skip navigation
David Copperfield

David Copperfield(1935)

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

David Copperfield Charles Dickens' classic... MORE > $21.99 Regularly $21.99 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Stars exceed expectations

    • Will Fox
    • 9/5/15

    Three stars, vastly surpassing modest expectations, deserve exalting praise. This entire cast is an excellent ensemble, energetically engaging, entertaining us throughout this show. Having consistently stood the test of time, we eagerly tune in to see leaders like Lionel Barrymore, Edna May Oliver, Freddie Bartholomew, plus notorious villains like Basil Rathbone. And expect even more entertainment and exemplary insights, when we see life enhancing Elsa Lanchester, Una O'Connor and Lewis Stone in the cast of characters. All of this gives context for edifying even more modest players that captivate our interests, especially in "David Copperfield." First of three stars is David's nurse Peggotty, played heart warmingly by Jessie Ralph. She embodies genuine love, as the missing-mother substitute. Second revelation, Roland Young plays the falsely modest, obsequious law clerk, Uriah Heep, usually wringing his hands, as if to wash-off the tell-tale ink from his forgeries. Best of the stellar trio is Mr. Micawber, the unexpectedly exemplary, good shepherd W. C. Fields, almost playing against his curmudgeonly, historic typecasting. Rarely has his diction and eye contact, and empathy engaged us so winsomely. Three encoring cheers for Miss Jessie Ralph, gleefully greedy Roland Young, and the crusading, almost saintly savor sallying forth, W. C. Fields. Thanks too, to TCM for showcasing these talents, during the Fields' marathon. Great programming!

  • David Copperfield

    • Dashiell Barnes
    • 8/19/12

    A fine adaptation of the Dicken's classic. Bartholomew shines as the title character in his youth, fine supporting performances from Fields, Barrymore, Rathbone, Oliver & Young. While Dicken's novel is a classic, the story is dated & leaves us distant from the character's exploits. Fine but ignorable entertainment. I give it a 3.5/5.

  • Rathbone Main Attraction For This Long Story

    • Brasil Basil
    • 8/17/12

    Always had trouble paying attention to the book.Loved Freddie and Basil scenes.Uriah Heep and Micawber held my attention,too.Laughton would've been good,but Fields great,no matter the ad-libs.

  • David Coppertone

    • Barleybree
    • 12/7/11

    Ah,yes,my little chickadee,WC does a good turn.He is perfect,think Laughton would've worked,too.Would've love to see Bas and Chuck act together on film.Roland Young wonderful,Lewis Stone,and Edna May truly outstanding.Brilliant movie!

  • david copperfield

    • avis butterworth
    • 9/17/11

    This is one of dickens best, the actors are supreme.A 5 star movie and (must see )

  • Re:Classics Theatre

    • Barclay
    • 6/10/11

    David C. should be appreciated for all the actors.Most outstanding are:Edna May Oliver,Freddie,Basil,Roland Young,Barrymore (thank goodness someone talked Selznick into keeping his part),Lewis Stone,but most surprising,W.C.Fields,who's excellent.Not a fan of such tomes,this is well done!

  • David Copperfield (1935)

    • Mark Sutch
    • 4/13/11

    ***1/2

  • David Copperfield

    • Niki Forrest
    • 10/22/10

    As a long time admirer of all things Dickens, I disagree with Mr. McDonald. This is a beautiful film with excellent acting. Perhaps the choice of W.C. Fields as Micawber was not the best, but he did convey his quirkiness and unrealistic view of life. Basil Rathbone as Mr.Murdstone, was excellent in the role of abusive stepfather. In the book, he was abusive and it was captured on screen as true to the character. David Copperfield, while indulged at times, did not deserve a merciless beating. That scene bothered Sir Basil greatly, if you read his autobiography.

  • Great film

    • new3rob
    • 8/3/10

    A great film for someone who has not read the book. I encourage people to read the book, as I believe it to be one of the best. Hard to critique the film - with only a limited time frame, I think it was quite well done.

  • Drama with Freddie

    • Jarrod McDonald
    • 6/16/10

    I'm surprised there haven't been more reviews till now...I watched the film with high expectations. Those expectations were dashed half-way into the film when I realized it was not what I wanted it to be...I think I expected to see the conditions of the boy shown in a much harsher light...in this case, it almost seems as if the stepfather is in the right, disciplining a boy whose mother won't because she over-indulges him to the extreme. When he does suffer, there's nice Mr. Micawber and an aunt with a change of heart to look after him...I don't think that's how Dickens necessarily envisioned the character, in this glossed-up Hollywood sort of way. But the film does work on many levels...the performances are all good, and Edna May Oliver is probably the best one, giving a performance with gusto (I think she's better than Fields who has limited screen time). But it's really Freddie's picture, and he has all the requisite drama of a boy that age, both on and off camera. It works, if not for Selznick's sanitized version of Dickens, but for the level of integrity the craftsmen and women put into this project.

  • Great movie

    • Thomas
    • 2/4/06

    One of the best classics around. Great performances by all-W.C.Fields,Basil Rathbone and the entire cast are superb!

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.