skip navigation
Five Little Peppers and How They Grew

Five Little Peppers and How They Grew(1939)

Contribute

FOR Five Little Peppers and How They Grew (1939) YOU CAN

UPLOAD AN IMAGE SUBMIT A VIDEO OR MOVIE CLIP ADD ADDITIONAL INFORMATION WRITE YOUR OWN REVIEW

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

Shop tcm.com

Five Little... - NOT AVAILABLE

Crying Boy

VOTE FOR THIS TITLE:
Our records indicate this title is not available on Home Video. Vote below for it to be released on DVD.

  1. Total votes: vote now!
  2. Rank: (why vote?)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • A Family-Friendly Gem!

    • Angela
    • 6/9/14

    Why this film isn't on DVD yet is puzzling. The cast really bring the Margaret Sidney book to life in a most charming way. "Five Little Peppers and How They Grew" has the "depression era" spirit of the Shirley Temple films, but without as much trauma or tragedy in the storyline - making it a great film for kids (and adults) of all ages.This film is a must-see for any classic movie fan, a fan of the book series, or anyone who wants a film that you can't watch without smiling!!!

  • Stop thief! Phronsie stole my heart

    • Joe Schwartz
    • 10/2/08

    These movies are wonderful! Like a short vacation to simpler times,they are sweet,moral,predictable in a good way and impossible to dislike.When Phronsie went missing,we were actually on the edge of our seats(the viewer knows she is playing in a bathtub unattended)as the family searches in near panic!Of course she is found in time and alls well that ends well.Phronsie Pepper is the cutest moppett ever and is an effortless scene stealer.We have purchased and donated several dvd sets to the clinic where my wife takes chemo. These movies would be perfect but are unavailable.

  • 16 yr old know's the peppers

    • suzan wise
    • 6/28/08

    maybe one day when i'm gone, he'll look back when i made him watch leave it to beaver and the pepers. he's probably the only teenager that knows gary cooper, lana turner, susan hayworth, and as he rolls his eyes (ha!!) he has to admit he knows phronsie!! i can hold this over him in front of the other football players! ha!

  • Five Little Peppers Movies

    • Leah
    • 1/11/08

    The "Five Little Peppers" are the most enjoyable little show. They not only grab your attention but are decent and believable. They can convey their meaning in just one hour. The characters make their roles convincing. Each carries a depth of emotion especially Dorothy Ann Seese. She is so adorable. Edith Fellows, Ronald Sinclair and Charles Peck carry the scenes. Tommy Bond and Bobby Larson display the action. What more could you ask for in a show. These movies have to be the best in cinema history. I just wish they weren't so rare and hard to find weither on video or book form. Unfortunetly, they will remain forgotten. Because this genration can't appreciate them.

  • Five Little Peppers Series

    • adella necaise
    • 1/3/08

    I'm 52 years old and I have never seen the Five Little Peppers Series. Cute, Cute!! Can these be purchased on DVD?These were aired on our Direct TV over the Holidays. My husband and I thought these weer just right for our 4 year old grandson. We would loved to see all them again.Thank You for airing them.Adella Necaise

  • Charming, decent Americana meets the 21st Century

    • James C Meyer
    • 1/1/08

    The kids are adorable, the scenarios are genuine and hooray for the happy ending! In these days of hyper-angst and "Idol" worship in entertainment, fans of a more civilized and kinder America couldn't help but be taken with this sweet tempered, decent and loving series! It reminds that good things remain in a world full of trouble. This generation should be familiar with a single mom (with five kids, no less) and the struggle to keep a family together. There is much to be loved and learned from in these 4 delightful films. The day I find them available for sale, I'll own at least one copy of each!

  • I want to know how we can view these films!

    • Theresa
    • 12/30/07

    I just happened to catch part of one of these movies on a Saturday morning. It was to late to collect my grandchildren to watch the movie with me. It turns out they have been reading the books. I really want to share viewing these with our grandchildren. If anyone knows where we can obtain a viewing list, please let me know.

  • Lovely

    • DEbbie
    • 12/30/07

    Just an enjoyable series of movies a great way to spend a winters afternoon. Dorhy Ann Seese as the youngest Phronsie is by in far cute and more natural the Shirley Temple ever was, and was a big Shirley Temple fan. I would loved to see the series on DVD I would buy it rght off.

  • Most enjoyable

    • donna
    • 12/30/07

    You see repeat and repeat of the little rascals. Where have the little peppers been. I found them silly but funny and I enjoyed them very much. I'm looking forward to having them on DVD or VHS

  • A True Big Family Film.

    • Mary
    • 11/16/07

    I am the eldest of six children and movie very accurately depicts a large family. the only thing I think was missing was that younger siblings do not like the eldest calling them "children" nor do they like being told what to do. They more accurately show this in the "Five Little Peppers Go Out West" show when the boys have their pillow fight. Otherwise it is so true. My mom has to work alot to and I find that I have taken the same role Poly took in these movies: nanny or mother. We cook dinner, shop, take people where they need to go, etc. I love watching old movies like this one and "Cheaper By the Dozen" the old one because they represent big families in a very real way. New movies like to make big families weird but the old ones made them look like they are: a wholesome community where everyone works for the common good. Two Thumbs Way up for this one!

  • I want more!

    • Jo
    • 11/16/07

    My mother used to read the book to us when we were little, it was my favorite. I wasn't aware that there were movies. My daughter called me from Ohio and my 8 year old granddaughter was loving them. Please show them again and get them on DVD. They were refreshing.

  • Are there more?

    • Cindy
    • 11/15/07

    I was able to catch both episodes @ the Five Little Peppers, didn't know about the third one...I agree with the others in regards to how refreshingly entertaining these were. Almost like See Dick & Sally books back in the day. I'd love to see more :)

  • Five Little Peppers

    • LORELEI ZAWISLAK
    • 11/15/07

    Ijust saw 3 film's about the Peppers. this is the type of movie's i would like my granddaughter to see. I know she would love them. I enjoyed them my self. Great flim's for the family to enjoy together. I hope they make them available soon on any format. We need more film's like this today. To much animation.Thank You TCM for showing these great movie's Lory Zawislak

  • Cute Little Peppers

    • Carolyn Gabrielli
    • 11/15/07

    I only got to watch this first one and had to go to work,When will they be on again?Really caught me interest with the first one and was hoping to catch the rest another day.I have been watching oldies for 40 years.I don't know how in all that time I would never have seen these.Thanks for uncovering them and bring them back to the television screen.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.