skip navigation
Creature from the Black Lagoon

Creature from the Black Lagoon(1954)

Contribute

FOR Creature from the Black Lagoon (1954) YOU CAN

UPLOAD AN IMAGE SUBMIT A VIDEO OR MOVIE CLIP ADD ADDITIONAL INFORMATION WRITE YOUR OWN REVIEW

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Creature from the Black Lagoon Scientists track a prehistoric... MORE > $14.98 Regularly $14.98 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Julia Adams creams Katharine Hepburn

    • Jeff Boston
    • 1/5/13

    "Gill Man" still scares pre-tweens (two out of two) and impresses discerning adults almost 60 years after America first saw its crazy fish eyes and super-sized hands. Much like Frankenstein's Monster ('31) and King Kong ('33) a generation before, the Creature knows what it likes - a young, attractive woman! However, the Creature is different for it is not merely longing for love and deaing with being misunderstood - it's evil (the tent scene was unexpected). This horror flick influenced many later films, but it seemingly stole or was paying homage itself: the expedition's boat, the skipper's clothes, and even the skipper himself reminded me of "The African Queen."

  • Underwater Golden Boy(1954)

    • nshepard
    • 1/4/13

    Jack Arnold clearly has the handle on Creature Features as in this exquisite tale of a Lost Amazonian Sub-Culture that makes an astonishing comeback! Newly found petrified paleolithic limbs in the Amazon lead researchers to try and uncover their mysterious origins. Enter Richard Carlson, Julia Adams, Richard Denning ,Whit Bissel, and Nestor Paiva who embark to find the secret of the Creature from the Black Lagoon. Wonderfully Directed, Arnold quickly takes us into the jungle river and creates a truly atmospheric, if not indigenously correct(howler monkeys) where the quest for life takes place, who will survive ? Ricou Browning underwater and Ben Chapman on land help create the Creature with Great Effect ! 5 stars out of 5 ! Great Science Fiction !

  • The True Hollywood Movie Monster

    • Spazz McRipper
    • 10/30/12

    What can be said about this movie that hasn't been said before? I am a big fan of horror and monster movies. And if I had to say what my favorite monster movie is I would say it would be a tie between Jaws and The Creature from the Black Lagoon. This movie scared me as a kid. The first time I seen the creature it self was when he first popped out of the water in the dark and the spot light is shinned on him. Now many people can see this a sci-fi film but I see the true horror elements in the film. And those elements are the fear of the unknown. The main thing is that they are things out there that we still don't know about and are not from another planet but on our own planet. Also what is very scary is the fact that the creature itself could have it further evolved, it could have become us. It is frighting to know that this monster could be a close relative of ours. Maybe even more then apes. This film has some of the best shoots of any underwater film I have ever scene and the performances are great. I don't even think I have to comment on the great work of the two men who played the creature and of Miss Julia Adams who seduced are hearts in that white swim suit. Further more I would watch this film over and over again. It is just that wonderful and it's magic will survive for years to come just like the Creature itself.

  • Creature from the Black Lagoon

    • Dashiell Barnes
    • 10/5/12

    The last great 'Universal Monster' film. A group of scientist try to hunt down the title character after it becomes sexually attracted to the sole female scientist. With outstanding underwater photography & a message about conservation, this film is unfortunately one of the many, repetitive B-movie creatures from the '50's. Decent entertainment nonetheless. I give it a 3.5/5.

  • Classic Horror Film

    • Dan Griissom
    • 8/11/12

    This movie is a classic. The story is original for its time and the Creature itself is iconic. Great acting and great story-telling by Director Jack Arnold. If you haven't seen this movie take the time to...it's four stars!

  • So the rubber suit zips up the back. So what?

    • DougieB
    • 11/19/11

    Classic. Iconic. This movie is all that and more. The set-up is great, that remote river where anything could happen. Added to that is one of the finest damsels-in-distress ever. Plus, that great monster suit that works just as well on land as it does in the water, maybe even better because you can see the great detail on it. The sustained fright factor from something unknown that can come from UNDRENEATH you really propels this movie, to the point that you forget what a low-budget flick it probably really was. The rubber suit is really the star and I'm sure it's recognized world-wide to this day. If the suit had been less, the movie would have been less, like with "The Giant Claw", where they patched a really bogus flying monster into what was a pretty good movie. It made the whole movie a joke, but The Creature is no joke. It's the gold standard for this kind of strange-creature-coming-at-you-from-nowhere scary monster movie. Add to that Marilyn Monroe's skirt blowing up in front of a theater where this movie was showing, and the iconography is complete. One for the ages.

  • A Classic 50's Monster Movie

    • dstephenson
    • 10/3/09

    Even if you don't like old B&W movies, this film should still be (must see). The underwater scenes are shot in amazingly clear water, the lizard like monster actually climbs out of the water pursuing his bathing beauty quest. The fear factor is present through out. After watching this movie this for a while, most men will appreciate why "The Creature" is so focused on chasing after Julie Adams!

  • Wakulla Springs, Fla. - where it was filmed.

    • Judy Johnson
    • 7/18/08

    Everyone who loves this movie should stay at the Wakulla Springs Hotel - they show the Creature from the Black Lagoon every night in the lobby - it was filmed there. The hotel is fantastic - right out of the 1920's. Huge fireplace in the lobby - old time elevator with the iron door and the closets are the biggest I've ever seen, the bathrooms are all marble - really a sight to see. The springs and boat tour take you through the area where the film was made - still looks the same. The film is "camp" personified - love it.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.