skip navigation
The Dark Angel

The Dark Angel(1935)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • The Dark Angel

    • robert c.
    • 7/16/16

    This is one of the best romantic WWI movies I've ever seen. Excellent performances were given by Herbert Marshal, Merle Oberon and Fredric March. This movie will make you want to see it over and over again, and open your appreciation of other fine movies from this era. This movie deserves to be put onto DVD along with so many others like Enchanted Cottage, Love Letters, Waterloo Bridge, A Portrait of Jenny, etc. Please have it put on DVD as soon as possible, we've been waiting such a long time to get the DVD. The tape does not do this movie justice due to the lack of definition. Thank you.

  • dark angel

    • kevin sellers
    • 3/6/16

    Standard British, home front tear jerker with Merle Oberon in full on Miniver mode. ("A bit over the top," Mr. B? Yeah, the way Trump's a bit too vulgar.) Give it a C minus.

  • the dark angel

    • Laurie
    • 2/28/16

    I only saw this movie once on TCM; it really touched me. I have been searching for the title of this film ever since but could not remember it. I tried to ask everyone that watched old movies but got no answers. The people I talked to about the movie said it sounded like a great movie. I agreed with them. I am very disappointed that it is not on DVD. I am sure that if it was on DVD it would sell very well. The dark angel is such a wonderful movie and I highly recommend it to anyone. This is a very moving movie. I so wanted kitty and Alan to find each other once again. After watching it I wanted them to make a sequel so that I could watch their romance blossom and grow like Mrs. Minivier. PLEASE PUT THIS MOVIE ON DVD SO EVERYONE CAN ENJOY THIS ROMANTIC DRAM. I AM SURE THAT IT WOULD CAN BE LOVED BY MANY MORE PEOPLE!!!! Thank you.

  • The Dark Angel

    • patricia cantu
    • 4/18/15

    This is an excellent movie with wonderful talented actors. It's a classic and is in my opinion one of the best movies produced in 1935. This should be on everyone's list for viewing.Please release on DVD ASAP.Thank you

  • Great movie

    • jim
    • 1/5/15

    Please release it on dvd. The story and the acting are top notch.

  • Excellent Movie!

    • Cecilia
    • 6/2/13

    I love this movie so much, it deserves 10 Stars! I hope it will be released on DVD soon.

  • The Dark Angel (1935)

    • Mr. Blandings
    • 1/11/12

    Engrossing story of love, misunderstanding, tragedy, and renewal. Merle Oberon's acting is a little over the top in places but Fredric March is simply superb and holds it all together. Herbert Marshall is good as well, as is John Halliday, and Cora Sue Collins, the young actress who plays Kitty as a child, is adorable and very good. Story and performances will have you in tears by the end. Hopefully this film will be on DVD soon.

  • The Dark Angel

    • Mark Sutch
    • 4/13/11

    ***1/2

  • Excelente, precisa ser em DVD?

    • Daniele
    • 1/1/11

    Um dos meu filmes prediletos. Merle Oberon era uma grande atriz de talento. O filme maravilhoso. TCM apresente o filme. certamente um dos melhores. Com certeza eu acho que no precisa ser em Dvd para apresentar o filme, pois os fs do gnero adoram o filme.

  • Movie held me spellbound

    • bobbe pound
    • 2/5/07

    Great movie - suspensefull all the way.Merle is beautiful. Frederic March does a great job as he protrays a man in many difficult facets of his life. Loved the happy ending.

  • the dark angel

    • joseph chabbott
    • 6/3/06

    Excellent story-Quality actors

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.