skip navigation
Down to the Sea in Ships

Down to the Sea in Ships(1949)

Contribute

FOR Down to the Sea in Ships (1949) YOU CAN

UPLOAD AN IMAGE SUBMIT A VIDEO OR MOVIE CLIP ADD ADDITIONAL INFORMATION WRITE YOUR OWN REVIEW

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

Shop tcm.com

Down to the Sea... - NOT AVAILABLE

Crying Boy

VOTE FOR THIS TITLE:
Our records indicate this title is not available on Home Video. Vote below for it to be released on DVD.

  1. Total votes: vote now!
  2. Rank: (why vote?)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • "She blows!"

    • Jeff Boston
    • 4/7/13

    Remake of the 1923 film and a lot like "Captains Courageous" (with Lionel Barrymore as well), especially in how it speaks of the eternal truth of how every boy yearns for a father; a man of masculinity, intellect, and especially, willingness to spend time and teach his son. In "Down to the Sea in Ships", the long scene of the two educators discussing the boy's test score really sticks with you, and this fine film also has something Hollywood does not include in today's flicks: respect for God.

  • a Flick

    • KIM
    • 3/22/13

    Excellent film Footage and great cast .

  • What a Great Movie

    • Fran
    • 3/22/13

    The footage of harpooning a whale and processing it on board a ship was great. Also the scenes of the ship hitting an ice burg and how the ship was repaired was also remarkable. All of it was so well done. And the relationship of the your lad with his Grandfather were so heartwarming. It was just a great movie all around. I can't believe it only got 3 stars as far as the rating on tv. It certainly deserved 4.

  • Lionel Barrymore and Richard Widmark

    • Steve
    • 3/21/13

    Great movie, a real treat from T.C.M.

  • DOWN TO THE SEA IN SHIPS

    • DAN SCHROEDER
    • 6/3/11

    FANTASTIC MOVIE, GREAT CAST AND PLOT. I CAN NOT BELIEVE THIS IS NOT ON DVD YET AFTER THIS MUCH TIME. I HAVE BEEN WAITING FOR THIS ONE TO COME OUT FOR MANY YEARS NOW. THIS WOULD BE A GREAT ADDITION TO ANY COLLECTION. I GUESS MY QUESTION WOULD BE, WHAT'S TAKING SO LONG?

  • Down to the Sea in Ships - Widmark

    • Jackie
    • 4/22/11

    This is a terrific film with Richard Widmark and Lionel Barrymore. When will is be out on DVD?

  • Widmark tender at Sea and at last

    • Jack Jacoby
    • 10/15/10

    Finally, a more accurate picture of the real Richard Widmark, "Down to the Sea" has a very tender and understated performance by Widmark mentoring young Dean Stockwell. Along with the always wonderful Lionel Barrymore, this atmospheric sea faring yarn is entertaining, though a bit more muted than "Captains Courageous", although capturing the same magical threesome a la "Jaws" and the aforementioned "Captains". Good, highly watchable movie!

  • Most Memorable film

    • Bess
    • 7/21/10

    I have searched for this film for many years. Thanks to the internet I have finally located this film. This is a film that I have not seen in over 40 years. Although I was only a child, the love,poignancy,action, danger and drama has attached to my memoryas if it were only yesterday. I never knew the name of this movieuntil recently, but I have worried many a video employee trying tofind this film. This was true drama that so many of our modern films lack. This movie should be made available to new film students so that they can attempt to emulate. I would like to have a couple of copies to show my kids and my elderly parents.We always love this kind of stuff.

  • Release on Home Video

    • Mike
    • 6/16/10

    I've been searching for this movie for over 15 years. The story is so poignant and I would love to see it again and again. Widmark's performance was such a memorable one in this venue not often played by him. The chemistry with the other actors was great and he handled Barrymore very well. A wonderful coming of age yarn unforgettable in it's simplicity in a performance fondly remembered.

  • Childhood Memory

    • Dorothy Perkins
    • 12/2/09

    This is one of the most memorable movies of my childhood. Great cast. Exciting and touching. I would love to see it again and would certainly buy the DVD.

  • Please put on DVD

    • david Rapoza
    • 7/10/09

    This is a great movie classic with some great movie actors. I would buy three copies right now if I could get them. I Was born in New Bedford Mass. And my great Grandfather was a cabin boy on a whaler out of New Bedford. please see if you can put this movie on DVD

  • Great Whaling Saga

    • JoanKinnier
    • 2/10/07

    Wonderful, courageous story of aging whaling master, young grandson, and sturdy first mate. Great cast, young Richard Widmark and great Lionel Barrymore with young Dean Stockwell as the grandson. Filled with courage, danger and tender feelings for youth in danger. They don't make films like this anymore. It reminds me of John Ford going to sea.

  • IN THE STYLE OF "HOW GREEN IS THE GRASS"

    • Ernest Borders
    • 1/25/07

    MY FAVORITE MOVIE ABOUT OLD NEW ENGLAND AND CHARACTOR AND COURAGE OF THE SAILING MEN. GREAT FOR TODAY WITH A LESSON FOR YOUTH. I WANT A COPY IF I COULD FIND IT FOR MY CHILDREN AND GRANDCHILDREN.

  • A Family Classic !!!

    • mark w mathews
    • 12/2/06

    Wonderful movie EVERYONE should see ! Excellent in every phase. Very few movies make my " must see ' list, but this is one of them. May be Richard Widmark's best..also, may be his first film not as a gangster.

  • A great movie, but no reviews?

    • Robert
    • 6/23/06

    This is a really fine movie, comparable to 'Captains Courageous'. Why no interest? Richare Widmark and Lionel Barrymore and a good kid actor - what more could we ask for!

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.