skip navigation
Double Harness

Double Harness(1933)

  • Saturday, August 9 @ 10:00 AM (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
  • Friday, September 12 @ 10:00 AM (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
Up
Down

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Double Harness After tricking a playboy into... MORE > $19.99 Regularly $24.99 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Great film

    • Sandra Barth
    • 1/12/13

    Stong, memorable performance by Ann Harding -- and William Powell is always a delight. Highly recommended!

  • Classic TCM

    • CM
    • 6/18/10

    Ann Harding is superb in this, 'Put A Ring On It' flick. Debonair Playboy William Powell is the love em and leave em where he found them type. Ann Harding starts out as a clever woman that feels that marriage should be looked upon as though it were a business, until she falls for the tricks of a man that knows them all. But, Ann Harding has a trick of her own and puts it into motion after realizing that she has fallen hard for the philandering William Powell who doesn't have marriage in mind but because of a compromising situation that Ann Harding devises she does get William Powell to marry her. But, Ann Harding wants her man to want to be married to her because he loves her and not because she laid the better trap. This is one of the best movies I have seen in a long while. With a timeless subject very elegantly stated without vulgar nudity or sex scenes. But, although done in great taste you'll get the innuendos - "No more gardenias, perhaps?" "My flowers." WOW what great lines. Double Harness is a must see for classic movie lovers.

  • Great pre-code movie

    • muriel
    • 6/11/10

    The TCM article gives the impression that Ann Hardings character is a schemer who doesn't love her intended so much before marriage as after. While she does think of marriage as a womans natural "business", and she does finagle a marriage with a her playboy lover, her love for him is deep and intense from the beginning. One interesting aspect of the story is that aside from her scheme to marry him, she is an extremely honest lady. After marriage she plays no games. Before Myrna Loy started playing the perfect wife who was also a best friend (Thin Man, Best Years of Our Lives, Mr. Blandings) Ann Harding had that crown (Westward passage, When Ladies Meet, Animal Kingdom). When Ladies Meet and Animal Kingdom star both Myrna Loy and Harding, who work very well together. Double Harness is a must see film for any fan of Harding, Powell or pre-code movies. ENJOY!

  • Great movie

    • MM
    • 4/18/09

    Everyone who sees this movie with me just loves it. William Powell is incredible. Sometimes, the faces tell the story.

  • Wonderful and Romantic

    • pam
    • 1/28/09

    This is a wonderful movie which I never saw before and loved it!!!!!

  • A strong woman's point of view

    • D. Juliano
    • 7/30/08

    I was surprised that I had never seen this film when I caught it yesterday on TCM. I have seen some of the pre-code movies before but this one really seemed a good example of what the movies could convey in that older and yet more sophisticated screen time.I liked the intelligence of the lead character who manipulates her way into marriage with William Powell by using the same social structures which are stacked against her to get what she wants.I think this movie deserves more attention for its intelligent script and solid acting from Ann Harding.

  • A lost Classic!

    • CJ
    • 7/29/08

    A rare NEW view into 1930's glamour.This is a perfect example why the World fell in love with movies. This is an ageless Classic that was re-discovered by TCM. Please, release it to DVD.

  • Beautifully romantic

    • Ernest Acosta
    • 4/3/08

    Great movie. Please put on DVD. Great filmmaking for that time (check the shot as she is climbing the stairs).

  • Surprisingly Modern

    • G. K. Nedrow
    • 1/13/08

    A marvelous romantic film that deserves wider viewing. Even given the limitations of film making in 1933 and the mores of American society in the throes of the early Depression, this film is sophisticated, fresh, and charming. The relationship between love and money is an interesting theme, even in our era. Anne Harding and William Powell are wonderful in their only film together, and the subtlety of their acting rewards multiple viewings. Aspiring thespians take note.

  • PLEASE MAKE "DOUBLE HARNESS" AVAILABLE ON DVD

    • William Turner
    • 8/6/07

    I HAVE BEEN A TURNER CLASSIC MOVIES FAN FOR YEARS AS WELL AS A WILLIAM POWELL AND MYRNA LOY FOLLOWER. AFTER WATCHING "DOUBLE HARNESS" THE OTHER DAY FOR THE FIRST TIME, I WAS BLOWN AWAY BY THE BEAUTY AND CLASS OF ANN HARDING. I WANT A COPY OF THIS MOVIE IN THE WORST WAY. ALL ASPIRING ACTRESSES SHOULD BE MADE TO WATCH ANN HARDING IN THIS MOVIE AND SEE WHAT CLASS REALLY IS. THANKS, WILLIAM TURNER

  • Ms Harding and Double Harness - a surprise gem

    • Karl M
    • 7/30/07

    Ms Harding is new to me. Since I put her in a class with Irene Dunne, she surfaced on my radar screen with a bang.Not quite the beauty of Irene but portrays a quality and class that is seldom seen in 1930's actors. In Double Harness, she commands stage presence with a quiet but strong strength. She was the equal to William Powell and "made" the film.If you have the chance, don't miss Double Harness. It has the plot (comedy-drama) and actors that make a great film.I will watch for her in other TCM offerings

  • Double Harness

    • Chuck P
    • 6/20/07

    Ms Harding and Mr Powell deliver an excellent piece of period entertainment. Certainly a "re-discovered" gem that can be viewed time and again with pleasure. This movie is an example of why my television is tuned to "TCM" instead of the commercial networks, or the other "cable" networks.

  • GREAT DISCOVERY

    • howard fink
    • 4/5/07

    Double Harness "paid for" my DirectTV monthly charge. The restrained parlor manners reveal the torments of marraiges based on economic foundations. William Powell and Ann Harding are given lines that allow them to also reveal wonderful talent-Thanks

  • DOUBLE HARNESS

    • laryssa
    • 4/5/07

    Ann Harding and William Powell have a certain chemistry in this movie. A truly romantic film. Something that makes one want to watch it again and again.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.