skip navigation
Foreign Correspondent

Foreign Correspondent(1940)

  • Sunday, October 19 @ 05:45 PM (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
  • Wednesday, November 5 @ 05:45 PM (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
Up
Down

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Foreign Correspondent An American reporter covering the war in Europe gets mixed... MORE > $39.95 Regularly $39.95 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Exceptional

    • Heather
    • 8/13/14

    Spy thrillers are my weakness, but today's scripts are riddled with sex, violence, and gore with no significant plot. This classic film reminds us if the time when a storytelling strong enough to make the movie.

  • wonderful movie

    • jodi
    • 7/4/14

    Theres something about the atmosphere of this movie. I love black & white film. Joel McCrea is charming & lovable. The scenes in Holland, with the windmills, are my favorite part of the movie. This is one of my all time favorite films. Everytime i see it on i watch it. I never get tired of this one.

  • Foreign Correspondent

    • Henry Scott
    • 7/3/14

    It's a pity that you are showing this film, which I certainly would have loved to watch, at a time too few of us can actually tune in.Perhaps a better chance next time at a later more accessible hour.

  • Great atmospheric espionage

    • J. Doolittle
    • 9/6/13

    Enjoyed the foreign intrigue, the romantic, atmospheric element of uncertain events leading to war in Europe. Joel McRea was perfect in the role of an unsuspecting reporter sent to cover the European situation in the guise of "Foreign Correspondent." The sets and settings used to portray the urban scenes of London, the trolleys of Amsterdam and its torrential rain-soaked streets, along with barren Dutch landscape scenes filled with windmills made this movie a real treat. Excellent acting, and a great cast.

  • fforeign ffun

    • Meredith
    • 7/24/13

    I am happy too that Gary Cooper turned down this role. McCrea was the perfect innocent foreign correspondent. It gives me the heebie-jeebies thinking of Cooper making moon faces at Day during her speech like McCrea did. Marshall and Sanders are also enjoyable to watch. I think it's great too that Basserman didn't speak English, but was able to say his lines phonetically. A fun movie to watch.

  • Fantastic Foreign Correspondant

    • Joely
    • 5/25/13

    Reluctant foreign correspondant Joel is a#1 in this.Loved Sanders,a rarity because I thought he was really like his despicable characters but quite liked him here.

  • Glad Cooper Took A Pass,He would've Stunk it up

    • No Gary Cooper Fan
    • 5/10/12

    Joel,Larraine,Herbert,Benchley,Ciannelli,Kosleck,Sanders,Gwenn a formidable cast.Bravo!

  • The Best Hitchcock Yet

    • JJ
    • 5/10/12

    Glad Cooper passed on this one.Joel was brilliant,George more so,Larraine Day excellent!Couldn't have done a better job showing us what happened pre-war,and once War was declared.

  • Outstanding ,Hitch

    • Brilliant
    • 5/10/12

    Not a bad performance in the lot,but most inspiring to me was a surprising honorable turn by George Sanders.Couldn't understand why he wasn't given more roles like Ffolkes.

  • Terrific film

    • Alice
    • 5/10/12

    This is one of those films that increasingly grabs you until you are lost in it as you nearly fall off the "edge of your seat". Somewhere along 3/4 of the way through, I reminded myself this was one of the great Hitchcock films. I say, WOW!

  • The land of the free and the home of the brave

    • Jeff Boston
    • 5/10/12

    "Hello, America, hang on to your lights: they're the only lights left in the world!" One of the best lines in the history of film was true 72 years ago, it is true today, and it will be true tomorrow, whether there is peace or war, for the United States of America is an exceptional nation.

  • McCrea Charming -- Disarming

    • ted baer
    • 5/9/12

    Joel McCrea is at his charming, disarming best, combining a comedic innocence, sincerity and can-do stepping up to the plate. All in all he offers depth and just enough froth. This is probably his best film, even though he was paired with Lorraine Day, singularly unconvincing in any part. Even she comes off acceptably in this film. Foreign Correspondent shows what a genius director can do with what's offered. Well, he had a good script -- prescient and literate -- even if not a lot of production money. Enjoy it.

