skip navigation
Daisy Kenyon

Daisy Kenyon(1947)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Daisy Kenyon On the rebound from a married... MORE > $14.98 Regularly $14.98 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • A 1 film

    • Jim
    • 12/5/11

    I saw this film this morning for the 1st time and was drawn in immediately. The plot and charactors as well as the score held me in to the finish. Just going through a divorce recently and seeing how selfish Dana Andrews charactor was made me wish for the eventual outcome and had to see it to the end. Henry Fonda was as cool as anyone in the film industry could be, well done to all who made this film.

  • Hummm!

    • carolag
    • 10/30/11

    I just saw DAISY KENYON for the first time last nite and I was happily surprised at how much I enjoyed it. I'm learning to appreciate Joan Crawford and I thought her acting was excellent, but cannot understand why they dressed her in such uncomplimentary costumes. I know she had a "look and persona," but she could of been so much more appealing, while still being a strong woman. She always looked so...old? harsh? one-dimensional? prudish? Just my opinion, maybe the studio wanted her that way? Too bad, think her "look" got in the way of her talent.

  • I LOVED THIS MOVIE

    • MKG
    • 8/9/11

    I am a big Crawford fan. Loved her in Daisy Kenyon.Will buy it for my collection. I thought Dana Andrewsdid just what he was suppose to do....irritate most women. I loved Henry Fonda....he was so charming...said all the right things sincerely when needed and wasfunny when he need to be....Honey Bunch. I have always lovedFonda's stride....his walk alone always drew me in. Ashe said in the end of the movie....Crawford and Andrewswere both "amaters" compared to him with in the context ofthe story...and this is not kidding!

  • Liked It

    • Dana Fan
    • 7/19/11

    I'd take Dana over Hank,but my bad.Saw nothing wrong with Crawford's acting.She may be underrated in most pictures

  • Very Funny, Baby

    • BloodhoundMan
    • 4/23/11

    Yes; the use of that word, "Baby," annoyed me as well. But that's how guys spoke in those days. It's still better than the word "Babe" in the 1960s-70s. Back to Miss Crawford, I think she's a pretty good actress; but you have to understand the nature of the role she is playing. It may not be the character YOU would like to see on the screen, but it's the one in the script, baby. And truthfully, she rarely gives a performance that displays poor acting ability. All you need to see that is to follow her eyes in any scene; the acting is there, baby. Having said that, I would acknowledge that this particular film is one of the poorer scripts she was given during that time period. It's simply to formulaic; we've seen it a million times, and you just know after the first five minutes that she's not gonna end up with Mr. Andrews with whom, by the way, I'm surprised to see that so many of you are unacquainted. THE BEST YEARS OF OUR LIVES. One of the genuinely great films. Watch Dana Andrews in that one, and get out the Kleenex, baby. Or see him in LAURA, another first-rate film.

  • Please stop calling me Baby!!!

    • Christine
    • 4/22/11

    I was hoping that Joanie, especially towards the end of the movie, would scream to Dana Andrews and say "Stop calling me BABY, Honey bunch!" It was so aggravating to have to hear him say Baby throughout the whole movie. Maybe it's a personal thing, but I really hate the whole "baby" lingo, not only in movies but in real life too. It sounds so ridiculous, especially when it was said over and over again in this movie. I almost turned it off, but had to see how it ended. Why did she have such a hard time choosing one man over the other. I mean, Henry Fonda was was so much the better guy, the nicer, more steady guy. Maybe too boring for her? Dana Andrews was such a cad, and hey if a man cheats once, they're probably going to do it again, baby. The movie was decent. Joan was making her comeback at this time, and so many times in her career, a triangle love story, the other woman. The acting was good. I've really come to appreciate Dana Andrews' acting. I never paid much attention to him before I started watching TCM, but he is always good. Since I just finished a book about Miss Crawford, I'm glad whenever there is a movie of hers on TV, to compare notes with the author. I'm not a Joan Crawford hater like others on here, she was interesting and a very driven, hard working woman. I respect that. Maybe not the greatest actress, but hey, her career was spectacular, so she obviously did something right.I give this movie 2 and a half stars, Baby.

  • Hey Honeybun

    • cmiles
    • 5/12/10

    Hey Marie Andrews -- Johnny Garfield is not a supporting player in this film - he can be found with his back to the camera sitting at the bar of a then famous restaurant that Andrews and his family enter. So maybe you really didn't really notice if Crawford was miscast. Come on Honeybun, she was good.

  • A movie that grows on you

    • mike
    • 4/3/10

    ignore the typical "i hate joan, blah, blah" reviews below (by the way by the same person who seems to have the time to trash almost every joan movie on here). the movie grows on you after a couple viewings. it's a very interesting movie and ALL THREE leads play their roles competently. also interesting seeing ruth warrick (all my children) play the uptight neurotic wife of andrews.

  • Fonda and Andrews Vehicle

    • MarieAndrews
    • 7/10/09

    Although not a classic film, it may worth watching for the performances of Henry Fonda and Dana Andrews, plus a small supporting role by Johnny Garfield.In my opinion Joan Crawford was miscast and ruins the film by not playing the character well at all. But the gest can be gotten from it by paying attention of Andrews and Fonda instead.

  • Daisy Kenyon

    • Joannah
    • 6/20/09

    Henry Fonda and Dana Andrews are such great actors that both make Joan Crawford look like an amateur. That's why this film fails. As usual, Crawford plays herself, an adulterer, destructive,homely, and never gets the title character off the ground. This isn't a "love triangle," it's another of film that Crawford has made into an ugly mess. NNow, if it weren't for Crawford, Fonda and Andrews with a real actor as the leading woman between them would have had some potential.

  • Watch it for the Leads and Direction

    • Fan of the Classics
    • 6/13/06

    This would be an average love triangle were it not for Otto Preminger's tense direction and the superlative leads, including the greatly underrated Dana Andrews. One of the better "illicit love" melodramas of the 40's--TCM needs to air this one!

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.