skip navigation
The Flight of the Phoenix

The Flight of the Phoenix(1965)

Contribute

FOR The Flight of the Phoenix (1965) YOU CAN

UPLOAD AN IMAGE SUBMIT A VIDEO OR MOVIE CLIP ADD ADDITIONAL INFORMATION WRITE YOUR OWN REVIEW

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

Shop tcm.com

The Flight of... - NOT AVAILABLE

Crying Boy

VOTE FOR THIS TITLE:
Our records indicate this title is not available on Home Video. Vote below for it to be released on DVD.

  1. Total votes: vote now!
  2. Rank: (why vote?)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • flight of the phoenix

    • kevin sellers
    • 11/14/14

    My favorite Robert Aldrich movie, and the guy's made quite a few great ones ( like Autumn Leaves, Baby Jane, Big Knife, Dirty Dozen, Kiss Me Deadly.) Just a great survival story, with a fine screenplay by Lukas Heller that manages to deftly describe each member of a rather large cast. Not a bad performance in the bunch, either. James Stewart, playing a stubborn, not overly bright bush pilot, has never been better. Richard Attenborough, as his drunk of a co pilot, Peter Finch as a maddeningly by the book officer, Dan Duryea as a religious insurance salesman, Hardy Kruger as a 1960s version of a techno nerd, all are fantastic. And Aldrich's direction puts you on the plane as it is crashing and in the desert, along with the remaining passengers and crew, as they struggle to build a new one out of the wreckage, before the water supply gives out. As an example of its genre (call it adventure/survival) I'd put it right up there with 27 Hours. Definitely an A.

  • 'Phoenix' on Blu-Ray??

    • Tom Bell
    • 4/7/14

    One of my all-time favorite films. Great cast. Great script. Great direction. Great acting. Great cinematography. What more is there?? When on earth is 20th Century Fox going to give this film a proper Special Editon Blu-Ray re-release. Fans of this film from around the globe have been waitng years for it, and a film this great deserves that treatment. If they're going to do interviews for a 'Making of...' documentary to be included, they BETTER HURRY UP! The only surviving actors are Sir Richard Attenborough, George Kennedy and Hardy Kruger. They're all in their late 80's and early 90's now! Time's running out!! This is my impassioned plea for anyone in 'the business' who cares. Thanks.

  • Great film - The original Is The Best

    • Judy
    • 2/1/14

    You cannot beat the original....what a great film. Keeps you pulled in from the beginning to the end and fantastic performances by all. I just wish it was shown more often on TCM.

  • The Flight of the Phoenix

    • GypsyPi3000
    • 5/20/13

    This isn't the type of movie I'd normally think I'd like, but I really found myself enjoying it. After a couple of hours of watching my lips felt dry and cracked, my skin blistered, and my body felt covered with sand. That's how this film totally immerses you in the desert. From the cinematography to the acting, I found myself having a real experience. One of the best parts of the film is when they find out that the plane designer is really only a model airplane designer (or dare I say "toy" airplane designer). I found myself hysterically laughing too. After all we'd been through, to find out that that pompous jerk had never even designed a real flying airplane! It was just too much to take. But yes, finally we made it out! Hallelujah! I'd also like to take a moment to thank Paul Mantz (and all other stunt professionals) for the contributions they make to the film industry. Thank you Mr. Mantz, because of you I was able to see cinema magic happen almost 50 years later.

  • Classic Stewart

    • DearPippo
    • 1/23/13

    If you like James Stewart, you'll love Flight of the Phoenix. Played in Stewart's intense style, the movie's plot is intriguing. You'll find yourself asking, "Would that really be possible?" Richard Attenborough is a great supporting actor. Hardy Kruger is believable in his role and Ernest Borgnine is always a star to watch. If you've seen the Dennis Quaid remake of this movie but not the 1965 original, Shame on You. See the best. You'll throw away your DVD of the new version.

  • Flight Of The Phoenix

    • Bruce Reber
    • 10/12/12

    "The Flight Of The Phoenix" (1965) is a solid, suspensful story of a group of men fighting for survival in the Sahara Desert after their plane crashes, and them working together despite their various differences to build a new plane that will hopefully fly them out and save them from certain death. A top drawer cast, including James Stewart, Peter Finch, Richard Attenborough, Ernest Borgnine, Hardy Kruger and Dan Duryea, and great direction by Robert Aldrich of "The Dirty Dozen", "Hush Hush Sweet Charlotte", "Whatever Happened To Baby Jane?" and "Kiss Me Deadly" fame. TFOTP is also similar in plot to "Five Came Back" (1936) and its remake "Back From Eternity" (1956), both directed by John Farrow and both of which I like to watch whenever they air on TCM. I didn't see the 2004 remake of TFOTP, but I agree with a previous reviewer that the 1965 original is way better.

  • The absolute end of an era

    • Mike
    • 10/11/12

    I can watch this film now.... its been year since that day... The cast is great, The Yuma Arizona location looks perfect, The story seems more possible now than ever before. What has always darkend the screen for me was the Loss of Paul Mantz. Paul Mantz was that guy behind the flying in every aviation movie you ever loved. From the Serials, to Only Angels have Wings, to Twelve O'Clock High. ...But then.. in the heat of the day doing one more shot...it all came to an end. The hodgepodge of an aircraft that Mantz himself had supervised the building of, had broken in the middle. The Fuselage which was stretched from a WW2 Trainer, the AT6, and then attached to Beech model 18 wings, just failed. An aged stunt man who had been in films since the silents and who was riding on the wings along with several manakins sailed off and survived. Paul Mantz was not so lucky. As his partner Frank Tallman told it....Paul had come down head first.... on the only stone in the desert. Well, Thanks to TCM, you can still see Paul doing all kinds of stunts..you know....the loops, the spins, the crashes..all those things you can only see in the movies..

  • Good Movie,Better Than Rehash

    • Cast
    • 10/9/12

    Good ensemble cast. Keeps going without too much intrigue

  • COMPARING THE TWO VERSIONS

    • WILLIAM GAUSLOW
    • 5/14/11

    1965 version is the better than the 2004 version. At the end of the movie when the pilot tries to start the engine. The sequence and tension of the 1965 version is far more tense, dramatic and hair raising than 2004 version. In the 1965 version the final start (blast to start engine) results in a very stressful period watching the propellers struggle to get "going." I could feel myself in the 1965 version getting out of my seat, yelling at my TV for the propellers TO GO. GO, just GO. I think the airplane "designer" is played better by the 2004 version. I dare anybody to debate me (via email) concerning my conclusions. 1965 rules.

  • They build a plane

    • Pete Bentley
    • 9/4/09

    The reviewer for TCM said they repair the plane useing one engine. Thats not what they do. The plot centers around the group building a new plane with parts of the wrecked plane. The reborn plane is designed by a model plane builder.This movie is great, and it has all the perfect steriotypes, Veteran Pilot,Drunk co-pilot,British Officer,Head case worker being sent home,Mexican,Preacher, and the antagonist a German. It should be noted that the stunt pilot died making this film, we see the plane fly, but we don't see it land on camera. Much better than the remake.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.