skip navigation
Duck Soup

Duck Soup(1933)

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Duck Soup When he's named dictator... MORE > $59.98 Regularly $59.98 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Duck Soup

    • John
    • 8/2/13

    Overall- 3 1/2 out of 5Lead Performers-4/5Supporting Cast-3/5Director-4/5Score-3/5Screenplay-3/5Cinematography-3/5Importance-4/5Recommendation for fans of genre-3/5

  • My Favorite Comedy Film

    • Alex Krajci
    • 10/13/12

    This Is My Favorite Comedy Film, I Like The Mirror Scene In This Film.

  • Last of the Paramount Marxes

    • Dan Grissom
    • 8/12/12

    The fifth and final Marx Brothers Paramount film is probably their best of the 13 films they made. When they went to MGM Irving Thalberg changed how the Marxes made movies by adding love interests for them to help out. This was supposed to give the audience a reason to route for the brothers. I prefer the Paramount approach of 'everyone's fair game' for the Marx's crazy humor. Mussolini banned 'Duck Soup' in Italy and its easy to see why as the Marx Brothers destroy everything in sight with their targeted humor. Even the musical numbers are funny! This movie is a must see for anyone who enjoys comedy films! Five stars!

  • Duck Soup

    • Dashiell Barnes
    • 6/6/12

    The Funniest film from the brothers. Their performances & timing for the gags are enough for everybody to enjoy. The film takes aim at dictatorships & politics that's overshadowed, but not buried by the comedy. A must- see for fans of the Marx Bros. I give it a 4.5/5.

  • Duck Soup

    • Mark Sutch
    • 4/12/11

    ***1/2

  • Greatest American Comedy

    • Mr D
    • 7/7/10

    We praise this film as a great satire, but should remember that it was released at a time when most Americans considered Hitler & Mussolini to be comical European would-be Napoleons and didn't take them seriously yet as real threats to our very way of life. To me the highlights of Duck Soup are (1) Groucho's pun-filled Hail Hail Freedonia song (2) the iconic running gag of Harpo driving the motorbike with Groucho in the sidecar that inevitably gets left behind (3) the immortal Mirror Scene that astonishes everytime I watch it. If you asked me for the two greatest American comedies ever, I wouldn't have to think about it - I'd tell you right away Some Like It Hot and Duck Soup.5 Stars - required viewing.

  • Essential War/Political Satire

    • Bruce Reber
    • 6/14/10

    "Duck Soup" (1933) starring the Marx Brothers is one of the best satires on war and politics ever made, along with Charlie Chaplin's classic "The Great Dictator" (1940) and Stanley Kubrick's dark doomsday comedy "Dr. Strangelove - Or How I Learned To Stop Worrying And Love The Bomb!" (1964). "Duck Soup" has been featured twice on TCM Essentials - the first time in 2002 and again in 2006, if I remember correctly. It's the Marx Brothers at their zaniest best in a comedy about the two tiny countries of Freedonia and Sylvania and how they are drawn into war against each other by the outrageous antics of Freedonian president Rufus T. Firefly (Groucho). I heard that the title "Duck Soup" came from Groucho when he made a joke that if you took various ingredients (I don't know what they were) and put them in a pot and cooked them, it would make you want to DUCK SOUP forever. I also heard that the film was such a flop both with critics and audiences that Paramount dropped the Marx Brothers, with the result that they signed with MGM and made some of their best films there. Four Stars for "Duck Soup".

  • Duck Soup (1933)

    • James Higgins
    • 4/11/10

    Although this was a box office disappointment, it was far from a flop as user Frank Harris Horn states. (Wikipedia has a good article on the film). One of the Marx Brothers best and wackiest films, it is non stop hilarity and contains many of their often seen classic scenes.Harpo steals just about every scene he is in. Wonderfully written by Bert Kalmar and Harry Ruby, Leo McCarey's direction keeps the film at a lightning pace. Good supporting cast. A wonderful must see classic. Only flaw are some awkward musical interludes.

  • The Marxes' Depression-era Bombshell.

    • Frank Harris Horn
    • 3/21/10

    The Marx Brothers' nonsensical political satire costed them their berth at Paramount, when the movie was a total disaster at the box office in 1933. Groucho is Rufus T. Firely, who becomes the new leader of Freedonia, and wages on the nieghboring kingdom of Sylvania just for the hell of it, and recruits Chico and Harpo as his spies in his insane campaign. This was Zeppo's swan song with his older siblings. Zeppo Marx died on November 30, 1979.

  • Political Satire

    • Peter Manic
    • 6/1/09

    Duck Soup is the Grandddaddy of all Politcal Satire films, no matter which side os the aisle you hail from.

  • The Greatest Anti-War Movie Ever Made

    • Joseph
    • 8/20/07

    I surprised in light of current world events and a pending presidental election...this film is not embraced more. This is a perfect time for a revival. Groucho declaring war because he's already paid a months rent on the battlefield...Chico changing sides because "the food's better over there"....shows the ridiclous reasons countries fight in the first place.

  • Comedy Gem

    • Wendy Winkler
    • 11/16/06

    This movie is wacky and wild. There are many laugh out loud moments. The big musical number about going to war is probably one of the best musical and comedy moments in screen history. Groucho is hilarious.

  • My all time favorites.

    • frankieCee
    • 4/1/06

    The Marx brothers have been my all-time favorite comedic acts since I was a young boy. This film is typical Marx Bros. fare but Classic Marx Bros. performances. The one-liners are hilarious, "I can see it now, (when we're married) you in front of the stove, only I can't see the stove"! Hahahahahaha, classic Groucho. Or, "the "Headstrongs" married the "Armstrongs" and that's how we got "darkies", Hahahahahahaha. Too funny. And "Jay Buck's" comment is dead-on. The "mirror scene" is hilarious. Don't miss this one. "Hey, who you gonna believe, me? or your own eyes"? Hahahahahaha

  • Simply one of the best comedies ever!

    • Jay Buck
    • 3/28/06

    A great satire on war and political leaders! Includes the famous "mirror scene".

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.