skip navigation
Cyrano de Bergerac

Cyrano de Bergerac(1951)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Cyrano de Bergerac A swordsman and poet helps... MORE > $6.98 Regularly $6.98 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • The Greatest Fencer with Sword, or Tongue

    • Katzeyes
    • 11/19/13

    I have watched this film 30 to 50 times, or more, and it is always vibrant, fresh, and exhilarating. I have taught it to all of my children, as a masterpiece of cinema. One of the top ten. Ferrer's Cyrano is a virile, manly warrior (a Green Beret, or a SEAL), and a poet, and a wit, and a hopeless romantic, whose Honor means more to him than Love, or Life itself. Decades ago I saw a poster advertising a screening of Cyrano at a college venue that said that Jose Ferrer would be in attendance and speak, so of course I went. He was there, and after the screening, spoke about the film, and its impact on his life and career, then answered audience questions for hours. He was a most humble, gracious, and down to earth man. I have a hard bound copy of Brian Hooker's translation of Rostand's Cyrano, that this film is based on, and read it every year or so, and favorite passages even more frequently. Jose Ferrer's voice speaks in my mind as I read. I give the film, the book, and Mr. Ferrer a full 5 out of 5! This is a rare beautiful, beautiful film...and I say this as a bona fide knuckle dragger. Enjoy.

  • Cyrano de Bergerac

    • Dashiell B.
    • 3/4/13

    The best filmed and the first English-speaking interpretation of the play about a real-life poet & swordsman. Ferrer won the Academy Award for Best Actor as the title character, a long-nosed fighter who uses another man to woo the woman of his dreams. By today's standards, the sometimes over-the-top performance and stagy look is too much to bear, the Shakespearian-like dialouge is always a feast for the ears. A good film with a fantastic central performance. I give it a 4/5.

  • Best Actor!

    • RedRain
    • 3/2/13

    Jose Ferrer truly deserved the Academy Award for this film, as he brought a lyrical magic to Rostand's poetry and the beautiful story of Cyrano's love for Roxanne. Mala Powers performance is stunning as Roxanne. The contemporary versions of this great film don't begin to equal this film. This is a delight from beginning to end! Special mention should go to Stanley Kramer for his direction and his choice of Ferrer!

  • Who was supposed to play Roxanne?

    • Kelley
    • 2/1/13

    When I watched the movie the other night, Robert Osbourne told of how Stanley Kramer was originally after another actress besides Mala Powers to play the role of Roxanne, a bigger name actress. But I can't remember who it was. Does anyone remember?

  • Best Version Ever.

    • Muriel
    • 1/27/13

    Maybe the Depardieu version is really good if you know french. My problem is that Depardieu was chubby and lumbering in the sword fighting and too old for the part when the film was made. The Steve Martin version, "Roxanne". Meh. Not worth it. Once you have seen the Ferrer version, the other versions pale.I am so used to this spare B&W version. The stagy feel forces the viewer to concentrate on the words and performances. The sword fights are very good indeed. I've watched Cyrano dozens of times. Highly recommended!

  • Witty and charming

    • Blaine
    • 1/28/10

    The writing is witty and the acting superb, although perhaps in a more classical style than is the current taste. I saw this very recently and was reminded how much I'd always enjoyed it each and every time it passes my way. It's an old and dear friend.

  • boring

    • Durant
    • 1/17/10

    I found the movie boring, I definitely prefer the french version with Depardieu.I knew the story, I have read the play in French I enjoyed very much, but I did not enjoy the movie, people calling themselves Monsieur and then speaking English., the great french Poet Cyrano in English sounds dull.

  • warm and touching

    • Barbara Hall
    • 9/27/08

    I thougth that this movie was a warm and loving movie. I feel that a man that loved a woman the way that he did, to put his feelings aside to help the woman get the man she thought she loved was wonderful. It was even better when she found out that the person she really love was cyrano himself. I could watch this movie over and over again. Thank you for bringing it to my attention.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.