skip navigation
The Devil at 4 O'Clock

The Devil at 4 O'Clock(1961)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • i love this movie

    • filmfan
    • 9/17/15

    I was nine years old when I saw this classic and have been in love with it ever since,tracy and Sinatra very good with the very fine Barbara luna good special effects and a sad but potent ending I could watch it a hundred times a year.

  • 2 generations of classic hollywood

    • minniefleur
    • 7/28/15

    This film is wonderful. The story paints a good picture of having some faith in God in modern time. Mr. Tracy is a priest who has to dig into the ground to convince many people to care. Mr. Sinatra gives an impressive performance too, showing real dramatic range, as "Harry" goes through many changes. The characters & scenes & setting are symbolic of classic Bible scenes. The priest & the convicts all become winners. This is a tearful story, safe for young teens & kids. I hope TCM will show this for Easter season.

  • The Devil Made Them Do It...

    • Nick Armenante
    • 7/23/15

    "The Devil at Four O'clock" is up there with the worst movies I ever saw. Awful doesn't begin to convey how awful it was, so I have to use the adverbial;it was awfully awful. The word "clich" was invented for this movie. Too bad "clich" doesn't have an adverbial.I know I'm in a very small minority here, but I always thought that Spenser Tracy was way over-rated, as was Frank Sinatra (except when he's singing). I guess it was made so that drawing power of the two leads could be capitalized on, and the movie would make money. I don't know how it did at the box office, but it deserved to be a bomb. It should be re-titled "The Devil Made Them Do It". I gave it one star, because there was no option for zero. NA 7/23/2015

  • Terrible Movie

    • Scot
    • 7/21/15

    This movie was awful - the story is silly and the filming it TERRIBLE. A high school film class could have shot more realistic looking scenes.

  • Sinatra/Spence Star

    • shockinglygood
    • 7/21/15

    Really impressed with this film.Read Sinatra stumped for JFK during the filming,he acted in afternoon,Tracy,due to illness had to work in the morning,so he worked opposite a BROOM!as Sinatra's stand-in.Great performances throughout,all characters redeem themselves in the end.All but 1 kid make it out.

  • My favorite Spencer Tracy film

    • John Brauer
    • 7/21/15

    Spencer Tracy is perfect as an old crusty priest, and Frank Sinatra is good as a convict. This film is very inspiring Christian film without ever being "preachy." Everybody should see it!

  • Good Sinatra Tracy flick

    • Frank
    • 10/16/12

    Always a plus with Jean Pierre.Well acted,good story.

  • Good Sinatra-Tracy Tussle

    • Jerry
    • 6/20/09

    It's worth it just to see them go at it. New Jersey Sinatra vs. New York Tracy. Good scenery. Nice little love sub-story. A moral tale throughout, coming full circle with an unforeseen and climactic finale.

  • The Devil at 4 O'Clock (1961)

    • Jay
    • 3/1/09

    Well produced but overlong and a bit melodramatic. Good cast. The special effects are fine but a little obvious. Nice location filming. Worth watching.

  • One of my favourites !

    • Dennis
    • 1/21/09

    A classic tale of bad guys becoming good guys, set on a tropical isle. Tracy also regains his faith, while seeing the convicts change....for the better.Toss in some romance, and this flic has it all..............

  • Prophetic Title

    • Bob Hendrick
    • 1/16/09

    Great tropical scenery; Great tropical scenery! Hang on, I'm trying to think of something else positive. This one should have been left in the can. A total waste of good actors. Sinatra is miscast; and Tracy looks bored.

  • Great classic

    • Erma
    • 3/5/08

    I've looked for this film for years at video stores. I hope it comes out on DVD soon. I saw it as a child and have remembered it all these years, especially the volcano erupting at the end.

  • classic movie with great actors

    • Serge Bourgeois
    • 9/12/06

    must see

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.