skip navigation
Dracula

Dracula(1931)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Dracula The legendary bloodsucker... MORE > $14.98 Regularly $14.98 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • dracula

    • alejandro
    • 10/31/14

    buena actuacion de maid y fried.

  • Top 10 horror movies of all time

    • William Keck
    • 10/23/13

    This movie gets the number 2 slot for my top 10 horror movies of all time. It is only beaten out by 1953's War of the Worlds. Bela Lugosi is and always will be the Prince of Darkness, the ultimate vampire. If you are putting together a " Creature Features " list of scary movies then you must include Bela Lugosi as Dracula.The man was so at home with himself and his portrayal of Dracula he even portrayed Dracula in a parody in later years that starred Bud Abbot and Lou Costello.

  • Lugosi's Dracula is the best!

    • Ed Lutheran
    • 10/6/13

    Dracula starring Bela Lugosi shows Bela was the best Dracula ever on screen. I know the movie is slow for our fast paced culture but that is good for life doesn't always happen fast! Lugosi with his Hungarian accent creates Dracula anew compared to Stoker's Dracula! As Boris Karloff made the monster anew in Frankenstein,different than Shelley's creature. In my opinion Universal's Lugosi Dracula is the best ever as it gives the impression of a cursed man who has lived through centuries and despite his grotesque need for Human blood partially laments his condition. Why Universal didn't use Lugosi as Dracula more is a filmatic mystery to a degree even today!?! Of course in our impatient culture Christopher Lee's Dracula may be preferred or Francis Copulla's as these Dracula's are more sensual and violent. I prefer Lugosi along with John Carradine although not as good as Lugosi.Lugosi and Carradine are more ghostly as is Francis Ledereer in "The Return of Dracula". They also have more classthan the later interpretations. This film is a spooky one,good especially for Fall and while your at it watch Lugosi in "The Return of the Vampire",Mark of the Vampire" and Abbot and Costello meet Frankenstein.-Sincerely,Ed Lutheran

  • One Of My Favorite Films

    • Alex Krajci
    • 8/19/13

    1931's Dracula Is One Of My Favorite Films, I Like It Because It Came Out The Same Year As Another One Of My Favorite Films Frankenstein With Boris Karloff Which Was 1931.

  • The Original Dracula !

    • Travis Black
    • 11/19/12

    I love all classic HORROR movies of the 30s and 40s they are the BEST !!! Bela lugosi is magnificant as Count Dracula from 1932. Very creepy for back then and still today Lugosi's eerie menacing appearence with those hypnotic eyes will send CHILLS down peoples spines even today ! Look forget "twighlit" this is THE REAL KING OF VAMPIRES and this is how vampires are suppose to be !

  • Dracula

    • Dashiell Barnes
    • 3/6/12

    A good interpretation of the stage play that was adapted by Bram Stoker's novel. Lugosi gives life to the title character who does more with a eerie stare than with his body. The story is weak & the climax isn't as terrifying as it should be. Lugosi's performance & the sets are creepy enough to have you view this again, even if the story falters. I give it a 3/5.

  • great stuff

    • Adam
    • 8/31/11

    Bela is so creepy in this film... classic.

  • Bela Lugosi IS Count Dracula

    • Dan Grissom
    • 12/13/10

    If you are a fan of horror films you have to view Universal's 1931 'Dracula' at least once; you may not return to it, but you certainly won't forget Bela Lugosi's performance. I've heard some people argue his performance is over rated; I disagree completely as his interpretation is the standard by which all Count Dracula's are gauged. When you take into consideration there is no blood, no fangs and very little action it makes me appreciate the creepiness of this movie more and more with each passing year. Filmed in 1930 and released on Valentine's Day 1931, the absence of a music sound track only adds to the nightmare aspect of this spooky film. Although James Whales' 'Frankenstein', which was released later the same year, is leaps and bounds a more enjoyable movie I keep returning to 'Dracula'; I must have watched this movie 30 times and I never grow tired of it...and the Lugosi is the reason! Do yourself a favor and screen this classic Universal fllm.

