skip navigation
Cannery Row

Cannery Row(1982)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Cannery Row A marine biologist falls for a... MORE > $19.98 Regularly $19.98 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • The very best

    • Rick
    • 7/9/11

    The characters are so memorable that the movie is my all time favorite. The seer and his relationship to the Doc says everything about the people "on the row." This needs to be reintroduced to the public and put on DVD!

  • Thank you for making this on DVD!

    • NK
    • 4/13/09

    This is a heartwarming and hilarious movie. My kids watched this as teenagers over and over again until we wore out the VHS tape. It has so many funny moments and lot's of little "finds" within the film, such as the"sequined hands" on the shoulders of Debra Winger'sdress in the dinner scene. My family will be so excitedto get this DVD!!! We have looked for many years for another chance to see this movie.

  • The critics missed this one

    • WB
    • 11/30/08

    This movie got roundly panned by the critics when it came out, so few people saw it, but they missed a classic. Ornamenting a fundamental American/Christian theme -- redemption -- are vignettes that are touching, hilarious and mythical -- the collective communal memory (real or imagined) of an isolated community of lovable, fallible, impoverished misfits -- squatters in the ruins of vanished fishing prosperity. Endowed with the atmosphere of myth by the deadpan narration of John Huston. Is it Steinbeck? Who cares?

  • A gem of a movie.

    • Ron
    • 8/28/08

    This is a gem of a movie. While not exactly true to Steinbeck's books, it absolutely captures their feeling. Why isn't everybody begging to see it again or that it be released on DVD? Simple: almost nobody has ever seen it.

  • cannery row

    • audrey
    • 3/26/08

    great movie!!! nolte & winger were great togather. movie should be on dvd.

  • I never tire of this one

    • Bill
    • 2/27/08

    This is a charming meld and adaptation of Steinbeck's Cannery Row and Sweet Thursday. If you've read the novels you won't be a bit bothered by the screenplay's departure from them. If you haven't read the books, you'll love this movie's warmth, charm and humor. John Huston's narration puts it over the top. If anyone ever pays attention to these reviews or votes, you may someday have the opportunity to enjoy this one on DVD.

  • Cannery Row A+ Classic

    • Skip Rains
    • 1/7/08

    Stinbeck's classic study of human joy and tragedy of the 1930's and 1940's in the depressed fishing area of California this movie has a great musical score and story

  • Cannery Row a Must See

    • Dan
    • 12/9/07

    This is a classic, one of the best ever. Great cast and directing and a great human interest story.This needs to be put on DVD to make available to everyone wanting to see a great movie.

  • Cannery Row.....on DVD....please!!

    • Stacy
    • 11/14/07

    I agree with Peg and Mac. PLEASE....make this available on DVD. It's a classic and I would love to give to my husband as a gift. Thank you!

  • Cannery Row on DVD

    • Peg
    • 3/31/07

    This is one of the best movies of all times. Great acting, directing and stellar sound track (wish I could purchase it). I just bought a tape of the movie on ebay. Would love to get a DVD. Who do we have to beg to get this?

  • My all-time favorite.

    • Mac MacAllister
    • 12/30/06

    Heart-warming story, great cast and direction, and suberbly crafted. Please, someone, make this available on DVD or show it on TCM.

  • It's a shame it's not on DVD

    • Bob Cuff
    • 12/17/06

    This is a very entertaining fell good movie and why it has been ignored by those that provide home DVD's is a huge shame. One can only hope that Turner Classic Movies can light a fire under their backsides and Cannery Row will come to home DVD.

  • Cannery Row should be on DVD!

    • Judy
    • 9/22/06

    I cannot believe the garbage movies you can purchase on DVD, but a classic like Cannery Row is ignored. It's a wonderful movie that is true to the flavor of John Steinbeck's writing. Kind of a blend between his books Sweet Thursday and Cannery Row. Definitely worth seeing.

  • Cannery Row Should Not Be Forgotten

    • Rick
    • 3/23/06

    This very entertaining movie starring Nick Nolte and Debra Winger should be available for new generations to enjoy. It has remained one of my favorites since its release. Nolte's character "Doc" was particularly endearing. This movie has so many interesting characters. John Huston's narration is the icing on the cake. I don't understand why it has remained overlooked.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.