skip navigation
The Dam Busters

The Dam Busters(1955)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

Shop tcm.com

The Dam Busters - NOT AVAILABLE

Crying Boy

VOTE FOR THIS TITLE:
Our records indicate this title is not available on Home Video. Vote below for it to be released on DVD.

  1. Total votes: vote now!
  2. Rank: (why vote?)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • The Dam Busters

    • Eric A
    • 3/16/14

    **** Superior, factual, British WWII film.

  • Wonderful Film

    • Ray
    • 7/5/13

    The Dambusters was the most successful box office movie of 1955. Today the effects jar and the dog offends. As for the dog, that was his name and it was the code that they really used for the successful breach. The Peter Jackson remake was held up over a disagreement over 'Nigger', but has been settled, sadly in my view, as 'Digger'. Now it's being held up because of the Hobbit trilogy! Historically it glosses over a number of the detail inventions and even wrongly attributes some (the spotlight height judgement, for example). Wallis is credited with a bit more than he actually did, but I think that the plot would have become too complex otherwise. Essentially it is a both a moving history and a ripping yarn. A story of huge courage and commitment against almost impossible odds. If 617 Squadron were tasked with this mission today they probably wouldn't be able to do it.The film is beautifully set in period, the filming excellent, the acting peerless. It is a sad fact of war that there are civilian casualties, but set against what Herr Hitler and his cohorts were doing to the Jews it is clear that had to be stopped somehow. Everybody should see this film.

  • The Dam Busters

    • boeufoni
    • 12/6/12

    That's a lot of heated reaction to one word. "Nigger" is offensive to many, and it was not well-received in many quarters even back in 1955. It is jarring and completely gratuitous in the film. Maybe next time, use a white dog named "Honky". So let's quit with the Bull**** rationalizations. This movie is an excellent, exciting production with reasonable attention to historical fact. Several of the chosen aircrews were, of course, Canadian. American and British films never fail to undersize the role Canadians played. For example, most of the key playerss in "the Great Escape" were Canadians.

  • Dambusters March

    • Chak Kee
    • 12/6/12

    THE best WWII war theme ever must be Eric Coates' Dambusters March! Give me goosebumps every time when it creeps up in the movie.

  • Big thumbs up from me!

    • GraphicsGuy
    • 1/10/12

    I read the paperback of this story, then saw this British film. It was lost for me for decades until TCM showed it a few years ago. I love the story and the film. The genius of the design, the persistence to see the project through and deliver a one-two knock out to Nazi Germany makes me stand up and cheer! The "not-very-special" effects in no way dim the overall story. Great WWll film.

  • Courage Beyond Belief

    • Luke Thompson
    • 12/24/11

    A superb film in every respect depicting a group of the most dedicated men in the world to whom the free world owes a great debt of gratitude. The name of the dog, "Nigger" does NOT imply any sort of racial bias as another reviewer thinks. A name is a name is a name with apologies to Gertrude Stein. Please ,TCM , let's see it again very, very soon! Incidentally, I am sure that "Nigger" is the dog who also appeared in "The Battle of Britain". He is a great actor.

  • excellent atypical ww2 film

    • georgiaslop
    • 5/24/09

    it's a sad commentary on our current pc society that someone would let the dog's name ruin this movie for them. hats off to tcm for not changing it to "trigger" or some other nonsense.

  • PC Police Needed (NOT)

    • Rick
    • 2/12/09

    Houdini, it was not racially offensive at the time when the movie was made and it still isn't today among Blacks. That's the whole point. Today it would also be politically incorrect to flood an entire valley full of innocent civilians. Deal with it!

  • PC Police indeed!

    • houdini
    • 2/12/09

    I recognise the quality of this film, but I can't help but be schocked at the gratuitous racially offensive name given to the pilots dog.It spoils the film.

  • I suggested this movie

    • TC
    • 2/12/09

    I suggested this movie sometime last year so thank you TCM!THe PC police probably will be up in arms about it but it's a really good war movie.

  • Lucas "borrowed" bomb run for Star Wars

    • TJC
    • 3/20/06

    Good, basic war movie with an interesting twist. The climax, when the bombers are on their final runs to destroy the German dams, was the basis for the final bomb run by Luke Skywalker on the Death Star in Star Wars. Dodging antiaircraft fire, flying steadily and releasing the bomb at just-the-right-moment are just as exciting in the original BW Dambusters as in Star Wars.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.