  • Outstanding suspense film!

    • Jonathan
    • 2/7/12

    As is true of most black and white older films, the storyline, and acting is superior compared to the typical garbage we have today-Thank goodness for TCM.

  • give him credit

    • Lauri
    • 2/7/12

    Joel McCrea finds the perfect balance in the portrayal of Johnny Jones.James Harvey says it best in his book "Romantic Comedy in Hollywood":"McCrea evokes Hitchcock's comic-absurdist world with uncanny pitch andaccuracy, establishing just the right bemused tone at the center of thefilm" I wish reviewers would stop talking about who Hitchcock wanted inthe role and start giving McCrea credit for fantastic work.

  • error in preview

    • FLOYD TINSLEY
    • 2/6/12

    Great movie, but Mr Osborn stated that the term "nazi" was not used. Incorrect Joel Mcrea used the term when he spoke to Mr Van???? in the cab scene , 15 minutes into the movie. That was the only time it was used.

  • Great Movie

    • AKeller
    • 8/9/11

    This is a great movie. If you have never seen it, you don't know movies. The cast is terrific together and play off each other so well. The dialogue is quick and witty and the twist at the end makes the movie so noteworthy. I, too, would love to own this but can't find it. TCM you need to make this available in DVD, the sooner the better! Put me down for the first one you distribute! I give this 5 stars.

  • Sanders

    • Chris
    • 5/23/11

    Good dark movie. Bit intense. Sanders shines

  • foreign correspondent

    • suesan
    • 12/15/10

    brilliant!! this picture is almost psychic when you look at the year it was made and the way it looks at the war brewing in europe. it takes a very likable character (jones) and throws him right into the fray virtually by the seat of his pants, much like the u.s. was in real life. the shadows in the windmill that are 'hitler-esque' are too too cool! be sure to watch for them! i have turned several of my friends on to this movie and i personally would LOVE to own it...unfortunately i cant seem to find it anywhere. i am always amazed that it is hitchcock as it doesnt quite fit his style; but then again, neither did he! i recommend this to anyone who wants a great ride, suspense, a laugh here and there, and a killer twist on a twist picture....all based on real life events. i dont think you can beat that! go get the popcorn and strap yourself in...i dare not say more lest i give anything away....just watch it and you WILL love it. you cant go wrong with this cast and i mean really!!

  • They're listening in America, Johnny.

    • lastliberal
    • 2/6/08

    Not the best Hitchcock film, but exciting enough as a correspondent (Western star Joel McCrea) is sent to Europe before the war to find out the truth. He stumbles upon the assignation of a diplomat (Albert Bassermann) and the hunt is on for those behind it.The suspense builds as our correspondent teams with Oscar-winner George Sanders (All About Eve) to trap their suspect (Herbert Marshall). In the meantime, our correspondent falls in love with the suspect's daughter (Laraine Day).It all comes to an end as the war starts. But, that is not the end: it is the beginning.Basserman got an Oscar nomination for his supporting role, and the film itself was nominated for Best Picture, oddly losing to another Hitchcock film, Rebecca. Rebecca also took the cinematography award. The screenplay, special effects, and art direction were also nominated.Two good films by the same director in one year. I wonder if that has happened before or since.

  • Hitchcock's best

    • Caramia
    • 12/28/07

    This movie is absolutely amazing!It is so adrenaline pumped and it makes you so proud to be American! I love Hitchcock and I would have to say that this is his best picture.

  • Film Location

    • deluxreverb
    • 12/16/07

    Was this filmed in Holland and London?

  • request

    • kg
    • 3/30/07

    could anyone provide the text of Van Meer's defiant speech to Stephen Fisher and cohorts? Thanks!

  • Great Hitchcock movie!!!!!

    • Sally
    • 1/9/07

    I loved this movie!!!!!!! It was fantastic! I love the suspense and mystery, as well as the romance.During creepy parts, Joal McCrea and Laraine Day were falling in love with each other.I love a good mystery and romance all in the same movie! This also showed the tension in Europe before America became involved.The climatic seen was also very thrilling!This movie deserves 4 stars!!

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.