skip navigation
The Cowboy and the Lady

The Cowboy and the Lady(1938)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

Shop tcm.com

The Cowboy and... - NOT AVAILABLE

Crying Boy

VOTE FOR THIS TITLE:
Our records indicate this title is not available on Home Video. Vote below for it to be released on DVD.

  1. Total votes: vote now!
  2. Rank: (why vote?)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • LOVE IT!!!!

    • kbelly
    • 5/5/13

    I love this movie. Its soo hilarious. I"m already a Gary Cooper fan after watching this movie I love him even more. As Merle, I've only seen Withering Heights after seeing this movie wow she can be funny. I really hope this movie goes on dvd. i really watch this movie over and over.

    • 3/4/13

  • MY ALL TIME FAVORITE MOVIE

    • Londa
    • 10/26/12

    On the surface it is a sweet love story, but it is much more than that. It's about not getting caught up in the materialistic, petty things in life and cherishing the deep abiding love of home, family and friends. Gary Cooper is superb. The scene on the boat where his character says "there's something he forgot to say" . . . absolutely the most romantic moment ever. You are in love with this kind, awkward, sweet, innocent cowboy. Watch it, not expecting any special effects, nudity or vulgar language . . . expect a wonderfully funny, heartwarming, movie that will make you fall in love with Stetch Willoughby and every man like him. Don't let this jewel slip past you. Watch it.

  • The Cowboy And The Lady

    • Marilyn Austin
    • 11/3/11

    Great movie. When will it be showing again on TCM? Is it available on DVD or VHS?

  • Excelente

    • Sonia
    • 12/15/10

    Este filme muito divertido. Gary Cooper est timo como o cowboy e eu recomendo este filme para todos. Ele um verdadeiro clssico dos anos 30.

  • Feel Good Movie

    • Thelma
    • 9/20/09

    I watch it whenever it comes on. It just makes you feel good. This cowboy is a true gentleman. She's beautiful and together it's magic.Sweet and Funny

  • Loved it!

    • BeDe140
    • 1/28/08

    I loved this movie. I could watch it over and over and not get tired of it. I only wish Gary Cooper and Merle Oberon could have made more movies together.

  • The Films of Merle Oberon

    • Dr.John W.S.Howard
    • 1/24/07

    My dears friends:I am writing because I am a big,big fan of TCM.I watch your films morning and night.However,my concern is you rarely show the films of Merle Oberon.I see Rock Hudson,John Wayne,Jean Arthur,Katherine Hepburn,Audrey Hepburn,Jimmy Stewart films over and over,back to back.Please sir and please Madam play the movies of the beautiful Merle Oberon.some of her films are:Over the Moon,Til we Meet again(my favorite),Affair in Monte Carlo to name a few.Let us see Merle back to back like the other Movie Stars are played.I like the Cowboy and the Lady however,I would be very pleased if you would you more.

  • This is my favorite movie ever!

    • JA
    • 2/11/06

    I am so glad this movie is playing on TV again. I love this movie and I have tried to buy it and can not find a new one to buy. Thank you again. ja

  • Great Movie

    • Cheryl
    • 2/5/06

    I love this movie. I am so glad to see it back on the air. It is a classic that I never get tired of watching again and again.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.