skip navigation
Female on the Beach

Female on the Beach(1955)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Female on the Beach Lynn Markham moves into her... MORE > $19.98 Regularly $19.98 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Good movie for Joan fans

    • Misty
    • 3/3/13

    This is good movie for JC fans. Not her best but a good film. She looks great.

  • Female on the Beach airing on HBO !!!

    • Mike Curtis
    • 6/4/12

    HBO Signature aired this fine movie on Sunday, June 3, 2012 at 0415. It is showing again on June 7 and June 29 this 2012. Don't miss it! Shown in widescreen with closed captioning.

  • Grande Dame On The Beach.

    • DougieB
    • 3/10/12

    Joan Crawford had probably the longest continuous acting career of any major American movie star, but that doesn't mean all the movies were good or all the roles appropriate. As she aged, she still gravitated to roles intended for younger actresses and the severity of her personal appearance in her attempt to keep the signs of aging under control was accompanied by a much more severe acting style as well. Her delivery became more clipped and she often barked out her lines, when she wasn't dissolving into a puddle of soft-focus tears. There was no middle ground left in her performances and her dramatic roles took on a depressing sameness, often with a disturbing masochistic streak, such as in "Autumn Leaves" around this same time. In that film, as well as in "Sudden Fear" and "The Story of Esther Costello", we see a masochist/victim Joan struggling mightily against a (usually) younger man who is in some way threatening her. Here it's Jeff Chandler, though his doughy kind of masculinity makes him more cuddly than menacing. Natalie Schaefer does a great turn as the meddling neighbor with ulterior motives. Ulterior motives are what this movie is all about and Joan is given many moments of uncertainty in which she can fret for the camera, as the spooky neighbors hover over her every move. This is hokum pure and simple, but entertaining, with a titillating hint of sleaze in the idea of men being kept by women. I hereby join the chorus of people here who are asking for this to be shown. Not all movies need to be "art" to be satisfying and sometimes the kind of messy morality plays which both Joan Crawford and Lana Turner specialized in during their late careers can be just the thing you want to see.

  • female on the beach

    • judy
    • 3/2/11

    Great movie. Saw it the first time when I was 12 yrs old. Was in love with Jeff Chandler from then on. What a man, what a hunk! This was a great thriller movie. Joan Crawford and Jeff Chandler did have a lot of chemistry in this movie. I do hope this will be put on DVD. I will be one of the first to buy it. I named my son Jeff.

  • Female on the Beach - 1955

    • suetta sanders
    • 11/5/10

    This is great viewing withheld from the movie buffs!! Joan is great and Jeff Hunter is awesomely good looking!!! The clothing was out of this world!! I collect Joan Crawford movies and this surely needs a home with me!! There's strength in numbers, so fans lets' keep requesting another look at Mr. Handsome himself!!!!!!

  • Female on the Beach (1955)

    • Celia Trimboli
    • 4/1/10

    GREAT trashy movie. Typical of the 50's. Love the idea of a 50-something Joan Crawford passing herself as a 20 or 30-something. Jeff Chandler is always good but it is hard to believe that the women in this movie would virtually lose their minds over him. Near the end of the film Chandler's partners show up with their new gigolo, Ed Fury. Now he's more believable as a male escort.

  • Great and rewarding

    • Kathy
    • 3/16/10

    I saw this movie many years ago and wish it would come out on DVD! It would be a best seller. Joan Crawford and Jeff Chandler are at their best and there are every bit the chemistry you desire in great actors and actresses of the 1950's. To one who loves to collect movies, this movie, Female on the Beach, would be a classic to save for a life time.

  • Brilliant!

    • Sharon
    • 12/26/09

    I have seen this movie at least 10 times in my 55 years on this earth and it is my favorite of all times. The actors give brilliant interpretations of their characters. The plot gives this movie an edge that Hitchcock himself would have loved. Brilliant!

  • Crawford & Chandler - A great Mix

    • Maryann
    • 12/8/09

    I saw this movie about 2 years ago and was so happy I did, it was fabulous! I am a big Joan fan. I was telling my sister-in-law about it and she caught it during the day and watched it with her 15 year old and they both loved it. Joan is great and so is Jeff Chandler. Very suspenseful, romantic and mysterious, everything I love. I would highly recommend Female On The Beach, its a very vulnerable Joan, which you don't see very often if you know what I mean!

