skip navigation
The Fallen Idol

The Fallen Idol(1948)

  • Tuesday, February 10 @ 02:15 PM (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
Up
Down

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

Shop tcm.com

The Fallen Idol - NOT AVAILABLE

Crying Boy

VOTE FOR THIS TITLE:
Our records indicate this title is not available on Home Video. Vote below for it to be released on DVD.

  1. Total votes: vote now!
  2. Rank: (why vote?)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Homage to Citizen Kane?

    • muklaga
    • 9/29/12

    I just viewed this film and really enjoyed it. Did anyone notice the appearance of a shrieking bird, then an immediate cut away, when Mrs. Baine's name was mentioned? I think this occurred at the zoo. This is very similar to the famous cockatoo in Citizen Kane.

  • Brilliant cast, brilliant direction.

    • lcs
    • 9/29/12

    The scene with the hairpin will make you jump out of your skin the first time seen. Carol Reed had a way of catching you off-guard at your most vulnerable moment, similar to Hitchcock.

  • The Fallen Idol

    • Dashiell Barnes
    • 7/13/12

    An exceptional & well-acted thriller. Richardson is perfect as a sensetive butler who's idolized by young Henrey, who although convincing, is obnoxious. The embassy building is equally energetic & dark, matched by director Reed's & screenwriter's Greene's Oscar-nominated work in creating an engaging story. The film showcases the ability of Reed & Greene to create an excellent thriller, as proven by their next film, "The Third Man." I give it a 4/5.

  • Well worth the wait

    • Yo Ralphie
    • 4/15/12

    Have heard that the movie was good,but it's really great.The young lad is good,not trying in the least.Enjoyed seeing Bernard Lee in a small part.

  • fallen idol

    • leanne
    • 4/14/12

    this movie is now my new favorite! I was disappointed not to hear Robert and Drew Barrymore comments because of tcm film festival update

  • the fallen idol

    • Minerva
    • 3/31/11

    good suspense movie, well-acted. no dull moment. the story thru the eyes of a child and mistaken perceptions. humor at the end when the investigator asked the boy if he likes to have a secret.

  • The Fallen Idol

    • Janie
    • 3/31/11

    We missed it when it was on March 30, 2011. This is a great movie and I want my husband to see it. I hope you will play it again soon. I'll have my tivo ready and hope the power stays on next time. It would be wonderful if you could buy a quality DVD of it.Wonderful cast, great acting produces a great movie.Must see movie !!!

  • Superb choice for mystery buffs

    • dick cloonan
    • 1/8/09

    Delightful movie because of the expertise of the actors and very fine camera work .I was very surprised at the ending ,although I shouldn't have been surprised .Graham Greene is famous for his superb literature .

  • Finally on TCM!

    • Laurie
    • 1/5/09

    Can't wait to see this great move again! Viewed on local PBS station years ago and have been on the look-out since. Hope all TCM viewers add it to the list of the fav's! Thanks, TCM!!!

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.