  • Classic horror movie

    • Lynn
    • 10/24/10

    My all time favorite classic horror movie. Tod browning chose the perfect actor, Bela Lugosi to play the famous count Dracula. No body does it better than Lugosi. Bela, has the look & the voice. Love everything about this movie. TCM should air Dracula, every Halloween.

  • Great stuff

    • (crazy) carl allen
    • 5/29/10

    this movie put bela lugosi on the map in my opinion

  • Still scary!

    • P. Harris
    • 4/24/10

    I just watched this at 2:00 a.m. this morning and really enjoyed it. Of course, I have seen it many times before but it still fascinates me. This is film noir in the horror genre. Bela Lugosi is the only Count Dracula that matters. It did seem almost like a stage play and I had never realized there was hardly any background music until I read the other reviews. It didn't hurt the movie at all.

  • Good stuff!

    • Todd M.
    • 11/5/09

    This is the best Dracula, in my opinion. It's also the first supernatural-horror sound picture. Camera-man Karl Fruend uses some very innovative shot and camera movement as well! The first half is really creepy and well done, but the second half, I feel, drags a bit. Also, there is a relative lack of music, which in this case, I feel actually helps, because without the music, you pay attention to every little sound in the talking-free scenes, which makes it more otherworldly! All in all, it's a great classic of Universal horror, and one of the best, and most important horror pictures of all time! Also, enjoy the great performances by Bela Lugosi(in his signature role), Dwight Fry(in his signature role), and Edward Van Sloan(in what could arguably be his signature role)!

  • Flawed yet still Classic

    • Rickula
    • 3/23/09

    Even though this movie has it's flaws I can't help but be amazed by it's rewatch-ability

  • An Epic

    • Spencer Dunnings
    • 7/24/08

    For the first sound horror picture it was damm good movie. This is a scary and great movie for halloween

  • the look

    • curt solash
    • 2/1/07

    there is one scene when renfield is dining at dracula's table when the lights are on bela's eyes and he's smiling at renfield, his prey--he looks like the devil himself!! that one look is enough to give one nightmares forever!! i get gooseflesh just thinking about it. watch for it-a great scene in a movie that is largely pedestrian, stagey,and that misses wonderful opportunities!!

  • A triumph for Lugosi, Chandler, Frye and Van Sloan

    • John Howard Reid
    • 11/23/06

    At times, this version of Dracula seems very much like a filmed stage play. An engrossing play, but a work of theatre nonetheless. Other than skillful glass work enhancing some sets, there are no special photographic effects to speak of. The bat does not turn into Dracula before our eyes. Instead the inanimate creature dangles around very obviously on wires. Worse, the dialogueespecially in the less capable mouths of Manners and Bunstontends to be stiff and stilted. Other critics have rightly objected to the considerable alterations made to Stoker's novel. Only the principal characters and the basic outline of the plot itself (plus of course all the legendary vampire lore) have been retained. However, production values are otherwise first-class and the movie actually looks much younger than its age. Browning's direction has tremendous drive and force, thanks in part to the powerful performances delivered by Lugosi, Chandler, Van Sloan, Frye and Dade; and thanks also to Freund's frighteningly atmospheric photography and Hall's superlatively moody, gothic sets. Astute film editing helps increase an already sharp pace, and it's a tribute to Browning's concentrated direction (and some forceful sound effects) that the absence of background music is not particularly noticed.

  • An obvious "Must"

    • Barry Phillips
    • 3/10/06

    More serious, moodier, better than your remember. Quietly and atmospherically set the standard for all horror films to follow.

  • I bid you welcome!

    • Kathleen
    • 3/4/06

    This is a true classic movie. Bela Lugosi is the Greatest Vampire of all time. I have seen this movie perhaps 10 times in the last 5 years. I always watch it around Halloween, to celebrate the changes in the season.I have the original version and the newer version with the Philip Glass Score. With or without the music it is a chilling tale. This movie gives you the feeling of being swept away to another time and place. Todd Browning certainly did justice to Bram Stokers' work.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.