skip navigation
Destination Tokyo

Destination Tokyo(1944)

  • Wednesday, August 13 @ 01:30 AM (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
Up
Down

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

Shop tcm.com

Destination... - NOT AVAILABLE

Crying Boy

VOTE FOR THIS TITLE:
Our records indicate this title is not available on Home Video. Vote below for it to be released on DVD.

  1. Total votes: vote now!
  2. Rank: (why vote?)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • One of the best sub movies

    • DearPippo
    • 1/23/13

    Be prepared to watch this movie front to back without a break. Well written plot, smooth transitions. It's obviously a propaganda movie but when you watch it you really don't care. Be prepared for Alan Hale (the cook) to steal the show. He's the father of Alan Hale, Jr. of Gilligan's Island fame. Destination Tokyo is to the sub service what the movie Air Force was to the Army Air Corps. This movie works any day, every day.

  • Faith, family, and freedom

    • Jeff Boston
    • 12/18/12

    Fine film emphasizing the cornerstones of our exceptional nation as founded, developed, and sustained. Totalitarian Japan really only had one of the three, unless you count jingoism and emperor worship as faith. This memorable movie has great scenes involving a barber (one with Hale, another with Grant), a Jimmy Stewart look-alike, and resolute lines like how our country must "wipe out a system that puts daggers into the hands of 5-year-old kids." One line that stands out is when a Mitsubishi factory is spotted and one of our submariners says "that's where the zeroes come from." Ironic and sad that the same company that built the planes that raided Pearl Harbor had Raider trucks a few generations later - and Americans bought them.

  • Still one of the best submarine movies

    • James H.
    • 12/17/12

    Destination Tokyo gives such a true appreciation of WWII submarine operations, it was used as a motivational training film in the US Navy's Submarine School in the 1950's and 60's. It was only topped for accuracy by the later Runs Silent, Run Deep, made in 1958 with cooperation by the US Navy.While this movie was in production, the USS Wahoo was undergoing refit in the near-by Mare Island Naval Shipyard. This boat was famous in the submarine force and it's captain, Lt-Cdr. Dudley ("Mush") Morton was legendary for his aggressive tactics. He was asked to visit the production and provide advice, which he did, within the security limitations in place at the time.Following the refit, USS Wahoo made its next war patrol to the waters of the Japanese home islands depicted in the movie, and was lost with all hands.Although this movie does contain some dialog that seems 'hokey' to the ears of more sophisticated folks who do not live at a time when their nation engaged in a war for national survival with an implacable enemy, it still provides a great depiction of the efforts of the US 'Silent Service".

  • Destination Tokyo

    • Rhonda
    • 5/27/11

    This is indeed a terrific film. One of the things that is puzzling though....we noticed a book in Cary Grants quarters just to the right of his family photos. The book had a title: "Racial Theory" but no book exists. The only book which has a similar title was written by Rosenberg, a Nazi propagandist. He was responsible for infusing the anti-Jew propaganda and promoting the purity of the "Aryan Race". He promoted genocide and hated Christianity because he didn't believe in the teachings of "original sin". This belief he believed didn't apply to the chosen race, the Aryans. He, as well as other prominent Nazis were promoting the return of paganism. In this way, they would be justified in believing in their superiority and the extermination of any inferior race or individual. That being said, it doesn't make sense that this book would be in the possession of a submarine captain unless he expected to be in the Atlantic instead of the Pacific but they were on the West coast when the film began, later rendezvousing with a Catalina aircraft in the Allusion Islands. At that time, the particular Japanese elitists in power believed they were superior; it's why they slaughtered the Chinese. Perhaps, the director was trying to illustrate the evil we were up against and continue to be. There are different groups now, committing crimes against others, killing them because they believe their group is better than the other.

  • destination tokyo

    • don kelly
    • 11/18/10

    one of the best war films made! this is one the classic movies ,they don't make movies like this. trivia: this is cary grants only war movie.

  • Destination Tokyo (1943)

    • James Higgins
    • 4/4/10

    79/100. Tense World War II propaganda film, with an impressive cast. John Garfield stands out, of course Cary Grant is always good. Alan Hale and Dane Clark are great in supporting roles. The Tokyo Bay scene is particularly exciting. Outstanding cinematography, the score is excellent and the writing was nominated for an Academy Award. Impressive special effects. It is a little long at 135 minutes, but it seldom is slow. Very well done and I am sure it helped rouse the American citizens spirits at the time.

  • Tony Curtis raved about Cary Grant in this one.

    • Midge
    • 2/4/10

    Tony Curtis raved about Cary Grant's performance in this film. He was absolutely correct. The whole movie is dominated by Grant's perfect pacing and voice. It motivated Curtis to become a movie star. By one hour in, I was so totally transfixed I could barely breathe. Terrific film. Screenplay was nominated for an Oscar; it certainly was a great one.

  • Best Sub Movie ---

    • SubMovieLover
    • 2/4/10

    This has to be the best sub movie ever produced. The actual scenes of Mare Island Sub Base in San Francisco were incredible. If you love submarine movies this is where it all begins.

  • Great Sub Movie, maybe the best...

    • david h
    • 12/24/08

    Though never in the service, I was more than facinated by this movie, as my dad was commander of a baleo class sub during the last two months of the war, patroling the Empire area. This movie contained great shots of the inside of a sub, showing the diving controls, the bubble gage, the 'christmas tree' light panel, the sound screen, the torpedo room, and a good loooooong look at a torpedo being loaded. Amazing how advanced we were back then, and even more surprising, was the showing of our equipment and tactics in a movie so early in the war. But I guess the Japenese didn't watch our war movies too much...Cary Grant was totally believable in this one, and not engaged in his usual manic weaving and bobbing around a dame. He was calm, likable, and brave..as were many of the sub skippers back then, who were indeed cream of the crop naval officers. Alan Hale played his usual 'comic' relief part, but not as irritating as in some of his other movies. Interestingly, I recognized three actors who would eventually wind up doing the "Caine Mutiny"...Grants exec, the sailor who was knifed, and one of the junior officers, who wound up playing the testifying naval psychiatrist during the famous trial scene. Corny as some of the dialogue was, it still sucked you in because of the great acting. Can't go wrong with Garfield! The action was just great, and the modus operendi which the silent service employed, quiet, quick, and always looking over your shoulder, came through nicely. I just watched it the other night...can't wait till it comes on again. Great flick...!!

  • Don't Take Grant for Granted

    • Scott Coltrane
    • 7/6/08

    What an outstanding movie! I watched it last night and couldn't take my eyes off the screen. Cary Grant proved himself to be a solid actor, ably handling a fine dramatic role. No trace of the screwball comedy Grant, or the romantic ladies' man. Just a realistic sub commander in a taut and gripping drama. Made during WW2, it obviously had some propaganda elements woven into the script, but so what -- the so-called propaganda was right in hindsight. TCM should show this movie more often.

  • Great sub flick

    • J.R. Carrel
    • 2/19/06

    This movie was very well made for it's time. If you like early WWII subs this flick has several shots of pre-modified Gato class boats. A lot of detail seems to have been included to educate war-time civilian Americans about life on a submarine. Some clear propaganda too. One flub shot shows sub cruising through the water with screws not turning at all. Overall I liked it.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.