skip navigation
Drums Along the Mohawk

Drums Along the Mohawk(1939)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Drums Along the Mohawk A young couple fights off... MORE > $49.98 Regularly $49.98 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Drums Along the Mohawk

    • Goetan
    • 7/5/13

    A beautifully-shot, action film from Director Ford. Fonda & Colbert are a young couple who fight the Indians and Torries in constant attacks, Oliver recieved an Oscar nomination as a spirited widow. The pastel pallet put into the costumes and sets bring the era to life, while the story about the the attacks during the settling of the colonies is one of tremendous courage and strength against terrifying forces. A good mixture of action, drama and a little bit of humour. I give it a 4.5/5.

  • A Great Classic

    • Robert Lowery Hanks
    • 9/11/12

    "Drums" was a career breakthrough for my dad, actor Robert Lowery. And he so enjoyed working with a sterling cast.

  • Beautiful Classic by the Master John Ford

    • Robert
    • 7/21/12

    As a boy in the 1970s who was fascinated with Indians, I remember getting up at 3:00 AM one summers night just to watch this film on TV. Despite the commercials, it was worth it then and it's even better with no commercial interruptions on TCM. A beautiful film that makes you proud to be American.

  • One of my all-time faves

    • TimKat
    • 7/6/12

    To Dean444 - Claudette Colbert is SUPPOSED to look a little uncomfortable in her role as a farmer's wife. She is, after all, a girl brought up in a large house with servants in the relatively civilized portion of the States at the time. And, Henry Fonda is, I suppose, a little gawky at first but only because he's a shy newly-wed. It's totally in keeping with his character. I saw this film the first time on television when I was a child and it has always been one of my favorites for the great story and the wonderful characters. I suppose it's a bit schmaltzy in places, but overall it's a great film and one I enjoy seeing again and again.

  • Awesome!

    • Minnie
    • 7/4/12

    This film is truly a masterpiece! It's definitely a "must see" for old movie buffs! Ford's direction and Fonda and Colbert's acting is superb! Edna May Oliver is at her comedic best! Don't miss it!

  • A good old-fashioned shoot-em up

    • Dean444
    • 4/28/12

    This is a good action flick, your basic old-fashioned shoot-em up, set in early colonial times. However, the early part of this film is difficult to watch. The whole beginning of the film seems a bit clumsy, very much like Henry Fonda's character- and his early on-screen appearances. It takes a while for the film to develop a rhythm. Claudette Colbert is also oddly miscast in the role of a farmer's wife here. She looks extremely uncomfortable in the role, and makes the viewer oddly discomfited as well. Her performance is disturbing in more ways than one. In the end, however, she does help salvage the film with a solid performance in her scenes with the widow and in the climax, and Fonda finally hits his stride. An excellent performance by Edna May Oliver and some great action sequences make this film worthwhile viewing.

  • Drums Along the Mohawk (1939)

    • Mr. Blandings
    • 12/21/11

    Why is it that there are movies that show husbands dragging their newly wed wives into the most horrible, inconvenient, and violent circumstances imaginable when giving them a comfortable life is their paramount responsibility? It was bad enough when Fred MacMurray dragged Claudette Colbert off into the boonies to live in a leaky shack in "The Egg and I" ... but what Henry Fonda does here is unforgivable, the jerk. Anyway, Claudette Colbert is the only real reason to watch this film.

  • Drums Along the Mohawk

    • Mark Sutch
    • 4/14/11

    ***1/2

  • Drums Along the Mohawk

    • coy mac
    • 5/12/10

    One of John Ford's best movies. The color is spectacular and one thing I enjoy about this movie is it is mostly fact-based. Too bad the professor from UCLA (guest host) decided to criticize the movie based on "political correctness". The Mohawks were fighting for the British and were actually much more savage and cruel than was portrayed in the movie. I lived in Oklahoma for 40 yrs and I thought that the friendly Indian acted like every Indian I have ever known. They are fantastic people who are very quiet and stoic and do not show much emotion, (by the way, Chief Big Tree who was the actor was one of the model's for the End of the Trail statue). The fact is that many tribes were brutal in real life (read "Indian Depredations in Texas" actual accounts of Indian attacks in Texas) shouldn't be a reason to feel "Hollywood" was wrong with many of these movies. I do agree, some of the actors were terrible Indians. But this movie is terrific and realistic.

  • Beautiful

    • Christine
    • 5/12/10

    I had never seen this movie all the way through until today. I loved it. John Ford knows how to make a beautiful film, the cinematography was so typical of his films, especially the part when Fonda is running for reinforcements and the sunset is behind him. Ford really knew how to use nature in his direction. This N.A. co-host with Bob Osborne really ticked me off though when he mentioned how scared Colbert reacted to the "friendly" Indian in her house. Damn straight she was scared, I'd be scared too. She just gets married and moves to the wilderness from the city where Indians abound and she shouldn't be scared? I wouldn't have wanted to move from my city life. This guy acts as if Indians were never savages and cruel. Some were, some weren't. Life was hard and the settlers had a right to protect their property and were being murdered by violent tribes.I'm enjoying this series alot but too am so tired of the PC garbage.

  • Terrific movie!

    • David Jackson
    • 5/11/10

    This film is one of my favorites, and one of John Ford's best. Beautiful color, great cast and story. I agree with Robert Osborne that the Indians are scary. But if the Indians scared the colonists, its understandable since they were fighting for their land. I never tire of seeing this film.

  • The Injuns are coming!

    • lcs
    • 5/11/10

    One of the few John Ford movies I had not seen until now. Quite stirring. Ford did not pull punches about the realities of living in proximity to Indians. Unfortunately the "guest programmer" went on the warpath with his banal, boring diatribe against Ford's realism. Actually Ford portrayed Indians with more dignity than any other director. Too bad Robert Osborne was forced to put up with this fool.

  • GREAT FILM

    • Lee
    • 5/11/10

    This is a great film. I guess I'm not surprised at the politically correct revisionism aimed at this movie, but the fact is my own family lived through the events on which the movie is loosely based. And "lived through" includes relatives being murdered and scalped by Indians acting under the orders of the British. Yes folks, that kind of thing really did happen and there is no way to deny it short of political correctness.

  • merica

    • Bob
    • 6/23/09

    A wonderful J.Ford pic. that is a beautiful documentation of life on the frontier in colonial times. Great cast,rich color, wonderful settings that make for a first class film.If you haven't seen it, check it out.

  • colbert, fonda 1939

    • Marillyn
    • 7/28/08

    masterpiece

  • What a great movie

    • J Hardiman
    • 12/11/07

    When is TCM scheduled to show this wonderful movie again.This is a top ten movie.

  • A FORGOTTEN 1939 CLASSIC

    • SYLVIA
    • 5/2/07

    DRUMS IS ANOTHER EXAMPLE WHY 1939 HAS BEEN HAILED AS THE BEST YEAR IN MOVIE MAKING. IT IS EPIC AND EXCITING IN TELLING THE STORY OF A YOUNG COUPLE, PLAYED BY HENRY FONDA AND CLAUDETTE COLBERT, OF THEIR STRUGGLE TO SURVIVE THE SETTLING AND FIGHTING OF THE AMERICAN REVOLUTION . IT IS TIME TO SHOW THIS MOVIE.I FEEL MANY PEOPLE WILL TRULY ENJOY IT AND THE WONDERFUL PERFORMANCES BY ALL IN THE CAST. THANK YOU

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.