skip navigation
Perversion For Profit

Perversion For Profit(1965)

  • Saturday, November 15 @ 05:00 AM (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
Up
Down

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

Shop tcm.com

Perversion For... - NOT AVAILABLE

Crying Boy

VOTE FOR THIS TITLE:
Our records indicate this title is not available on Home Video. Vote below for it to be released on DVD.

  1. Total votes: vote now!
  2. Rank: (why vote?)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Please Update

    • jim
    • 8/10/14

    Keep the message but update the film. Censorship is the answer to many of today's problems.

  • Narrator George Putnam was Famous LA TV Anchor

    • Jon Hendry
    • 7/17/14

    For those interested in the narrator, George Putnam was a famous LA television news anchorman from the 1950's thru the 1970's--and a right wing radiohost thru his death in the 2000's. That style was George Putnam--thru and thru--the over amped "voice of the newsreels", racing between clips of a war and a beach of bathing beauties.If John Facenda (the "Voice of Doom" on NFL films) was a local Philadelphia TV anchorman turned legend, that's what Putnam became--both popular and easily parodied in LA.Many say the Ted Baxter character in the Mary Tyler Moore Show was a George Putnam impersonation--you be the judge.

  • Outdated, yes, but....

    • Alice
    • 3/23/14

    Yes, this little film may be outdated in its information. The message it presents, however, is far from outdated. Unfortunately, the story this film depicts, is now the norm, for the most part, today. Our culture has bought, embraces, and even protects and defends the information on this film which was once warned against. Sad, in my opinion, are the choices this culture is making. Even if the information by one previous viewer about the narrator is true, (I don't know if it is), it does not negate the value of the warnings this man tried to inform us from.Thank you, TCM for this film and all the other little informational shorts you show on Saturday nights with your, "TCM Underground". I don't care for most of the movies themselves because of the violence and language, but look forward each week for the little short films and those like , "TheGreen Slime". Thank you so much.

  • Guys, you are taking this way to seriously.

    • Boris Karloff
    • 10/18/12

    This "scare" film is utterly hilarious. Yes, the commies are taking over because people view pictures of naked men and women. Oh my God, homosexuality is accepted and normal! Because of that, the United States is no longer a Democracy! Yes, people, sex is normal, healthy and a part of the human experience. And nudity in pictures has been around ever since man first learned to draw. And yet, society has not crumbled, faith in God has not ended, and our nation has not disappeared from the face of the Earth. You guys really need to lighten up.

  • Charles Keating strikes propaganda gold

    • Tim E.
    • 9/30/11

    Charles Keating quit the University of Cincinnati due to poor grades, enlisted in the US Navy during WWII, and then agreed to swim for the university if they gave him "credit" for his Navy service. They did, he took six months of classes, and was admitted to UC's law school. He became a succesful attorney in Ohio, and in 1956 began a lifelong anti-pornography crusade. He testified before Congress in 1958 (the first of many such appearances), was appointed to President Richard Nixon's President's Commission on Obscenity and Pornography, and helped ban Russ Meyers' VIXEN! in Ohio (a ban which remains in place to this day). He went after Larry Flynt, which led to Flynt's 1976 obscenity conviction. Keating later was involved in the S&L scandal, which led to the multi-billion dollar collapse of American Continental Bank and Lincoln Savings & Loan. "The Keating Five" were five members of the U.S. Congress (Alan Cranston, Dennis DeConcini, John Glenn, John McCain, Don Riegle) investiagted but never indicated for improperly assisting Keating with his regulatory problems. Keating was in 1991 of 17 counts of fraud, racketeering, and conspiracy, and sentenced to 10 years in prison. He was convicted in 73 federal charges in 1993, and sentenced to 12 years in prison. Both sentences were overturned on technicalities after Keating had served 4 years, but in 1999 plead guilty to four counts of wire and bankruptcy fraud. The punishment was time served.Reporter George Putnam narrates "Perversion for Profit." Fully funded by Keating, it explicitly says American civilization will collapse due to porn's pernicious influence. It briefly links the widespread availability of porn to a Communist conspiracy. The film was not widely shown at the time, and is now in the public domain.

  • Perversion For Profit

    • orphy
    • 9/25/10

    The depravity and obsceneness of this film exhibits how people can and DO some of the temptations that is common to man and women. The narrator speaks with conviction and diplomacy, I found his voice to be too be "to Theatrical". The elements of thematic materal, could be constured as being ludicrous and guileful because of his manner of speaking and this I find to be deplorable. The context of the film speaks of the pernicious behaviors of pornograpic publishers that can influence all of mankind. This film is involved with the exploits of demeaning of the eyes and mind to elicit publicity, perversion, and wealth of all involved to gain recognition from the basest desires of the mortal souls downfall. I have given 4 stars out of 5, because of the narrators "theatrical"elocution. The problem that I find most disturbing, is that in the year 2010,some would think this is 'FUNNY" and is a comedy! The degenation of our familes are at stake, our values and mores need to be examined daily to fulfill our earnest requests for purity and freedom from corruption.

  • Are You People Kidding?

    • Neal2
    • 6/5/10

    TCM is showing this film for it's sheer hilarity! I couldn't stop laughing through the whole thing. The way the idiotic host was intoning one stupidity after another. Filth peddlers recruiting children who will eventually become communists through perversion! I suppose the other reviewers here take Reefer Madness seriously too! It's a sad commentary that in this day and age, ANYONE could or would take this exploitative garbage to heart and actually think it has relevance! Thank you TCM for providing big laughs for those of us who "get it". Truly one of the most laugh out loud funny films I've seen in ages.

  • Perversion for profit

    • Mary Errichetto
    • 6/5/10

    I did not see this complete film, what i did see shocked me, to know that these things were going on while i was a child growing up, the world is in a much worse state today, nothing has really changed, We need to get back to the GOD of the bible and find His wil for our lives,satan is alive and well and destroying our very existance, I would like to see this film on regular televion, and also i would like to know who the christian narrator was, is he still living, he was very good and knowledgeable.

  • Yeah its ForReal!!!

    • Winkyb
    • 10/3/09

    I was surprise at the content...like an earlier "Michael Moore docko" that a it shed alotta truth on the degradation and negative impact pornography and obscenity can have on the pillar points in society: communities, home, families, goverment, marriages, and it's corruption as a whole. It's views were presented from a very secular view without the fire and brimestone. The cue card poster and photos I thought were quite frank for the time period. Sadly, but profoundly, how this film is so erielly prophetic...for every predicted outcome is true today...goes to show you da old-heads know what they are talking about. TCM should really provide more background commentary about this one.

  • Is this for real??

    • Greg Moss
    • 4/25/09

    I would like to know the background of this "infomercial".. But it's great......

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.