skip navigation
Fire Sale

Fire Sale(1977)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Fire Sale Benny and his wife Ruthie a... MORE > $12.95 Regularly $19.98 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Fire Sale -nonstop hilarity!

    • Mim
    • 5/4/14

    Crazy good film. Seen in 1977 -would love to see it again. I highly recommend the film -it well worth the time.

  • Funny as hell

    • Jason
    • 1/3/14

    I saw this a few years ago as my dad always talked highly of it and was always upset no video release well before he passed it showed on TV and we recorded it funny as hell

  • Great movie

    • David Thomas ebell
    • 12/14/13

    Very funny movie, Great!!!

  • Need the DVD!!

    • Wes
    • 3/18/13

    I saw this movie when it was released in 1977. It was showing opposite Star Wars at the 2 screen movie theater. There was no line for the movie (obviously) and I thought it was one of the funniest movies I had ever seen. Only saw it once more on TV in the 80's. I keep checking for a release, but have not seen one. I will not give up. I finally got my George of the Jungle/Super Chicken/Tom Slick collection (funniest cartoons made).

  • Fire Sale Just plain fun and laughter.

    • Demetri Halkas
    • 2/3/13

    I love Alan Arkin But he is not the only reason this movie is so great. It is just a super funny movie with non stop laughter. And the guy who plays his brother had my rolling on the floor with his performance as well. I think he played meathead , Archie Bunker's Son-in-Law.I wish I can find this movie on DVD, it is a classic.

  • Fire Sale

    • Gregg
    • 1/4/12

    Unfortunitly Alan Arkin won't claim he was in this movie, I once was able to ask him about why it has not been released on DVD.His comment was "FIRE WHAT" He thanked me for my liking the film , but he took a lot of heat from the bad reviews, and did not want to talk about this comedy ever again.To bad , cause I really enjoyed his work behind the seans as well as on.As for ever being able to see this movie uncut .I was able to record it to my Dish Network Satilite Reciver, which I inturned saved it to my external hard drive, on the "MGM" channel back in April 2011, in widescreen and unedited, "WHAT A COUNTRY".So reviewer Gerri, check to see if your brodcast provider has the MGM network in there line up, and keep looking out for this sleeper.GOOOOOOOOD LUCK

  • Firesale 1977 Movie release to dvd

    • david t
    • 6/12/11

    I would Love to see fox release it on dvd . I last seen it on amc on cable and thought it was very funny . I was laughing my rear off . I have contacted fox about its release to dvd video . I don't no what there going to say , But you never know if you dont try . I would do the same , you people also need to email them too so you make them aware that people will buy it if they release it from film format to dvd . I dont know if they ever released it On VHS Tape . But I check ebay all the time and never see up there . I am game , if you release it fox I will buy it .

  • Fire Sale

    • Jack Streicher
    • 5/9/11

    Will this movie be shown again on your TCM network and whenjQuery151017600745813507423_1304972850458?? Would like to buy a DVD of it....

  • Ulitmate Comedy

    • Lynda
    • 4/3/11

    A real "comedy sleeper"! I have been searching for this hilarious movie for years. I saw it once on a Late Night TV broadcast in 1980. The shenanigans in this movie are the most laughable I have ever seen. I laughed until I cried. Very typical Sid Caesar and Alan Arkin in comedic roles. The rest of the cast were great!!! If ever available as a single or even in an Alan Arkin combo selection, I would purchase it in a heartbeat. I hope that TCM will consider it as the world could use more laughter!

  • This moview is hysterical

    • Mark Rosen
    • 10/8/10

    I thought this movie was absolutely hilarious when I saw it. I would love if it came out on DVD as I would definitely purchase it. Great cast. Improbable plot, but very entertaining.

  • Funniest Movie

    • Gerri Mullendore
    • 11/7/09

    I'm really not sure why this never really took hold. As I rememebr, the first scene starts in the dark and you hear a funny sound, then the sound of a hair dryer. When the lights come on this old guy is using the hair dryer to warm up the toilet seat. I would love to see this again. Hardly anyone has even seen or heard of this. I'm crossing my fingers that they might decide to bring it out on DVD, or show it on TV.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.