skip navigation
The Day the Earth Stood Still

The Day the Earth Stood Still(1951)

Contribute

FOR The Day the Earth Stood Still (1951) YOU CAN

UPLOAD AN IMAGE SUBMIT A VIDEO OR MOVIE CLIP ADD ADDITIONAL INFORMATION WRITE YOUR OWN REVIEW

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

The Day the Earth Stood Still An alien demands that... MORE > $9.98 Regularly $9.98 Buy Now blu-ray

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Colorized

    • John J Behrendt
    • 10/3/13

    I had the colorized version of "The Day The Earth Stood Still" on a beta tape in the 80s. I recorded it off of TV (don't know what channel). I've been searching for that version since then, and can't find it.If anyone can help, please contact me at: schmarren@wi.rr.com. I know it's out there somewhere. Thanks

  • Love The Day the Earth Stood Still

    • Classic Movie Fan
    • 7/25/13

    As children, my siblings and I watched this movie every time it aired. Even now, I bet half of them own a copy of it. I agree with those who say stay away from the remake. The 1951 alien is truly a more intelligent being. I find him to be very attractive.

  • Movie

    • Professor Poopypants
    • 4/9/12

    The Day the Earth Stood Still was interesting and boring. I do not recommend this.

  • Classic Sci-Fi

    • Cecil Cole
    • 4/9/12

    The Day the Earth Stood Still by Robert Wise is my all-time favorite movie of any genre. It still works today despite some holes in the plot. Michael Rennie is perfect as the arrogant yet sensitive alien. And make no mistake-Gort is an icon of science fiction moviedom. Don't waste your time with the re-make. Keanu Reeves just rides around in a car. That's the plot.

  • The Day the Earth Stood Still

    • Dashiell Barnes
    • 4/6/12

    The first great film that began the 50's 'Science- fiction' craze. Rennie, with his face & speech lends a sense of superiority to his alien character, matching Neal who embodies all that's good about humans. The intelligent story & Bernard Hermann's eerie score on the theremin assists in making this film magnificent. My only complaint is the dated special effects, but that's nothing compared to the overall film. I give it a 4/5.

  • The Day the Earth Stood Still (1951)

    • Gregg Aronson
    • 1/31/11

    The 1951 version of this movie is much better than the remake. The special effects are still awesome, considering when the movie was made. I like the original story better than the updated version. Michael Rennie and Patricia Neal have a subtle chemistry that adds to the movie as well.If you are interested in Sci-Fi, especially the history of Sci-Fi in movies, this is a must see movie.

  • The Day the Earth Stood Still

    • Ray Marlitz
    • 7/24/10

    Man from Space has Robot and flying saucer, will travel

  • fantastic

    • noel quinones
    • 10/13/07

    one of the most awesome movies of all time,the number#1 movie of all time!

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.