skip navigation
The Firefly

The Firefly(1937)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

The Firefly A Spanish spy masquerades as a... MORE > $19.99 Regularly $19.99 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Best of Jeanette

    • Claire
    • 7/4/10

    Jeanette and Allan Jones were glorious together. Unlike the stiff, wooden Nelson Eddy, Jones could actually act and he was much easier on the eyes. Jeanette MacDonald is my all time favorite actress but I get sick of her only being remembered as half of a singing team. She was so much more than that and this movie proves it. Oh, if she could only have had Allan as her leading man in ALL the movies she made with Nelson Eddy....

  • One of the best!!

    • eleanor wier
    • 11/4/09

    One of my favorite movies of all times--not only does Allan Jones have glorious voice, but he has a great smile, and is soooo handsome!! He and Jeanette McDonald were wonderful together.Nelson Eddy? who's he?

  • Great Flick

    • Steve
    • 7/26/09

    I always enjoy good singing, and this has it. Did not know that this was the origin of "Donkey Serenade" which I've heard many times, but not seen in its original context. Very nice opportunity.

  • Betty's right!

    • Ed
    • 3/8/09

    This is probably an overlooked classic, what with Jeannette MacDonald and all. Anyway, Donkey wit Allan Jones was a classic hit in its day and it would be be great to hear it in its original setting. So Pl-e-e-ze ? I suspect there are a lot of other Bettys and Eds out there that you will make happy. Thanks, you've been good before so be good again, eh.

  • Time is running out for me

    • betty
    • 1/6/09

    I have been asking for 3 years that you show The Firefly (1937)McDonald&Jones...there are so many movies you REPEAT month after month but you can't seem to find a slot for this wonderful entertaningmuscial. Why is that????

  • MY UNCLE WAS IN THE MOVIE AS A KID

    • FRANK JURADO
    • 12/2/08

    I would like to see the movie on tc ,to see my uncle as a kid.they were alter boy's in the movie my uncle has past on frank lopez rest in peace.

  • the firefly, awesome.

    • julio cana
    • 9/21/08

    when can I expect to see this movie on TCM?

  • great old musical

    • richard
    • 7/30/08

    One of Jeanette's least shown moviesit needs to be seen

  • Beautiful Music, fun to watch

    • Johnnye
    • 11/27/06

    This was the first time I knew where some of the songs came from that I have loved since I was a child and heard them on records my parents owned. The relationship between Jeanette MacDonald and Allen Jones was fun to watch and the dialogue witty.

  • to late

    • betty
    • 5/6/06

    Always love Jeanette with Nelson but when I saw her with Allen Jones I was surprised that the people in charge at the time didn't see that he could ACT and really complmented Jeanette in this movie....Now 70 years later I can see and maybe others can too that this movie could have been appreciated even today and not seemed hammy (as the ones with Nelson do ) toour new generation..that is if they could appreciate the lovely music these movies showcased.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.