skip navigation
Death of a Scoundrel

Death of a Scoundrel(1956)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Death of a Scoundrel A Czech refugee uses women to... MORE > $19.99 Regularly $19.99 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Birth of an Excellent Film

    • Meredith
    • 12/2/13

    This is quite an enjoyable film. It kept me fascinated to see what Sanders was up to next. I also really enjoyed seeing a younger Zsa Zsa Gabor. I was kind of confused as to how Sanders and Gray did not see Ferraday peeking out of her door, but in the large scheme of things it doesn't matter. Sanders did such a wonderful job with this movie that I now like him even better.

  • Great line

    • JAKiley
    • 11/12/12

    Van R.: What did you have in mind?Kelly: Roast Beef.-- i laughed out loud for aminute

  • Death of a Scoundrel

    • Serge Rubinstein
    • 11/11/12

    TCM's review is a good one but someone should correct the misspelling of Sanders' character's name. It is 'Sabourin', not 'Sabourni'.

  • Long live the SOUNDREL

    • Jarrod McDonald
    • 4/21/11

    Delicious performances and clever script distinguish this offering. Yvonne de Carlo is a fabulous actress and a striking beauty. Zsa Zsa Gabor has some cute moments, too. But it's George Sanders' picture and I would say it's his best role. This film needs to air more often and be given a DVD release (something it does not have as of April 2011)...it deserves a wider audience. Thankfully, the print of this RKO production is in mint condition.

  • Death of a Scoundrel

    • Cindy
    • 4/18/11

    Just watched this movie, I must say, I truly did enjoy it..George Sanders and Yvonne DeCarlo gave a great performance. Would love to watch it again! A pity its not for sale, would be great for a girls nite in!

  • Death of a Scoundrel

    • Jaye
    • 4/30/10

    My parents told me about this movie years ago and how very much they enjoyed it. I tried to order it from TCM but it was not available. When I saw it listed on TCM the other day, I called them and they already knew! It was a great treat for me and my parents to watch. It certainly bridges generations. What a great film and superb cast. I've always been a fan of George Sanders, who has one of the most distinctive voices ever! He was a favorite of mine even in Jungle Book. And who could forget Lilly Munster and Colonel Klink! What fun to see them in a serious role also. Please make this available on DVD. I'd like to watch it again with my children and parents. Wow, three generations watching a new classic! Break out the Jiffy Pop and Coca Cola... Thank you TCM.

  • Death Of A Scoundrel

    • Craig
    • 4/27/10

    First time seeing this and I enjoyed it. George Sanders and Yvonne DeCarlo give fine performances. And the story sure translates to modern times. I hope to see this again, TCM...too bad it's not on DVD.

  • Death of a Scoundrel

    • Wendy Winkler
    • 4/24/06

    There had been some comments in the past that Yvonne De Carlo was not a good actress. I would like to say that I thought she gave a very good performance in Death of a Scoundrel.

  • He's better than "Rico Soave"!!

    • frankieecee
    • 3/15/06

    Man, this is a guy after my own heart! What a man! He is the smoothest operator in the history of mankind, lol. He makes "Dirty Rotten Scoundrels" look like so many boyscouts. It's only a shame that no "rotten" deed goes unpunished. You'll have to watch this one to see what I mean! Smmmmoootttthhhhhh!

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.