skip navigation
Five Graves to Cairo

Five Graves to Cairo(1943)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Five Graves to Cairo A British corporal goes... MORE > $24.99 Regularly $29.99 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • No subtitles!!!

    • Bob Karam
    • 1/5/13

    It can't be that TCM, the Champion Promoter of Classic Film, is unaware that their most loyal followers are people in their seventies and eighties and nineties and, in many cases, suffer from at least some hearing impairment. My VHS copy of FIVE GRAVES (as well as THE GLASS KEY and THE BLUE DAHLIA) came with this feature, so why is it absent from the TCM releases? From the prices we're paying for these DVD's, I can only deduce the reason is utter insensitivity.

  • Clever Plot, Entertaing Wilder

    • Graham Thomas
    • 10/12/12

    Very satisfying film, for the most part little known Wilder effort. intelligent and knowing.

  • Fives graves to Cairo

    • Tom
    • 7/29/11

    ***1/2

  • Five Graves to Cairo

    • Dashiell Barnes
    • 7/27/11

    This wartime espionage film from Billy Wilder is a great film to be cherished by his fans. The elegant Franchot Tone, the beautiful Anne Baxter & Erich von Stroheim are terrific in this film. A great example of things to come from the great Billy Wilder. To sum up, an outstanding war film with a good mystery. I give this film a 4/5.

  • A very fine WWII North Africa movie

    • Randi Brewer
    • 7/22/11

    I have always loved this movie. Franchot Tone is convincing as a cripple and the other actors do a great job as well. Eric Von Stroheim plays a good Rommel. Billy Wilder's direction is always the best! Anything to do with North Africa, WWII, the Brisith versus the Germans is fascinating to me. I sincerely wish this movie was on DVD as I would buy it for my growing DVD collection. This is great WWII historyd.

  • Well Acted

    • Barclay
    • 7/19/11

    great movie,starring Franchot

  • Much better than the synopsis

    • Tammy
    • 4/30/11

    a great movie, really.

  • A Classic!

    • Muggs
    • 6/15/10

    This is one of the best little known films ever. Good cast , good direction, and great story line. Needs to be on home video.

  • Great Movie!

    • David Jackson
    • 4/24/10

    I saw this movie this afternoon for the first time. I thought it was very entertaining. I really enjoyed the performances by all the cast. I'm glad TCM showed it, and I'm glad I saw it.

  • Five Graves To Cairo

    • Joe Robinson
    • 1/7/10

    While channel searching one night, I almost passed over one of the great hidden perfomances in front of as well as behind the camera! How could a film like this go so "under the radar". I need to find a copy. The entire cast was great!Thanks, Joe Robinson

  • 5 Graves

    • Art Hansen
    • 1/1/10

    The 5 graves is an excellantly executed movie. Franchot Tone an Ann Baxter give great performances. Tone as Branch/Davos while Baxter is wonderful as the Frenchwoman who is an unwilling compatriot of Tone.

  • Sadly seldom seen

    • Georgia Daves
    • 6/11/09

    I've seen this film only once on TCM years ago. I still remember it and have been searching for it ever since. A sentimental favorite that deserves to be much more will known.

  • A must show.

    • Robert Campbell
    • 6/6/09

    I put this movie down in the "suggest a movie section". I think it is a higly underrated Wilder movie. All of his other movies are shown numerously each year on TCM and other channels that show classic movies in the course of a year. Yet I've only seen this movie(Five Graves to Cairo)on TV one time in my life and I'm 40 years old.Could you good people at TCM rectify this grievous injustice that's long overdue for this great movie.

  • A Wonderful Film

    • Danny
    • 11/16/08

    One of the best War films ever made.A wonderful cast of actors.

  • WHY ISNT THIS SHOWN!!!

    • bing142
    • 11/15/08

    It drives me crazy that I cant get this movie! Stronheim at his sarcastic best!

  • BEST MOVIE THAT IS NOT SHOWN ON TCM !

    • BERNARD DEL BELLO
    • 1/23/07

    This is a wonderful movie,with excellent actors and a fine director.There is plenty of suspense.I first saw it when first released at age eight or nine , and now i own the vhs tape and enjoy it at age seventy-one. why doesn't tcm show it ?

  • what's not to like?

    • wade mcdowell
    • 1/3/07

    good screenplay,good actors and performances far from y0ur average run of the mill movie about the war ( made in 1943) action, suspense, and drama highlight this film.

  • A great all around movie.

    • Gus Ruiz
    • 6/2/06

    Billy Wilder directing...Franchot Tone..Erick Von Stroheim and Anne Baxter as actors, make this movie a unforgetable experience. I hope DVD producers recognize the importance and quality of this little cinema jewell, and soon transfer to DVD. They may not make a lot of money on sales but, they will contribute to preserve a great film, for generations of movie lovers all over the world. colorado

  • Great movie

    • marine
    • 1/20/06

    This ais a movie out on tape some time back but should be out on DVD. It is a good movie and has great actors and actress

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.