skip navigation
Curse of the Demon

Curse of the Demon(1957)

  • Friday, October 31 @ 10:00 PM (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
Up
Down

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Curse of the Demon An anthropologist investigates... MORE > $14.99 Regularly $14.99 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • First-Rate Demon

    • janet
    • 9/28/13

    A critic once wrote that maybe the demon should have been left to the imagination, but when they picked this one they picked a lulu! It was second-billed to a Hammer Frankenstein when I saw it in original release, but this was the one everyone was talking about when the show was over. Intelligent, very scary, with authentic backgrounds for atmosphere, way before such things became cheapened by imitators.

  • A "must see" for SF fans

    • Maureen v.V
    • 9/2/13

    This movie is a perfect B/W SF Horror to watch. It has devil worshipers, demons, black magic etc. The suspense builds up during the movie.

  • Well done

    • Bob Karam
    • 2/22/13

    One of the best and scariest horror films I've ever seen. The actors are all believable, and the mood created by Tourneur is tops.

  • Good Movie, Surprise Except For Dumb Demon

    • Dana
    • 10/9/12

    The demon should have been left to the imagination, but I love Dana, and enjoyed it anyway for that hideous creature.

  • One of The Best

    • Petro
    • 9/19/12

    Watch this one every time it is on and you will see something you did not see the last time! Very tight stroy, acting is believable. Movie will tingle your entire body. Ok, so the effects aren't digital, thank goodness this was done in 1957, Please DO NOT RE-DO! Never the less, the demon effects will satisfy your need to be scared, watch it in the dark... Go out and buy a copy, you won't be sorry.

  • One of the Best Horror Movies Ever

    • Anonyous
    • 8/26/12

    Night of the Demon is a great horror movie and the best horror movie from Britain. It has a similar theme to Alien (1979), Halloween (1978) and The Thing (1951). It uses suspense more than actual horror. It lets your guard down, builds up suspnse, and when you least expect it it strikes. I am very hard to scare, but the scene with Dana Andrews in Dr. Karswell's home worked. When Andrews was about to go down the staircase, I saw the door to his left open up. I knew something other than the wind opened it, and I knew something was there. i just didn't expect a hand to be on the railing. Then when he's in the room and the doors close, I didn't think an animal would attack him. If I got scared by it, I'm sure almost everybody got scared in 1957. The Demon might have just about the same screen as giant bird in The Vulture (1967), but in Night of the Demon it actually works. In The Vulture, they were just being idiots showing the bird for only 30 seconds. It's one thing not to show the monster a lot. In most movies where that happens you never see anything other than people until the end. This is a great movie.

  • The reason for having a DVR!

    • Mike Phillips
    • 3/25/12

    Somehow this film managed to evade my consciousness for my first 49 years. It was featured on TCM several Halloweens ago so it was recorded along with the other spook-a-thon features and I watched it for the first time while writing or reading not paying it much mind. Not much until about 30 minutes in where Julian Karswell is performing magic at a children's Halloween party. The dialog between Karswell and Dana Andrews' character was remarkable. This was setting the plot for the remainder of the film as the curse is explained. I was glued to the set from then on. It is a wonderfully written and well produced horror film. The supernatural is on display though out and Dana refuses to believe and writes it all off as trickery. This gets a bit stale but the audience knows what's going on. Cinematography is at it's best when Dana Andrews sneaks into Lufford Hall one night. You have to see the wonderfully film shadows being thrown all around the rooms. The scene where he pauses at the upstairs landing and is about to look down stairs is worth hitting the pause button. He is behind a silhouetted statue in the foreground and what looks like a "Caravaggio-esq" painting in the background. Creepy turned up to 11!

  • Curse of the Demon is exceptional

    • janet grayson
    • 10/17/11

    This is a terrific film. It has everything one wants in a thriller--an exceptionally scary beginning, middle, and end. Even events in daylight seem dark and brooding. Also it's got that extra touch of ritual sacrifice that confounds academics--but more so!

  • One of the greatest horror films ever.

    • jerry brown
    • 2/4/10

    Arguably Tourneur's greatest film (most may say "Out of the Past"). This movie is fast paced and intelligently presented, with no stooping to schlock. The special effects are not the movie, like so many of the new horror films; the effects of this one fit the story.The actors are adults and the story is an adult's story, unlike today's films where the protagonists are inevitably "twenty's something 'Friends'-like people.Rembrandt, Val Lewton & Tourneur were right:less is more, suggestion can be greater than blunt statement, and the requirement of a story that the mind be involved with its telling is crucial to the making of a masterpiece.

  • The Scariest Movie Ever

    • Pat
    • 8/20/09

    This movie has no blood, no body parts, no drugs, no crazed maniacs running around with swords or chain saws or any of a hundred common tools.It is, instead, a thoughtful and, yet, terrifying story told from the stand point of a nonbeliever.I saw this as a child when it first came out and it is the only movie, besides Jaws, that actually scared me. This movie builds its suspense, it is not over the top nor is it filled with "fake" scares. There are no idiots running and fake falling before some monster running behind them to drill holes in various parts of their anatomy.No, what it is is terrifying. Based on M.R. James story "Casting the Runes" it takes that story's atmosphere and elements and becomes an archetype for future movies of this genre. Most of which fall far short of this minor masterpiece.The scene where Dana Andrews is walking through the park is totally scary. And it never fails to give me cold chills.The director of this movie, Jacques Tourneur, went on to create other excellent films. He objected to the "insertion" of the demon into the film, wanting the atmosphere, alone, to convey the horror. But I think that the demon is more than up to the challenge of adding rather than detracting from the story.Be sure and check out Tourneur's other films.

  • One of my favorites

    • Milton
    • 7/31/09

    I first saw this as a little boy and was too scared to sleep. It is still one of my favorites. People have commented that the Demon was a poor special effect but I disagree. The story and acting is good not like todays movies with too much bang, bang, blownup special effects. The monster is shown infrequently but is just right for the movie. The Night of the Demon is the better one because it shows a couple clips not shown in the Curse of the Demon version.

  • Good Film

    • Caitlin
    • 10/30/08

    The movie was good for its time I would believe. It has a good story to tell. I thought it was a good plot, unfortunatly it kept me from working on a paper I am supposed to be writing, but it was that good!

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.