skip navigation
Fools' Parade

Fools' Parade(1971)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

Shop tcm.com

Fools' Parade - NOT AVAILABLE

Crying Boy

VOTE FOR THIS TITLE:
Our records indicate this title is not available on Home Video. Vote below for it to be released on DVD.

  1. Total votes: vote now!
  2. Rank: (why vote?)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • FOOL'S PARADE the film

    • JAN
    • 9/25/13

    Have memories of watching this film FOOL'S PARADE years ago. Also waiting for the film to be on view using the DVD format. Great memories riding the 4501 stream engine in 1971 to Crossville, TN and being colored black from being in the film FOOL'S PARADE. The film needs to be released on DVD for others to watch.

  • Memories

    • greg miller
    • 11/30/12

    I have enjoyed this movie for many years. My grandfather Pete Miller was in this movie and they also used his car in the movie. He has passed on and left great memories with us to love and cherish. I continue to preserve the car that he once owned (1925 dodge) once my dad handed it down to me a few years ago. We get the car out during the summer months and enjoy telling the stories about the cars history. I no longer live in Powhatan Pt. ohio. Now i live near cincinatti to where my parents have relocated as well. To see people and their intrest in the movie makes me grin, and i know that the movie is not available due to the lock down of Jimmy Stewarts movies from his wife. You can find the movie if you look hard enough,but it is diff to find. I myself need to transfer my copy to a dvd. So my dad and i continue to tell a bit of our family history to others in our area that we now live in, and will continue on with these stories with my son, so that he can enjoy the same type memories that as a family share together. Thank you so much Pete Miller for the memories of West Virginia State Penn, Glory WV.....lol

  • About time!

    • lynn
    • 8/20/12

    I have been searching and waiting forever and a day for this classic to surface! I saw this film one late night about 1983. My sister and I were totally committed to the end, and it was all worth it. I hope it will be available again.

  • Entertaining movie complete with misfits

    • Joe Chaykowsky
    • 3/7/12

    Wheeling is my hometown and when this movie was being filmed my brother and I were visiting at my uncle's home during summer vacation from school and he would take us down to Moundsville to watch some filming. We only briefly saw any real filming and I couldn't discern any characters so far in the distance from our vantage point. The movie was released the next year and while staying with my grandmother during the summer I remember us going to the theater several times to watch Fools Parade. This movie has stuck in my mind and I think about it often probably because some remnants left of the filming are still around Moundsville and partly because of the oddball actors such as Struther Martin. He and Dubbs Taylor have always been my favorite character actors. I visit my relatives in Moundsville several times a year and driving past where the the train scenes were filmed bring back alot of fond memories. I remember picking up on the late model cars in the background the first time I saw the movie and would state this fact to anyone in the theater within speaking distance. There were alot of good not great movies in the 70's that had big stars in them, this is one of them, I would like to see TCM run this movie on cable so I could enjoy it again.

  • 1970 MOVIE FOOLS PARADE

    • chuck
    • 6/9/11

    i ONLY SAW THIS MOVIE ONE TIME . IT WAS ON A SUDAY AFTERNOON WITH "REGE CORDIC SUNDAY AFTERNOON MOVIES" I WAS A STILL IN HIGH SCHOOL 1976 WHEN I WATCHED IT. EXCELLANT MOVIE !!! BEEN LOOKING FOR IT TOO ON DVD

  • Fool's Parade

    • Jim Pearl
    • 12/15/10

    Great movie....Jimmy Stewart classic....Why is it not on video?

  • Fool's Parade

    • nancy zubek
    • 12/10/10

    I hope that one day this film will be avaialble on dvd. My parents grew up in Moundsville W. Va. My grandmother lived with my Aunt and uncle in a house right behind the prison. Part of the movie was filmed in my grandmother's store. I have been looking for a copy of this movie so I can give it to my mother.There is alot of history represented in this movie and I would like to share that with the younger generation. Sooo, PLEASSE put this movie on dvd!

  • Fools Parade

    • Clyde Potts
    • 10/19/10

    Mr Pete Miller was from Monroe County, not far from Moundsville, W. Va and it was his own old DODGE car that he drove George Kennedy around in . I never knew PETE , but knew his daughter that told me about her Fathers old car. If i remember right , it was a 1925 touring car . I am originally from Monroe County Ohio , not far from Clarington Ohio , where PETE lived at the time he had a part in the movie .

  • fools' parade

    • Jean
    • 4/4/10

    My brother talks of this movie, OFTEN. He is getting up in years and continues to hope that he can see it again. I have written, asking for it to be released several times. He would not care if he didn't think it wasn't a great movie. Please make him happy!

  • Good Movie Good Book (Fool's Parade)

    • Charles Hutchins
    • 9/7/09

    I was in Moundsville in 1972/73 for a plant startup. I remember the old prison (looked like an old English fort.)I read the book,"Fools Parade" a few years later. (I was told by locals in Moundsville) that Jimmy Stewart had trouble with the glass eye and he had a lot of trouble with infection from the glass eye).The book is a riot as well as the movie is entetaining and comical in many ways.I was led to believe that the movie was based on an actual event. (Of course if this is so, it probably was embellished by Hollywood to a great degree.)I would like to be able to have this movie because Stewart and Kennedy are so good.

  • like this movie

    • harold branch
    • 12/28/08

    please puy this movie out on video. isend this movie when i was a littie boy.

  • when will fools parade to be on dvd

    • philip lightner
    • 4/3/08

    the movie was shown on april 1st. the movie was filmed in my hometown when i was a teen. i have been looking for it a long time. iam a history buff and look for anything from the past.if it could be released i would be first in line to obtain a copy. thank philip lightner hundred wv. philip2@frontiernet.net

  • TCM & A Classic Jimmy Stewart Gem

    • William Riffle
    • 3/21/08

    Thank you Robert Osborne & TCM for finally acquiring this wonderfully weird movie. This film has alot of abstract value .. glass eyes, old locomotives, houseboats, & a collection of extremely odd characters. Jimmy Stewart gives one of his best performances, & even though the film boggs down in a few spots, it still is quite an entertaining piece.

  • Comic Stewart

    • terry adams
    • 10/10/07

    Jimmy Stewart constructs a very plausible role as an ex-con who is determined to get his just deserts. George Kennedy performs another unflattering role to perfection.

  • Fool's Parade

    • John Grannell
    • 1/12/07

    Why thia movie is not better known is a mystery. The characters are a selection of odd balls and wierdos; and if memory serves;they were all crooks. This is a funny and wonderful picture with an element of dead-eye humor. if you happen to see this gem, you will know exactly what that means.

  • Fools Parade

    • Marty Fox
    • 11/27/06

    This is a hard to find movie By Jimmy Stewart that is entertaining to say the least. It has a star studded cast including Stewart, Curt Russell, Anne Baxter, Strother Martin and George Kennedy. The movie is filmed in my hometown, which makes it a little more appealing to me. Stewart and his cast give strong performances in this picture that is set in the depression era. If you need another reason to watch this film, It's James Stewart for crying out loud!

  • Fools' Parade

    • Joe Frey
    • 10/28/06

    Fools' Parade is one of the better movies that Jimmy Stewart ever did and is based on the events of a man who did time at the old prison located in Moundsville, WV. But not like Mattie Appleyard (Jimmy Stewart), the real man never did get out of prison. This movie was also filmed in Moundsville, WV where the prison is located and uses part of the actual prison in a few scenes.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.