skip navigation
The Crimson Pirate

The Crimson Pirate(1952)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

Shop tcm.com

The Crimson... - NOT AVAILABLE

Crying Boy

VOTE FOR THIS TITLE:
Our records indicate this title is not available on Home Video. Vote below for it to be released on DVD.

  1. Total votes: vote now!
  2. Rank: (why vote?)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Play annually

    • Sandman
    • 12/5/13

    The best stunt double movie of all, almost the equal of Robin Hood for action.

  • Just Fun all The Way

    • Muriel
    • 12/2/13

    The is a great film for the whole family, enough wit and eye candy for the grown ups and fun action for all ages. It's so silly, you can't help grinning. This is a movie I like to watch just to cheer myself up. Other films that are silly and very enjoyable like this: "Clue" with Tim Curry, and fabulous ensemble; and "Many Rivers to Cross" with Robert Taylor.

  • No one ever looked like Burt did inithis movie.

    • Albert Gotto
    • 1/2/13

    This is without a doubt one of Burt's best. Everything from the dialogue action and those incredible stunts. Indianna Jones should take a look and see how it is really done. Nick cravatt was the perfect foil for Burt and provided good and nor demeaning comic relief.Certainly Burt went on to great dramatic roles after this, but nothing entertains as much as this. well, except for " The Flame and the Arrrow". Wow! what a double feature.

  • The Crimson Priate

    • Grampa
    • 10/6/11

    One of Lancaster's Best,When will we see it on TCM .Would Love the Grandkids to watch.

  • 4 stars

    • Dana
    • 9/27/10

    One of the greatest movies Burt Landcaster has ever star in. Would love to have it shown on TCM so others can see it, as well as own a copy.

  • The Crimson Pirate, 1952

    • Susan Lawrence
    • 9/1/10

    I would LOVE to own this movie on DVD! It is a fun, romantic pirate adventure that is suitable for all ages. I have watched it many, many times in my younger years and I would love to own it so that I could watch it again and again. It is so much fun watching Captain Vallo and Ojo swashbuckling their way to adventure and mayhem.

  • The Crimson Pirate

    • Reba Reed
    • 8/28/10

    I would like to be able to have this movie on DVD. It is an excellent movie with lots of acrobatics in it. Burt Lancaster is an excellent actor that really gives his all when he stars in any movie. My son even commented he really liked this movie. Is it scheduled to be shown again on TCM soon. Will it ever be released on DVD?

  • Please release it on DVD

    • Sofia Araya
    • 1/6/10

    I grew up watching "The Crimson Pirate" with my sibling and I can never get enough of it. It's one of my favourite and the funniest movies OF ALL TIMES!!! I've been searching for the DVD, but can't find it anywhere. Please, release it on DVD.

  • This Action/Adventure movie on DVD again

    • Jeffrey Kenison
    • 12/23/09

    I wouldn't mind having this on DVD when becomes available again. I liked Burt Lancaster in "From Here to Eternity' (1953).

  • The Crimson Pirate 1952

    • Ken Porteous
    • 11/7/09

    This is a great adventure pic. A very athletic and acrobatic young Burt Lancaster with his real life Stunt partner Nick Cravat, slash and dash through this fluffy Pirate Movie. Jack Sparrow probably took lessons from Captain Vallo. . It is filmed in glorious technicolor and never lets up for a minute with swashbucklin' action. It also has Eva Bartok...Say No More ..Guys. This should be shown on a regular basis on TCM...at least on Lancaster's B'day.

  • The Crimson Pirate

    • Marilyn Alexander
    • 6/7/08

    This is one of Burt Lancaster's movies. It is full of fun and acrobatics. I remember seeing this when I was a young girl and enjoyed it very much. Please put this movie on. I am sure anyone who sees it will enjoy it as much as I did.

  • Too good to miss.

    • Cat
    • 6/3/08

    One of the best lightheated pirate flicks around. Burt Lancaster and his real life partner (Nick Cravat) from his circus days make the stunts look easy. Johnny Depp could take lessons from this movie. It's jus a feel good flick. I remember it from Saturday mornings when I was a kid and have loved it ever since.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.