skip navigation
The Eddy Duchin Story

The Eddy Duchin Story(1956)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

The Eddy Duchin Story The famed pianist loses the... MORE > $19.99 Regularly $19.99 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Good Movie full of Nostalgic Moments

    • Kris
    • 6/3/14

    I just got a copy of this, watched it and thoroughly enjoyed it. The music was especially good and the scenes where the couple were walking through Central Park were very nostalgic. Movie legend, Tyrone Power, neither swashed nor buckled here but gave a character portrayal in three dimensions. This is a terrific depiction of someone famous and Power was excellent in the role and made Duchin come alive. His impersonation of the pianist was so good you would swear he is playing piano. The ending scenes with his son are touching and he and the boy played by Rex Thompsone both very moving in them. Get your hankies ready! The other actors and musicians were good too, including Kim Novak who was beautiful and heartbreaking as the doomed young wife.

  • Eddy Duchin Biopic

    • dcb
    • 7/26/13

    Tyrone Power turns in a fine heartfelt performance as Eddy Duchin a man he knew personally. Especially moving is the scene where in war torn Asis he teaches the little boy to play piano. Joyous and heartbreaking all at once. The actor was doing great work when suddenly he died a few years later. A shame. Beautiful New York plays its enchanting self. A very popular picture when it premired the 1950s.

  • The Eddy Duchin Story

    • Cheryl Christian Gonzalez
    • 4/3/13

    Tyrone Power's acting was excellent as always. The movie was powerful as well as moving. The story line was great. A wonderful example of what Bette Davis comment about todays movies. She said movies are getting to real. They were never meant to be real. They were suppose to take you away. Just another example of: 'you have not seen any real acting until you have seen an old movie'.

  • Romance in Central Park

    • Harold Berdiansky
    • 2/24/13

    In 1956, Robert and I snuck into Baltimore's Uptown Theatre on a Saturday afternoon to meet girls. I never talked to any girls that afternoon nor did I pay much attention to Robert. For all I know he could have met his future wife there. What I did encounter was and remains for me the finest romantic film I have ever encountered in over a half century of movie addiction.The romantic interlude in Central Park introduced audiences to the musical montage. It was the first time I heard the song "I'll take Romance." Years later, I heard Oscar Hammerstein's lyrics to that song of first love. The words may or may not be spectacular. I can't judge them objectively. They always take me back to that day a 12 year old saw Marjorie and Eddie strolling through a deserted Central Park in the rain and finally seeing a reflection of their first kiss in a puddle of water as clear and pure as their love,

  • Hiding Eddy Duchin's Jewish Background, Why?

    • Michael Dudnikov
    • 10/5/10

    Eddy Duchin was the son of Ukranian Jewish immigrants. No mention is made of this except for a surreptitious reference at the moment in the story where Eddy's parents meet Marjorie Oelrichs (Kim Novak) during a scene in a night club. Eddy mentions that his parents are Romanian immigrants and after learning that Eddy and Marjorie will wed, Eddy's mother says to them mazel tov(good luck in Hebrew and Yiddish). This was something that almost all Jewish movie goers would have picked up on, but it would have passed unnoticed by virtually all gentiles, who would have considered it to be some Romanian phrase they were not aware of. Why was this done, hard to say. In his book Ghost of a Chance: A Memoir, Peter Duchin states that unlike in the movie, not everyone greeted the wedding of Eddy and Marjorie with applause. Shortly after the marriage most of Marjorie's wealthy friends began to shun her and her Jewish husband. As in the movie Peter was raised by some upper class friends of his late mother. Though unlike the situation for the every other character in the movie, that wealthy couple was given a fictitious name, the Wadsworths. In reality Duchin was raised for a number of years by W. Averell Harriman and his second wife Marie, who accorded him the status of honorary WASP, and allowed to study music at Hotchkiss and Yale. Peter did follow in his father's footsteps becoming a pianist and successful bandleader, releasing many well selling albums and making numerous television appearances. Eventually he became someone who provided the music at the parties and events staged by high society and Hollywood celebs. He also states in the book that he recalls feeling "pretty beat up and confused." after seeing this movie. And he also talks of how Harriman's third wife (Pamela) tried very hard and met with success in destroying his close relationship with his "second father", Averell Harriman, who served as Governor of N. Y. and in the Truman cabinet.

  • Th Eddy Duchin Story (1956)

    • Jay
    • 3/5/09

    Very well made biopic, but a little over the top with the dramatics. Tyrone Power tries, but the casting could have been better. Good music and sound. Nicely photographed.

  • moving

    • Twila
    • 2/21/07

    this will bring love and sadness to see father and son united in love and in talent

  • Nothing Short of Terrific!

    • Lyn
    • 1/6/07

    I am so glad that TCM played this movie. It is nothing short of terrific.The music is beautiful, as is the love story. Tyrone Power was remarkable inhis portrayal of Eddie Duchin. The movie also featured Kim Novak in one of her most sensitive performances. What a great screen couple!

  • What a Wonderful Film

    • Lisa
    • 1/5/07

    I really enjoyed watching The Eddie Duchin Story Jan. 3rd on TCM. What a great , but so sad film. Tyrone Power was at his best. I'm looking forward to seeing more of his movies on TCM in the future. Thanks again for airing such a classic film.

  • Dream of a movie for music lovers!

    • Jean
    • 1/5/07

    Music of Eddy Duchin and later son, Peter, was in a class by itself!! They both were "society" entertainers. Tyrone Power's portrayal was on the money - a real classy actor! Piano sounded like Carmen Cavallero played for Mr. Power - same style.

  • GREAT FILM

    • Michele
    • 1/5/07

    Wonderful story and a real tearjerker. Highly recommended. I am glad TCM showed it. My only complaint is that Tyrone Power looked older in the beginning when he was supposed to be younger and younger when he was supposed to be older. More attention should have been paid, as he gave a great performance.

  • Wonderful heart wrenching story

    • Abby
    • 1/4/07

    This movie was great, it keeps you believing in the power of love and to never give up. Tyrone Power is as always, excellent in this role. It's the kind of story that I wish they would put on screen today.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.