  • Classic Crawford

    • James A Butler
    • 8/31/09

    Fortunately, I caught "Female on the Beach" years ago on AMC (before they ruined the channel with commercials!). I recorded it and enjoy watching it from time to time. For those of you wondering why TCM doesn't show the film, it's probably because it's not in the TCM film library. As for DVD release, sometimes the rights to older movies are held by companies that have no desire to release them to DVD (if they don't think it can be profitable, they'd rather sit on the rights). Someday, someone will release an extensive box set of Crawford films and "Female on the Beach" is sure to be in it!

  • Female on the Beach

    • Gail
    • 6/1/09

    Since this is not available on Home Video check it out at a Film Noir Festival. It is very cool to watch in a theatre with other fans. This is OVER the top Joan Crawford. With a great twist ending...

  • Good Mystery

    • Bonnie
    • 3/30/09

    I love Joan Crawford and this mystery. I'd love to have this on DVD. Many of my video tapes bought new "99-2004 have faded and developed static although stored in the living area of my home (& not a hot attic or damp basement). DVD's still play great and if recorded from TV with no chapters, one can skip ahead quickly to the approx. scene.

  • I WANT THIS MOVIE!!!

    • Loria Williams
    • 10/10/08

    I'm in my late 40's and I saw this movie when I was about 30 yrs. old. It became one of my favorites right away. Every since then I look and hope to see it on TCM and i've lucked up a couple of times. I tell my friends, "you gotta see this movie, I know you'll love it." I've tried to find it/order it from movie rentals but no luck. Please, I don't care if it's VHS or DVD I just want it.

  • Commentary on "Female on the Beach"

    • Steve Pallady
    • 3/11/08

    Why isn't "Female on the Beach" available on home video. We prefer VCR tapes rather than DVD's because they are easier to play. VCR tapes have stronger volume than DVD's & offer equal picture quality. Also, VCR tapes can be left in a certain position for later viewing of the rest of the film. DVD's irritatingly always return to the beginning & require reviewing of all the previewing. "Female on the Beach" offers an intriguing beach setting & a fascinating plot structure. It is one of Jeff Chandler's last movies, and he is excellent in it. Joan also is marvelous. Please bring us this superb & suspenseful film on VHS. Thanks in advance!Sincerely,Steve Pallady

  • WHEN WILL THIS MOVIE BE RELEASED?

    • BOB FRISCH
    • 10/29/07

    Like most old movie collectors, I was wondering when this movie will be coming out. Please e-mail me with a release date. On DVD of course.

  • What a great 30th anniversary present

    • patti
    • 10/19/07

    My husband and I love this movie. It is not available on DVD -- we know; we have looked for years.It would be a great present to give my husband if you would show it for us.

  • Yes, Female On The Beach

    • Ms.Bon
    • 8/27/07

    This is at least the 20th time in one year that I've requesting TCM to show this movie. There are over 800 votes for this film to be released on DVD so there are many other people interested, too.To B.Stage: Sudden Fear is available on DVD.

  • FEMALE ON THE BEACH

    • B. STAGE
    • 8/25/07

    I HAVE SUGGESTED THIS MOVIE TIME AND TIME AGAIN, BUT YOU GUYS NEVER SHOW IT, WHY??? THIS IS ONE OF JOAN CRAWFORD'S BEST MOVIES. ALL HER MOVIES ARE JUST GREAT, BUT THIS ONE IS TOPS!!! THIS MOVIE HAS MYSTERY, ROMANCE, AND EVERYTHING THAT MAKES A GREAT MOVIE, BUT YOU NEVER SHOW IT. PLEASE, PLEASE CONSIDER SHOWING IT SOON. YOU ARE MY FAVORITE MOVIE CHANNEL, THE ONLY REASON THAT I AM PAYING FOR CABLE, SO PLEASE , PLEASE DON'T LET ME DOWN, PLEASE PLAY IT AND SOON...THANKS P.S. ANOTHER GREAT MOVIE IS SUDDEN FEAR, ALSO BY JOAN. MAYBE YOU CAN SHOW THEM BOTH. THANKS, B.STAGE

  • One of Joan's best.

    • Jerrye
    • 8/6/07

    Female on the Beach is one of my favoriteJoan Crawford movies. Ms. Crawford aptly portrays the desperation felt by a a lonely woman and all of the emotions that this evokes.

  • It's about time

    • Maryann Striffolino
    • 6/28/07

    I can't find this movie on VHS, DVD and its not shown on TCM. This is a great movie. A wonderful job done by Joan Crawford and Jeff Chandler. It needs to make a come back. People will love it. It was shown about 5 years ago on AMC. Please bring it back!!!

  • Female on the Beach

    • AJAD
    • 3/30/07

    I haven't viewed that movie in many, many years, but I still remember I enjoyed the movie. Will it ever been shown on TCM?

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.