skip navigation
The 5000 Fingers of Dr. T

The 5000 Fingers of Dr. T(1953)

  • Saturday, January 31 @ 03:45 AM (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
Up
Down
Contribute

FOR The 5000 Fingers of Dr. T (1953) YOU CAN

UPLOAD AN IMAGE SUBMIT A VIDEO OR MOVIE CLIP ADD ADDITIONAL INFORMATION WRITE YOUR OWN REVIEW

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

Shop tcm.com

The 5000 Fingers... - NOT AVAILABLE

Crying Boy

VOTE FOR THIS TITLE:
Our records indicate this title is not available on Home Video. Vote below for it to be released on DVD.

  1. Total votes: vote now!
  2. Rank: (why vote?)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Great Movie

    • muriel
    • 4/19/13

    When this movie came out, my mother was in her 20's. She said she and my father were the only people in the theater who sat through the whole film. I saw it as a child on B/W TV and loved it!! Amazing movie. I give the film to families because everyone can enjoy it. They don't get it!No gasoline vapor explosions, no 3-D effects. Not noisy or flashy enough. Too much clever dialogue.Also, all this psych analysis of the movie. Sometimes a dream is just a dream! Just sit back and enjoy the story.

  • 5000 Fingers of Dr T

    • Jem
    • 4/10/13

    This is Cold War satire at its best!Yes, it was a weird film for kids in the 1950's.As a grown-up, Dr Suess's satire falls into place.Dr T's is dressed in Russian and Chinese attire (his hat and gown).He seeks to control the boy, who is dressed in a striped shirt (similar to our flag stripes).Toward the end of the movie Dr T asks the boy if his bomb is atomic.Yes, the boy replies and boom, it explodes! He then wakes from his dream.Dr Suess has a message for us today with this great film!

  • Musical Madness!

    • solli
    • 2/23/13

    I watched this wild movie for the first time this morning. I didn't know Dr. Seuss devised it but the influence was ummistakable. I particularly enjoyed the dungeon dance choreography scene, it was completely mesmerizing!

  • Fit to a T(1953)

    • nshepard
    • 1/12/13

    1950's look at Mental Health. Beautifully filmed in Technicolor from Columbia Picutres(Harry Cohen) must still be rolling in his grave, comes "The 5000 Fingers of DR. T !" Co-written by Dr. Seuss(Theodore Geisel)well known for "Cat in The Hat'" and "Green Eggs and Ham", was also known for his battles with mental health. Therein lies the rub. This disturbing tale of a young man , who battles with on-coming neurosis caused by a haranguing single mother Heloise Collins(Mary Healy)and a somewhat maladjusted piano teacher DR. Terwillger or DR. T(Hans Conried). What seeps through the film is the ongoing presence of Dr. Seusses'touches of his reality and how he copes with existence. Interesting.Bartholomew Collins(Tommy Rettig) before his "Lassie" days, is the typical adolescent who wants to please his mother, partly because of the loss of his Dad, but mostly for just wanting to be a good son. The strain of trying to achieve the level of concert pianist plays upon the young man, and so he starts to have delusions of a hidden agenda of the piano teacher. A prison for 500 young men to play 24/7 to placate the teachers demands ! Needless to say, the bizarre visions and dreams are designed to help Bartholomew work through his problems and overcome his neurosis so he can continue growing as a well adjusted young man. The visions are weird and nicely photographed and choreographed. The conclusion is that he does beat his phobias and has a nice life. August Zabladowski(Peter Lind Hayes) plays the plumber who befriends Bartholomew, and becomes a love interest to his mother. In real life, Mr. Hayes was married to Mary Healy, and was a popular composer, actor and entertainer. So , art imitates life. If you want a really strange film to watch, I suppose it has redeeming social values, then this maybe your cup of tea, er, goo. BTW, Terwillger is the eternal foe of Bart Simpson. Psycho-Drama or Psycho-Babble, depends on your point of view.

  • Third Floor Dungeon

    • lcs
    • 6/27/10

    My favorite scene is the elevator ride down to the dungeon. This messed with my mind as a child.However what is stranger than this movie is the introduction by John Lithgow. For some reason they keep switching to another camera that he isn't looking at. Anybody figure that out yet?

  • Dr.Seuss Goes to Music School

    • Kevin4Butler
    • 6/26/10

    This live action musical/fantasy film is a bizzare but funtrek thru the nightmarish world of abusive,controlling and egotripping music teachers and the kids.Who are forced to fulfilltheir teachers repressed dreams.The music score in forgetablebut the script is entertaining and the cast is charming and funny. Especially the performances of Mr.Conreid,Ms.Healy,Mr.Hayesand Mr.Rettig.

  • Wild And Weird

    • Bruce Reber
    • 4/16/09

    This has to be one of the weirdest films I have ever seen. But I guess anything written by Dr. Seuss just has to be like that. I have seen it about 5 times, and for the early 50's it is quite unusual in blending elements of music, fantasy and comedy. If 5K Fingers of Dr. T were made in the late 60's it would surely be considered psychedelic and better understood if you were on an acid trip. My favorite scene is the roller-skating twins joined together by their beard(s). I watch it each time it airs on TCM, but couldn't yesterday 4/15 because I was at work and forgot to tape it. I know a lot of kids today aren't familiar with Dr. Seuss and his stories, but I read many of his books when I was young and they were very different from the other ones I had read. I guess 5K Fingers of Dr. T was one of the first fantasy films, and I think kids today would like it, although the sets and effects look dated, and the acting seems a bit campy at times. All things considered, 5K Fingers of Dr. T is an awesome, though very weird film.

  • One of the most underrated films of all time

    • XweAponX
    • 4/15/09

    I also saw this when I was about 5 years old and I also had the images burned into my brain. Images created by Dr. Seuss! I especially remember the Twilliker Institute, with it's electrified Barbed Wire Fence... And the curved ladder into the sky... And all of he strange and wonderful musical instruments played by the prisoners in the dungeon. And the costumes that possibly inspired the makers of Star Trek, the hoods in this film look like the Original Klingons (Without the forehead makeup). And the wonderful music and dancing and the insane lyrics written by Dr Seuss.Seeing this film at an early age definitely affected me... And it also made me afraid of music teachers.What is amazing was the almost 100% negative reaction to this film by the critics of the time, and we can thank whatever deities that they were 100% wrong.

  • traumatic, terrifying, wonderful.

    • david
    • 10/15/08

    i first watched this movie back in the mid sixties when i was a kid on a black and white tv. many of the very disturbing images are permanantly burned in my brain. then there are the nightmarish themes, mother abandonment, falling from great heights....you get the picture. a group of baby boomer friends got together to watch this about fifteen years ago. i suppose it was comforting that others found it as terrorizing as i did. however, it is gripping to watch. the sets and costumes are creepily magnificent.

  • Escape to Seuss Land!

    • Debbie
    • 7/4/06

    I actually remember seeing this movie as a kid and forgot how really bizarre it was. It is classic Dr. Seuss. It's a good escape from the typical movies out there. And it can be watched by the kids!

  • Holy cow!

    • Barbara
    • 7/4/06

    This has got to be the strangest movie I've ever seen. It had a kind of Dr. Seuss quality to it, but even more twisted.

  • This is on DVD

    • George
    • 6/20/06

    This is the weirdest thing I've ever seen, it would be great to watch after a 50's theme party. One would also suspect that a young Matt Groening was permanently effected by this movie.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.