skip navigation
The Day the Earth Stood Still

The Day the Earth Stood Still(1951)

  • Saturday, December 31 @ 06:15 PM (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
Up
Down
Contribute

FOR The Day the Earth Stood Still (1951) YOU CAN

UPLOAD AN IMAGE SUBMIT A VIDEO OR MOVIE CLIP ADD ADDITIONAL INFORMATION WRITE YOUR OWN REVIEW

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

The Day the Earth Stood Still An alien demands that... MORE > $4.95 Regularly $9.98 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Still Love This Movie

    • Virginia
    • 5/7/16

    At age 71, I still appreciate this wonderful movie that completely entranced me when I first saw it as a child in the 1950's. I almost believed Michael Rennie REALLY WAS Klaatu...for me, this movie was the first time I really understood that we on Earth have the power to destroy ourselves now, in the age of atomic energy, and there are meaningful choices for us all to make. Five stars all the way.

  • one of the best

    • mona baugh
    • 5/7/16

    I have always loved this movie. It proves you can make a great si-fi movie without gore. I encourage everyone to watch it. One of the best!

  • The Day The Earth Stood Still

    • Will
    • 4/27/16

    Personally, I think The Monsters Are Due On Maple Street (Twilight Zone) is closer to the truth. Visitors from other worlds, would only have to take a look, at what We have done to this planet and ourselves, then sit back and Wait. Tragically, We are our own worst enemies. In the brilliant series After Man, there is hope for the planet, as nature takes over and with time repairs the serious damage, We have done. Im not saying this is a bad film, its Great. For one thing it gives us in 2016 a good look at what the world looked like (Washington D.C.) back in the early 1950s. Brainwashed thinking. Men wore drab suits and ties, Every Were they went, and fedora Biltmore style hats. A man wouldn't Dare go to work or even casually downtown with out his sports jacket and tie. Same unwritten law applied to the ladies fashions. And the cars and trucks, unbelievable pollution. But, at that time, you Dared not say anything negative about the System or you were labeled a trouble maker or worse maybe a commie, as is suggested in the film. This film gives a great insight into the attitudes of the average persons sitting around watching T.V. commenting about whats happening in the world around them, being Very Careful, as to what they say, lest they be labeled. A great film.

  • An All-Time Greet!

    • James
    • 3/22/16

    This movie is one of the all-time greats of any genre. The ending in particular has always fascinated me... When Klaatu warns the Earth that to continue our present course will mean being reduced to a "burned-out cinder," did he mean by their hand... or our own? For a movie with an alien as its central character, the underlying theme to the entire picture is about humanity and what truly comprises 'civilization.' Yes, the effects are a bit dated, but this wonderful picture will haunt you long after you've seen it! A classic in every sense of the word. Thank you, TCM for bringing it back!

  • Message from Space(1951)

    • shepardn
    • 9/22/15

    Compelling story of interplanetary visitor with a notification that Earths philosophical differences could cause their extinction. With nuclear arms at the forefront of the news of the day and the alarming increase in the stock piling of atomic weapons , Klaatu is sent to Earth with a message of mutual cooperation, but he is attacked and delayed in delivering this notification. He escapes the hospital and befriends Helen(Patricia Neal) and Bobby Benson(Billy Gray) , all give exceptional performances. He also contacts Professor Barnhardt (Sam Jaffe) in order to set up a conference of countries. Fantastic music score (Bernard Hermann) enables the eeriness of the film with B & W photography underscoring the starkness of the dark reality of the possible future. Expertly directed by Robert Wise this film stands the test of time. Run time 89 or 92 min. 5 stars out of 5. B & W. Klaatu barrada nikto...Never enough...

  • Klaatu nikto barrada

    • Delia
    • 8/30/15

    Famous words from Michael Rennie to Patricia O'Neal in the elevator. A message she must deliver to Gort, the robot policeman waiting back at the space ship. And she'd better remember because Gort was capable of destroying the entire earth. Michael Rennie was born to play the role of the alien from another planet come to earth to warn us about the proliferation of nuclear weapons. Creepy in all the right ways, but not in the horror genre as TCM categorizes. More suspense and social commentary of the the time. The question of man and his destructive weapons still lingers. This alien visitor came in peace, which makes the stupid remake of this film with Keanu Reeves a travesty. He came to warn against violence, not to perpetrate it. Sadly, I don't think Rennie was ever quite as remarkable as he is here. And Gort is still a scary robot all these years later. Klaatu nikto barrada.

  • Colorized

    • John J Behrendt
    • 10/3/13

    I had the colorized version of "The Day The Earth Stood Still" on a beta tape in the 80s. I recorded it off of TV (don't know what channel). I've been searching for that version since then, and can't find it.If anyone can help, please contact me at: schmarren@wi.rr.com. I know it's out there somewhere. Thanks

  • Love The Day the Earth Stood Still

    • Classic Movie Fan
    • 7/25/13

    As children, my siblings and I watched this movie every time it aired. Even now, I bet half of them own a copy of it. I agree with those who say stay away from the remake. The 1951 alien is truly a more intelligent being. I find him to be very attractive.

  • Movie

    • Professor Poopypants
    • 4/9/12

    The Day the Earth Stood Still was interesting and boring. I do not recommend this.

  • Classic Sci-Fi

    • Cecil Cole
    • 4/9/12

    The Day the Earth Stood Still by Robert Wise is my all-time favorite movie of any genre. It still works today despite some holes in the plot. Michael Rennie is perfect as the arrogant yet sensitive alien. And make no mistake-Gort is an icon of science fiction moviedom. Don't waste your time with the re-make. Keanu Reeves just rides around in a car. That's the plot.

  • The Day the Earth Stood Still

    • Dashiell Barnes
    • 4/6/12

    The first great film that began the 50's 'Science- fiction' craze. Rennie, with his face & speech lends a sense of superiority to his alien character, matching Neal who embodies all that's good about humans. The intelligent story & Bernard Hermann's eerie score on the theremin assists in making this film magnificent. My only complaint is the dated special effects, but that's nothing compared to the overall film. I give it a 4/5.

  • The Day the Earth Stood Still (1951)

    • Gregg Aronson
    • 1/31/11

    The 1951 version of this movie is much better than the remake. The special effects are still awesome, considering when the movie was made. I like the original story better than the updated version. Michael Rennie and Patricia Neal have a subtle chemistry that adds to the movie as well.If you are interested in Sci-Fi, especially the history of Sci-Fi in movies, this is a must see movie.

  • The Day the Earth Stood Still

    • Ray Marlitz
    • 7/24/10

    Man from Space has Robot and flying saucer, will travel

  • fantastic

    • noel quinones
    • 10/13/07

    one of the most awesome movies of all time,the number#1 movie of all time!

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.