skip navigation
A Feather in Her Hat

A Feather in Her Hat(1935)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

Shop tcm.com

A Feather in Her... - NOT AVAILABLE

Crying Boy

VOTE FOR THIS TITLE:
Our records indicate this title is not available on Home Video. Vote below for it to be released on DVD.

  1. Total votes: vote now!
  2. Rank: (why vote?)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • A Feather In Their Hats

    • Ms Lord
    • 9/1/12

    May not be considered a great film,but I love it,esp Basil

  • Feather The Nest

    • Dave Roget
    • 6/26/12

    I always enjoy this film,and hope it continues to be shown more often.It's a gem.

  • Feather Your Nest

    • Davs Neverly
    • 6/14/12

    I think this film could be successfully remade.Basil more attractive than Niven or Louis.Pauline Lord great actress.Niven always leaves me wondering what could've been the attraction.The Errol Flynn relationship?Seems like a user of friends,tho' he seemed to speak respectfully of Rathbone in his memoirs.

  • Stuck A Feather In Her Hat

    • Macaroni
    • 6/14/12

    Mother may know best,but she had help from the Capt,and they should've married.Sad how much she sacrificed for son,as much as any other screen mother,but at least she was appreciated for everything by a grateful son,unlike Mildred Pierce by witchy Veedaroot.Could be improved upon,but Basil is lovely in the role in his acting and his looks.Quite distinguished

  • A Mother Sacrifices Her Future For Son's

    • The Playwriter
    • 6/14/12

    6/13/12 Basil Rathbone salute.He looked quite attractive in this part,showed what an actor he was.Loved Pauline Lord,they looked good together.Not convinced Richard belonged with the rich girl,as I prefer Emily.Shame Rathbone looked too old in 1960's,but he had a good run,except for smoking fags too much,shortens the life.

  • A Feather

    • Courtney and Phipps
    • 6/13/12

    Touching story of a mother's devotion and sacrifice for a better life for a loving son.Would've loved a happy ending for mother and her man.Watch and enjoy.Ever notice a similarity between Rathbone and Niven's features?The only way I tolerated most Niven pictures was thinking of some resemblance

  • A Feather In Someone's Cap

    • Capt Courtenay
    • 6/8/12

    Enjoyed seeing this well-acted film.Basil as Capt Courtney made me intrigued.Errol Flynn played a Capt Courtney in The Dawn Patrol.but here,Rathbone looks more attractive than Flynn,to me.Too bad he and Clarissa never got their own place in the country,their story seemed more interesting than the son pining for little miss rich one.

  • The Sensitive Side of Basil Rathbone!

    • muriel schwenck
    • 6/28/11

    The ultimate mother who does everything to ensure her son has better opportunities and becomes a gentleman in the old fashioned british sense. Great film. Rathbone gets to play a sensitive, kind gentleman, damaged by WW1, who happens to drink A LOT, but helps the son reach his full potential. Great ensemble cast. Touching melodrama, don't miss it.

  • Love that Basil

    • Barclay
    • 6/2/11

    He's quite handsome in this film.Not a bad story,rather touching in a way.

  • A Feather in her hat

    • robert stacey
    • 1/25/11

    Riveting. Last night this film was shown on a new digital channel in Los Angeles. Not as good quality as that on TCM of course but a chance to see a great movie. Reminded me of the old films I watched on Denvers new tv stations in the 50's. Don't miss this one if you get the opportunity to see it.

  • Truly well-acted

    • BR fan
    • 9/18/10

    Very touching,well worth seeing again.Basil Rathbone's lines at the end just got to me,thinking of the love of my life,and what should have been.

  • An Enjoyable Old Film

    • B
    • 9/16/10

    Sit back, relax, enjoy. I wasn't disappointed, acting great. Loved Basil with the gray hair, not bad!

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.