skip navigation
Dead of Night

Dead of Night(1945)

  • Monday, October 31 @ 02:30 PM (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
Up
Down

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Dead of Night Guests at a country estate... MORE > $6.95 Regularly $8.99 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • dead of night

    • kevin sellers
    • 4/18/16

    The problem with most anthology films is that they're hit and miss. You're lucky if half of 'em are any good. Well, to that rule this film is a glorious exception. Other than the golf satire which, as previous reviewer Oliver Cutshaw pointed out, just aint that funny, the individual stories range from mildly disturbing (a nineteenth century murder victim at a twentieth century holiday party)) to very disturbing (the mirror) to downright ghoulish/creepy (the ventriloquist and his "dummy.") And it's all done with great, understated British sang froid. Even when narrating a marriage in ruins, a runaway bus plunging its passengers to their death or a recurring nightmare, no one screams or rants or in any way loses their cool. Very stylishly done, indeed. Let's give it an A minus, which would have been higher without the golfer ghosts.

  • Spooky !

    • Troy
    • 8/9/15

    This a great spooky movie and quite appropriate for Halloween month.I caught this movie on TCM by accident and was engrossed in the movie completely forgetting what I wanted to see on the other channel.I would really like to have this movie on DVD (with english subtitles for the hard of hearing) available for me to have in my movie collection.

  • Well worth the time

    • Oliver Cutshaw
    • 7/8/15

    Very clever, very inventive film. Obvious influence on the Twilight Zone, Tales of the Crypt and every horror anthology movie made since. The Michael Redgrave story of the "mad" ventriloquist and the evil dummy is of course the most famous sequence. It is magnificent. But several other stories are quite good too, the Mirror one perhaps is the best. The golf story is an example of British humor being sadly humorless. The framing sequence in the cottage is intriguing and leaves the viewer wondering if they are seeing a dream, a nightmare, or the memories of a ghost. Take the time to watch the whole film.

  • Immensely Creepy...

    • Usagi Dolcia
    • 10/11/12

    I've never seen or heard of this movie before until tonight. I live for anthology and multiple tales/stories. It was one of those movies that was creepy but slow. There was always something happening but never n a way where it was too much for the scene. It was subtle but still had shock value. I recommend this to anyone!

  • Dead of Night

    • Dashiell Barnes
    • 10/10/12

    Both a darkly funny & chilling horror anthology from Ealing Studios. Johns explains to a collection of strangers that he has seen them in his dreams, Redgrave is terrific in the film's most famous story, that of a schizophrenic ventriloquist. Transitions between the stories are seamless & each of the characters bring something unique, but coherent to the story, each handled magnificently by different directors. So good is the dry humour that we forget that it's a horror film until the twist ending. I give it a 4.5/5.

    • 10/12/11

  • Great Stuff

    • Helene Edmonds
    • 10/12/11

    Saw where Rod Serling and other writers got some of their story ideas(Groundhog Day). I loved this movie. The end was totally unexpected. Some parts actually scared me.

  • Dead of Night (1945)

    • James Higgins
    • 1/26/10

    What a brilliant film! Each segment is very entertaining, and in such very different ways, but the final segment with Michael Redgrave is the best. Wonderful production, the cinematography is excellent, great score. Wonderful.

  • One of the best!

    • ghostly ghost
    • 10/31/09

    I love this movie! These are real ghost stories. One of the best movies and I never get tired of seeing it.

  • This movie is great!

    • darkmeadowbeast
    • 11/1/08

    One of the first, if not the first, horror anthologies and definitely one of the best. It still has the ability to chill you to this very day. A must see!

  • scary/errie/great performance by redgrave

    • george medina
    • 7/3/07

    dead of night is like a nitemare u wan"t to wake up from, but fear that if u do it may be your last dream.medina

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.