actresses. David Osborne has done a special on the director, too. Let's get this movie out on DVD!

  • Forever Amber

    • Loretta W.
    • 3/21/09

    Would love to see this movie on TCM.I remember it as one of the outstandinglove stories I ever saw.Please show it soon!!!!

  • want this movie on DVD

    • brinda
    • 2/17/09

    I have been waiting for Forever Amber tobe on DVD for so long, tis is one of the greastest love stories and a I love the period time of the movie to see how England may have been in the 1600'sAmber was willing to do what ever it took to get her man, even in the end she lost not only him, but the child she borehim. It is just the greastest amd LindaDarnell was great in this. I hope the TCM will show this soon and some one willput on DVD I am a old movie collector.They do not make movies today like the past, you really had to act not get necked or use foul words, or cut off some ones head, you had to act to get the point across and it worked I have even got my grandchildren into the oldies.

  • availability

    • mary
    • 10/10/08

    Is it possible to buy a dvd of forever amber? Or is it possible for tcm to show this movie on tcm?thanks mary hessmarvahess@aol.comor hwh932@aol.com

  • Amber is forever; so why isn' she on DVD?

    • Robert Bernard
    • 7/31/08

    Certainly one of the most talked about films of the l940's, Forever mber suffered the fate of many daring pictures of that era; it was heavily censored like The Outlaw and Duel in the Sun. What we have salvaged for the screen is a beautiful technicolor period piece set in England's Restoration period (17th century) with gorgeous Linda Darnell doing quite well in the title role, ably supported by a cast of supporting players including George Sanders as King Charles II and nne Revere as Mother Red Cap, the leader of London's den of cutpurses and highway men. Such historical events as the Great Fire of London and the Plague are vividly portrayed, the production values are top drawer and somehow in spite of the drastically disenfected screenplay from Kathleen Winsor's phenomonly best-selling novel the film manages to entertain us

  • why

    • marilyn
    • 7/27/08

    is this such a hard movie to find? This is really a very good movie. Linda Darnell is magnificent in this role. It is one of those 'must see' movies.

  • Where Is The DVD???

    • Randy
    • 4/9/08

    This is a very good movie,I've seen it countless times.I was watching an extra feature on the DVD DAISY KENYON about Forever Amber's Director OTTO PREMINGER.Anyway after the short bio ended,the credits rolled.They had shown some clips of Amber?..On the credits it states that the movie is already on DVD!MY question is?...WHERE IS IT?Has anyone else noticed this?

  • FOREVER AMBER

    • JIM SHOEMAKER
    • 12/22/07

    ONE OF LINDA DARNELL'S BEST.GREAT COLOR MOVIE FOR IT'S TIME.A REAL SHAME AND MISTAKE IT'S NOT ON DVD.

  • Why Isn't This Movie on DVD?

    • robert novarro
    • 12/6/07

    This is an epic film set in the reign of Charles II of England starring Linda Darnell and Cornell Wilde. The story and cinematography are magnificent and the two stars give an excellent performance. Once you watch it you will also be wondering what is taking so long to get it on dvd.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.